We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A more comfortable option if bringing family on business”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Residence Inn Houston Downtown/Convention Center
Ranked #151 of 506 Hotels in Houston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Atyrau, Kazakhstan
Level Contributor
51 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“A more comfortable option if bringing family on business”
Reviewed January 27, 2012

My husband travels fairly frequently to downtown Houston and this time chose to stay here as I would be more comfortable. He was right! While he was at meetings, I spent a morning lounging on the very comfortable sofa and watching TV. The 1 BR had a queen bed--wished it were a king--in the bedroom, sofa & armchair, desk, table & 2 chairs in the other room. The kitchenette had the basics but we didn't eat in so I can't comment. The building is old so room walls are thick. I requested a high floor and a room facing the ct ourtyard and it was very quiet. It appears to have been remodeled lately in retro design with bright & cheery patterns and colors.
We arrived rather late on Wednesday so missed the light dinner which is served Mon-Tues-Wed. Breakfast was good--scrambled eggs, sausage, breakfast sandwiches, waffles, fruit, yogurt. Breakfast staff spoke English, was friendly and interacted with the visitors.
Parking is shared with the nearby Coutyard, $24/night.

Room Tip: rooms facing the couryard are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brownq8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    76
    38
    12
    5
See reviews for
27
27
10
99
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2012

Really friendly staff who were very helpful. It was very expensive as all the hotels put their rates up for the Barbershop Convention (500dls for week) however the little kitchen area was a bonus. The service I get in the US is far better than the UK and this time was no exception.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WanderersNottingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, Iowa
Level Contributor
42 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2012

Checked into the Residence Inn Friday night new years eve weekend. The studio suite had all the necessities of home. The free breakfast was great sausage bagels eggs hash browns and all the coffee and juice u can consume. The hotel is pretty modern and I liked the idea that although in downtown it was quiet with very little outside noise. There are places to eat around the area from McDonalds, to Starbucks, to more upscale restaurants and plenty of places to shop. The only thing I would advise is check your bill at checkout..they had added 2 nights of valet after I told them I was paying for one, and the other party (we had 2 rooms) was paying for the other - It was adjusted. Secondly the hotel did a couple of debits on my account, so you may want to have an extra 100 or 200 in case they do this to you. This is typical of most hotels. Overall no real negatives, I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Book early.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MoreTravel2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed December 12, 2011

Good place to stay for indians, attached kitchen, good spa and pool. location is very good and people are good and safe place for business travelers and good connectivity to airport though bus and shuttle.

Room Tip: pool view is good
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anandkay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porterville, California
1 review
Reviewed November 14, 2011

I just finished a very extended stay here (about 8 weeks) for business. The room itself is not bad - I had a very roomy corner unit. The furniture looks fairly new, the bed is pretty comfortable, and the 2 flatscreen TV were a nice touch (even worked with my Xbox). It has the typical kitchenette and a nice sitting area so it feels more like a small apartment than a hotel room.
Aside from the room, the fitness room and the breakfast buffet were both a pretty big disappointment. Also, the maids seem to have figured out I was here for a longer stay and didn't quite keep up with the linens and things after the first couple of weeks.
The location is very convenient if you have business downtown and is literally right next to the Metro rail (used it for a free ride to a Houston Texans game). Be aware that the area is pretty dead after 6PM so your choices will be limited for food in the evenings unless you have a car.
Overall, I would consider staying here again for a long trip, but not before shopping around a bit.

Room Tip: Corner rooms are very large. Upper floor was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LookinForFreshPowder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
151 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2011

This is a very clean hotel with large rooms and a great location only about 3/4 of a mile to the convention center. You are close to the restaurants and Macy's. They provide a very good full size breakfast in the morning that changes everyday. Free wireless and newspapers in the morning. The pool is not heated but they do have a jacuzzi.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank djkaitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
103 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2011

Stayed here for a quick overnight trip to Houston when attending a meeting at the United Way. We arrived late, but the valet at the Courtyard was available and ready to park our car. ($22 on weekdays, $17 on weekends, ouch!!) We walked down to the Residence Inn (around the corner) to check in and we were promptly greeted and given our room key. They explained where all the amenities were and offered the suggestion of the adjoining hallways to the Courtyard to avoid the cold. They had a small market with a few random items, and the Courtyard had one, too, with different items. There isn't much around the hotel, especially late in the evening, and the streets were pretty empty. (The McDonald's down the street was closed before midnight on a Friday night. That was the only other thing we saw.) Our standard room was quite large, especially for a downtown hotel. The bed was comfortable, but I wish Residence Inn properties would add king beds. They did offer free breakfast starting at 7:30 and going until 10:30 on the weekend. The shower had decent water pressure, and the toilet was separate from the sink area, which I always appreciate. The decor seemed a little less "loud" than the adjoining Courtyard property.

Overall, I think it's a great property, and I found it to be very comfortable. I'm a little turned off by the exorbitant parking expense, especially on the weekends, when Houston appears to be pretty dead, but I understand it's a downtown property. That being said, the size of the room, the friendly employees, and the beds make up for that slight negative. I only wish we had been able to spend a little more time enjoying the room, rather than just sleeping for a few short hours.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bellarina126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Houston hotels
Downtown
SpringHill Suites Houston Downtown/Convention Center
Downtown
Courtyard Houston Downtown/Convention Center
Downtown
Aloft Houston Downtown
Aloft Houston Downtown
#211 of 506 in Houston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Holiday Inn Houston Downtown
Holiday Inn Houston Downtown
#110 of 506 in Houston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
Downtown
Homewood Suites by Hilton Houston Downtown
Downtown
Embassy Suites by Hilton Houston Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Houston Downtown/Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Houston Downtown/Convention Center

Property: Residence Inn Houston Downtown/Convention Center
Address: 904 Dallas St, Houston, TX 77002-6320
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Houston
#115 Business Hotel in Houston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Houston Downtown/Convention Center 3*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly-renovated Residence Inn Houston Downtown/Convention Center is located in the heart of downtown and offers modern suites while keeping the ambiance of the historic Humble Oil building. Within walking distance of Minute Maid Park, the George R. Brown Convention Center, and the Theater District, guests can easily access Houston's top sites. Our new suites feature separate living areas, full-size kitchens, free WiFi and plush Marriott bedding. Every suites is pet-friendly and has 50% more space than traditional hotel rooms. Extended stay guests will enjoy thoughtful amenities including valet parking, outdoor pool and patio, 24-hour fitness center and a free breakfast buffet served daily. The Residence Inn Houston Downtown/Convention Center has the perfect combination of location and amenities to make it one of the top downtown hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and Hotel.de so you can book your Residence Inn Houston Downtown/Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Houston Downtown Hotel Houston
Houston Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing