We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An awesome stay!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Residence Inn Houston Downtown/Convention Center

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Residence Inn Houston Downtown/Convention Center
Ranked #157 of 501 Hotels in Houston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Southwell
Level Contributor
82 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“An awesome stay!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2011

Over 80 Lace City Chorus members and supporters stayed in the Residence Inn during the Sweet Adelines International Convention held at the Toyota Center. The hotel staff were amazing - nothing was too much trouble for them. Breakfasts (complimentary) were excellent and three evenings of the week a social was held with free food and drink - all great!! Rooms were very good indeed and we made use of the well equipped kitchen in our suites. Location was excellent and near all amenities ( and just opposite Macy's). I highly recommend this hotel. Bus to airport (public transport) leaves from just round the corner and at $1.25 it's a lot cheaper than the airport taxis!

Room Tip: All rooms were quiet but those overlooking the swimming pool had great views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AlyLace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    76
    38
    12
    5
See reviews for
27
25
10
98
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
texas
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2011

I recently stayed at the Marriott Residence Inn Downtown Houston for 4 nights. To begin with the entrance is a little odd as mentioned in previous reviews, there is not spot to pull right in to the front and unload your bags. We had a driver and he had to pull up out front on the street and pull our bags around, there is a small parking lot just past it which serves the Courtyard but it is inconvenient. The glass doors lock and you have to get someone's attention to allow the doors to open. Check in was easy. We had a 2 bdr/2bath unit which was very spacious. Each room had a queen bed, one room had a desk and the other a larger vanity area. The kitchen was spacious and nice to have. Unfortunately our window looked out on the interior dark walls of the other rooms which for 4 nights was a little dreary. Absolutely no view what so ever. The beds were comfortable enough and bathrooms nice enough. There was quite a bit of noise from the pipes next door which was irritating.
The breakfast buffet was fine. We had free Wifi which was a plus.
There is room service from a limited menu which comes from the Courtyard Hotel and some local delivery services as well. The fixtures in the rooms were nice, flat screen t.v.s in each room and updated furnishings. All in all a nice stay.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TexasKatdaddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburg
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2011

We had a suite and the Marriott Residence Inn.. The atmosphere was so pleasant.. the Rooms was spacious and EXTRA Clean, along with a comfortable bed, Wi-Fi , Fridge, Microwave, Fridge, Dishwasher and everything you need to be comfortable and feel at home.
The Residence Inn even provided a Complimentary Buffet Breakfast and a great little afternoon Snack in the Family Room.. You CANNOT go wrong staying here.. Staff was great as well. : )

Room Tip: We went through Price Line dot Com
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank deb3627
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
26 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2011

Cliff's notes: super location if you need to be in the downtown area, clean, pleasantly looking, good food, good service, very good sleep. Excellent value, too.

The good:
Newly remodeled property, which included the lobby, the guest rooms and everything else, according to the guest services clerk.

I can confirm that everything looks very pleasant, especially the lobby, the reception area and the restaurant. Not overboard and not to the aloft extent. No fake gold and marble anywhere.

Good location downtown, if you need to be farther than a couple of blocks, the Houston cabs have the $6 flat rate downtown. It has to be in cash, though. There were cabs at the hotel in the morning and at 6pm I had to call one, but it was there in under 10 minutes.

Great guest rooms. I don't have status at Marriotts, so I imagine I didn't get the best possible room, yet it was almost perfect. Spacious, tastefully decorated, with everything available. You won't get many exciting views in downtown Houston, probably not even at the highest floor, because every other building is a 50-story skyscraper there. But if you are looking for a feel of a big city, This Residence Inn certainly provides it.

Clean throughout.

Almost perfect beds. I imagine the renovation included replacing the mattresses in guestrooms and even if not, they are very good. Firm enough for someone like me, yet I would think if you prefer the softer ones you wouldn't be suffering either. Clean and crisp bed linens, towels and all.

There is an outdoor swimming pool on the, I think, third floor. Probably a nice feature if you are stuck at the hotel during the day. When I was there, it was 106F in the shade.

Downstairs restaurant/bistro. I love the bistro style without the pompous service and equally unreasonable prices. The food actually was very good and not that expensive. Certainly so if you consider this is a hotel in downtown of a major city.

I didn't have breakfasts there, so can't comment on the quality of food, but it was available, plentiful and with enough variety to satisfy anyone. The espressos are a firm A-. The minus for the bitter and burnt Starbucks taste, but that certainly isn't the hotel's fault.

There is also a Starbucks right on the corner of the block the hotel sits in. As with other Residence Inns, there are a few inexpensive edible items, water juices and frozen dinners available at the reception desk 24/7. All of that can be charged to the room or paid for with a credit card, no need for change for vending machines. Very reasonable prices, too.

The area around the hotel gets empty at night, with a few apparently homeless folks roaming around, just like they do in any city. At no time, though, did the area feel unsafe and the homeless don't bother anyone.

The bad.
Nothing, really, which is quite surprising in itself.

The ugly.
Nothing at all.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MrYu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando
Level Contributor
201 reviews
115 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2011

We recently stayed here with three other couples. The hotel choice was made because some couples wanted a standard room and others wanted a suite. We stayed at the Residence Inn with one other couple and the other two stayed at the attached courtyard. What is funny about this hotel is that they are essentially the same property, but have two entrances. You cannot access each property through the first floor, but you can through the higher floors. What bugged me, was that the Residence Inn is a more expensive property and all the rooms are bigger and always more money. That said the Courtyard lobby and rooms are more well appointed and clearly nicer. Don't get me wrong, I liked the Residence Inn and would stay there again, but WHAT THE $^#(*&@! Why would the make the Courtyard drive through, entrance, lobby, hallways and rooms all nicer, when the rates are less... hmmm! The property is short walk from several dining options and there is a Macy's (that closes at 5pm) across the street. Breakfast was good and the staff was friendly. But one more time, if management reads these things... FIX UP THE APPEARANCE OF THE RESIDENCE INN TO MATCH THE COURTYARD!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jerrythetraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, USA
Level Contributor
26 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2011

This hotel is based in Downtown Houston and is great for shows at the arena and also for the numerous restaurants. The rooms are large - I stayed there multiple times, each had a living room, a bathroom and a bedroom. There are flat panel TV's in both the living room and the bedroom. So you have plenty of space to spread out. There is a complimentary managers happy hour from 5 - 7 each evening with an assortment of snacks. There is your typical breakfast served in the restaurant, with a cooked breakfast also available.
Parking is very limited in this area and it appears that most people use the valet parking which comes in at about $28 per day!
This is a good hotel and makes for a relaxing stay. Downtown Houston is undergoing a rejuvenation and is becoming the "in" place to stay and dine.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank glandsb500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2011

Just came back from an outstanding one-night stay at the Residence Inn with my girlfriend. We were visiting from Portland, OR and took a night off from staying with family to do a night on our own and take in an Astros game.

This hotel might have a bit of a reputation of a business-only hotel, but we thought it was wonderful for a leisure stay. The rooms were big, stylish, and clean, customer service was great, we enjoyed the outdoor 3rd floor pool, and the continental breakfast was outstanding (lots of variety, fresh food).

One slight drawback was that you're not likely to find many rooms with a great view of downtown. The hotel is in a historic office building - which is kinda cool - but it's shorter than most of the surrounding buildings, so you won't get any panoramic vistas.

As for the area, downtown Houston has a few less-than-polished blocks and, yes, several of them are near the hotel, but there was nothing that would make the average, reasonable person feel unsafe during the day and we enjoyed an easy walk to Minute Maid Park (less than a mile away). There's enough bars and restaurants along the way to make your stroll as entertaining as you'd like it to be. For the record though, we did take a cab home from the northern part of downtown, which was about $8, after a late night out.

The best part was that we enjoyed a great experience for an awesome price (courtesy of a winning bid on another site - total of $72 for the night, including taxes/fees). Truly money well spent and we both highly recommend!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PDX-Fredo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Houston hotels
Downtown
SpringHill Suites Houston Downtown/Convention Center
Downtown
Courtyard Houston Downtown/Convention Center
Downtown
Aloft Houston Downtown
Aloft Houston Downtown
#226 of 501 in Houston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Homewood Suites by Hilton Houston Downtown
Downtown
Holiday Inn Houston Downtown
Holiday Inn Houston Downtown
#106 of 501 in Houston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
Downtown
Embassy Suites by Hilton Houston Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Houston Downtown/Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Houston Downtown/Convention Center

Property: Residence Inn Houston Downtown/Convention Center
Address: 904 Dallas St, Houston, TX 77002-6320
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Houston
#115 Business Hotel in Houston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Houston Downtown/Convention Center 3*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly-renovated Residence Inn Houston Downtown/Convention Center is located in the heart of downtown and offers modern suites while keeping the ambiance of the historic Humble Oil building. Within walking distance of Minute Maid Park, the George R. Brown Convention Center, and the Theater District, guests can easily access Houston's top sites. Our new suites feature separate living areas, full-size kitchens, free WiFi and plush Marriott bedding. Every suites is pet-friendly and has 50% more space than traditional hotel rooms. Extended stay guests will enjoy thoughtful amenities including valet parking, outdoor pool and patio, 24-hour fitness center and a free breakfast buffet served daily. The Residence Inn Houston Downtown/Convention Center has the perfect combination of location and amenities to make it one of the top downtown hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Residence Inn Houston Downtown/Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Houston Downtown Hotel Houston
Houston Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing