We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fine Choice for Downtown Houston”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Residence Inn Houston Downtown/Convention Center
Ranked #154 of 504 Hotels in Houston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
LA
Level Contributor
62 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Fine Choice for Downtown Houston”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2012

Great staff, very friendly and helpful. This is an older building but well maintained. Valet parking was conveniently located around the corner at the Courtyard Marriott located in the same building -no problems there. Room was large with full kitchen and very comfortable bed. Well furnished and very clean. Very quiet too. Breakfast area is very nice, breakfast good as well. This is an excellent choice for a downtown Houston stay. Extremely good value for what you pay, especially when compared to some of the other downtown hotels that are extremely overpriced.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Flash1056
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicole S, Sales Specialist at Residence Inn Houston Downtown/Convention Center, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
We are happy you decided to stay with us and found the value of the stay to be "extremely good". Thank you for recognizing the convenience of our parking/valet service. Please join us again next time you come to downtown Houston!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    76
    38
    12
    5
See reviews for
27
26
10
98
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

Stayed two weeks back to back - checked out over the weekend - and service was consistent. Front desk was very friendly and greeted me with a smile. The valet car service was very prompt and also greeted me like an old friend. The breakfast had the standard hot and cold variety with daily specials. A great way to start the day. The evening social was fun and can't beat a cold beer. Overall I recommend staying here and will make this my first choice.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MyUSAtrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
32 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2012

I stayed at the Residence Inn in July of 2012 as part of a wedding block. Overall the experience was solid. The building is rather old, the lobby a bit cramped, and the rooms average. However there are a lot of upsides. First the front desk and management staff were both very kind and attentive. We had an issue with our bill after the fact and Tracy quickly helped me resolve the issue. Second, the complimentary breakfast is rather extensive and quality. Next, having free internet is also very nice for a downtown hotel. Finally, the rate was very good for a downtown hotel ($99). One complaint would be the high cost of overnight parking ($17).

While we did have a pleasant experience at the hotel, don't expect anything special. We would consider staying here again if the price was right

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tanner G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
36 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2012

We stayed here a week in the spring and weren't really impressed. The sister property next door seemed newer and cleaner, but overall there didn't seem to be too many differences. The parking / valet is at the sister property courtyard and you access the hotel through a series of hallways and elevators. This layout is awkward and inconvenient if you have luggage, a service dog, children, older folks, a wheelchair - in other words, like most guests; the lobby access will be a PITA experience. The staff, however, are warm and welcoming - especially at breakfast. Except the valet; they can be a little rude, even with tip (crazy, really, in this economy).

Room Tip: No views to speak of, so ask for a top floor if possible so as to minimize any sound problems.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank M H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville, MD
Level Contributor
28 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2012

Spent a night at the Residence Inn, very typical property if you have stayed at the chain before. No special treatment as a Platinum member, but considering the happy hour food and the free breakfast plus walking distance to where my meetings were held, it was great, and I would stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jason31574
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Level Contributor
60 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2012 via mobile

Not my favorite Residence Inn by far. There are some nice touches; but, the granite and other updates missed this property. Staff very nice and accommodating. Rooms were clean. Overall just "fine." Could I stay here again? YES. Will I likely chose this property on my next trip to Houston? NO.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DivaRouge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisiana
Level Contributor
32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2012 via mobile

Stayed at the Residence Inn for 2 nights. Very convenient location for walking to restaurants and sights. The staff was amazingly friendly. Free breakfast was great! The room was really nice. Just be warned all rooms have only a single queen bed and a pul out sofa bed.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amyloutoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Houston hotels
Downtown
SpringHill Suites Houston Downtown/Convention Center
Downtown
Courtyard Houston Downtown/Convention Center
Downtown
Aloft Houston Downtown
Aloft Houston Downtown
#222 of 504 in Houston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Holiday Inn Houston Downtown
Holiday Inn Houston Downtown
#104 of 504 in Houston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
Downtown
Homewood Suites by Hilton Houston Downtown
Downtown
Embassy Suites by Hilton Houston Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Houston Downtown/Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Houston Downtown/Convention Center

Property: Residence Inn Houston Downtown/Convention Center
Address: 904 Dallas St, Houston, TX 77002-6320
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Houston
#115 Business Hotel in Houston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Houston Downtown/Convention Center 3*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly-renovated Residence Inn Houston Downtown/Convention Center is located in the heart of downtown and offers modern suites while keeping the ambiance of the historic Humble Oil building. Within walking distance of Minute Maid Park, the George R. Brown Convention Center, and the Theater District, guests can easily access Houston's top sites. Our new suites feature separate living areas, full-size kitchens, free WiFi and plush Marriott bedding. Every suites is pet-friendly and has 50% more space than traditional hotel rooms. Extended stay guests will enjoy thoughtful amenities including valet parking, outdoor pool and patio, 24-hour fitness center and a free breakfast buffet served daily. The Residence Inn Houston Downtown/Convention Center has the perfect combination of location and amenities to make it one of the top downtown hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Residence Inn Houston Downtown/Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Houston Downtown Hotel Houston
Houston Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing