We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Staff and Location make this place” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Courtyard Houston Downtown/Convention Center

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Courtyard Houston Downtown/Convention Center
Ranked #139 of 501 Hotels in Houston
GreenLeadersBronze level
Albany, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Staff and Location make this place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2014

Was recently here for 3 nights for a convention. The location is perfect relation to the convention center, only a short walk down the street. There is a forever 21 located right next door and several really great restaurants near by including The House of Blues. The staff at this place is amazing! Everyone was extremely nice and friendly. The staff really made this place 4 stars instead of 3. The cons is the room. Very small, dreary and lack luster. The bathroom is in desperate need of an upgrade. The tub and shower is very shallow and not up to par with other marriotts. There are no functioning windows either. However we were in the room much so it was not too much of an issue. This is a great place to stay if your here for something at the convention center but do not expect a luxurious room.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsRobinson915
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan F, General Manager at Courtyard Houston Downtown/Convention Center, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel! It was great to hear you enjoyed your stay with us while you were in town for a convention at the Convention center!

Thank you again for staying with us and we look forward to your next visit!

Ryan Frederick
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

278 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    111
    71
    19
    10
See reviews for
32
37
28
137
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
76 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2014

We were in town for the marathon, and this was the best priced hotel in the downtown. Still pricy, but the best in downtown. The location was perfect. We were able to walk to the race start/finish area, expo, and all of the bars and restaurants. The lobby, elevators, and common areas had a wonderful smell. I'm not sure if it was the cleaning products or if they were pumping it out through the vents, but it was great. We bought coffee at the café in the hotel, but that was all, but the coffee was excellent. Price to park is expensive per day, but there are a few other parking garages nearby that are more reasonable. Street and lot parking isn't for overnight. The hotel is also located right near the metro rail, which might be convenient for travel. The rooms were clean, but the bed was really soft. We had a hard time sleeping, but we typically sleep on a firmer bed. Staff was friendly and helpful. Check your bill before you leave. I was charged for valet parking, which was refunded, but annoying to be charged incorrectly in the first place. The pool is outdoor, but open in the 50 degree weather.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wirfelch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan F, General Manager at Courtyard Houston Downtown/Convention Center, responded to this review, January 24, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel!

It was great to hear you say you enjoyed our clean, friendly and convenient hotel for the Houston Marathon!

Thank you again for staying with us and we look forward to your next visit!

Ryan Frederick
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2013

Nice hotel for business travelers - small Gym, heated swimming pool and self laundry services, but no restaurant. The coffee shop near the reception is small and doesn't serve breakfast - this was one of the biggest drawback, the hotel should consider providing breakfast services. There was a bit of mix up of laundry but eventually sorted, ususally not expected from a hotel of this category. Not a bad experience overall, but surely not value for money compared to other hotels in the vicinity.

Room Tip: Try and get a room on 3rd Floor near the Gym & Pool, if interested..
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank akdudeja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan F, General Manager at Courtyard Houston Downtown/Convention Center, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel!

I was thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay with us! We offer breakfast in our Lobby Bistro daily with a wide variety of options all made to order. I also wanted to let you know that by 2/1/14 we will have a newly expanded fitness center with a lot more equipment!

We truly appreciate your business and look forward to your next visit with us!

Ryan Frederick
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Bermuda
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 24, 2013

My family and I stayed here recently and overall were pleased with the stay. However, there was the inherent issue of parking where we had to pay $30/night on top of the rather high room rates. The other negative was the location. Immediately outside the hotel are all the street people that make you feel kind if uncomfortable when you venture out in the evening. But overall it wasn't too bad and I may stay here should I be in the area again.

Room Tip: Depending on how long you are staying, you may wish to secure a room close to the laundry and gym...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RandyR48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan F, General Manager at Courtyard Houston Downtown/Convention Center, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel!

I was thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay with us! You may already be aware but our valet prices are the lowest of the Downtown Hotels.

We truly appreciate your business and look forward to your next visit with us!

Ryan Frederick
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
54 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2013 via mobile

The staff was wonderful. Above and beyond. Know when you stay here you are downtown, lots of homeless. Starbucks right next door. Wonderful bistro right in the lobby. The one drawback we had was having to pay $28.00 a night to park our car. But it was protected,

Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Mjw1259
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan F, General Manager at Courtyard Houston Downtown/Convention Center, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel!

I was thrilled to hear you enjoyed our teams service and our location!

We truly value your business and look forward to your next visit!

Ryan Frederick
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
india
Level Contributor
54 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2013

Rooms are ok but the best part is that the hotel is close to all locations. However if they offer better shuttle service (more frequent) and complimentary breakfast, it would make this a better place to stay. They do not have to set up anything but can get the guests to have the breakfast and the social hour at the Residence Inn.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ajay60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan F, General Manager at Courtyard Houston Downtown/Convention Center, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel!

It was great to hear you found our location very convenient! We appreciate your feedback about free breakfast and frequency of shuttle. I am however surprised you found our rooms to be small, we are a unique hotel that all our rooms have large vaulted ceilings, not something you typically find.

We hope to see you again soon!

Ryan Frederick
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
88 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2013

The only plus about this place is the staff. They are great. I stayed here while attending a wedding. There is a bus stop at the front of the hotel that attracts alot of riff raff and crowds. Since we were here on the weekend, the only open places were: a CVS 5 blocks away, Forever 21 next door, McDonalds, Subway, and a Mexican place 4 blocks away. Short story: while walking to CVS on Saturday morning at about 9AM for stuff for my wife, I was asked by a decently dressed, drunk man for money. After declining, he then started screaming profanity at me and followed me for a block... Security and police are non-existent downtown on the weekends and it was a very unsafe environment. The rooms here are decent, but the blinds do not fully shut (or open), so if you plan on sleeping in on a Saturday, forget it. All in all, will never be back....oh yea, and I basically had to perform a miracle to get the lobby bar to serve me a beer at 4:30PM (bar doesn't open till 5PM)....no room service here either.

Room Tip: Don't stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beis1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan F, General Manager at Courtyard Houston Downtown/Convention Center, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel!

It was great to hear you enjoyed our teams service! I however apologize for your expereince walked to CVS, while we are downtown we dont hear about many expereinces like yours. I will be sharing with the Houston PD.

We truly value your business and look forward to your next visit!

Ryan Frederick
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Houston hotels
Downtown
SpringHill Suites Houston Downtown/Convention Center
Downtown
Residence Inn Houston Downtown/Convention Center
Downtown
Aloft Houston Downtown
Aloft Houston Downtown
#226 of 501 in Houston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Holiday Inn Houston Downtown
Holiday Inn Houston Downtown
#106 of 501 in Houston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
Downtown
Homewood Suites by Hilton Houston Downtown
Downtown
Athens Hotel Suites
Athens Hotel Suites
#313 of 501 in Houston
3.5 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Houston Downtown/Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Houston Downtown/Convention Center

Property: Courtyard Houston Downtown/Convention Center
Address: 916 Dallas St, Houston, TX 77002-6320 (Formerly Courtyard Houston Downtown /Convention Center)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Green Hotel in Houston
#142 Business Hotel in Houston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Houston Downtown/Convention Center 3*
Number of rooms: 191
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Old-style luxury and state-of-the-art technology converge at the recently-updated Courtyard Houston Downtown hotel just a 10-minute walk from the George R. Brown Convention Center. A true stand-out among downtown Houston hotels for our historical ambiance housed in the 1921 Humble Oil Building's neo-classical exterior with newly-renovated rooms equipped with modern amenities. Guests enjoy in-room perks such as free WiFi and HDTVs. The gem of our historic building is our renovated Presidential Suite. Originally the office to the Humble Oil CEO, we've updated this stunning suite with stylish furnishings while keeping the original marble fireplace. The highlight of our lobby experience is The Bistro. Eat. Drink. Connect., Which offers guests food and beverage selections in the morning and new dinner service. Our downtown Houston hotel is within walking distance or a free shuttle ride to Minute Maid Park, Convention Center and Toyota Center. A short ride on the Metro Light Rail takes you to NRG Park and the Museum District. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Courtyard Houston Downtown/Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Houston Downtown Hotel Houston
Courtyard Houston Downtown
Houston Marriott
Houston Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing