We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient for downtown, but evening is boring”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Courtyard Houston Downtown/Convention Center
Ranked #143 of 516 Hotels in Houston
GreenLeadersBronze level
USA
Level 6 Contributor
77 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Convenient for downtown, but evening is boring”
Reviewed July 18, 2008

This hotel is a remodelled old business building. It is shared with the Marriott Residence Inn. They did a great job in remodeling, and this is one of the best Marriott Courtyard I have stayed in. The room is pretty good size, although the view of my room window is only into a very small concrete courtyard.

Good items:
(1) Tall ceiling in rooms, nice!
(2) Very convenieny if you need a place to stay for business meetings downtown. Mine is only 5 minutes walk away.
(3) Front desk is outstanding, and they provided service with a smile.
(4) The restaurant food was outstandingly good for a hotel. Compliment to the chef.
(5) I got free internet from my room (using my own laptop).
(6) During daytime, there is Macy's across the street, and a lot of shops and restaurants in the downtown tunnel right there.
(7) Hotel provides free shuttle to the downtown area during day time.
(8) There is a light-rail service within a block to travel to other parts of town.
(9) The outdoor pool and gym were adequate.

Bad items:
(1) The neighborhood is totally dead in the evenings. Many restaurants are closed at 3 p.m., even McDonald's was closed by 7 p.m. The tunnel is closed around 6 p.m. No bar, besides the hotel bar, anywhere is sight. Good news is that a "mall" is being built across the street. Maybe the situation will improve by later this year.
(2) Hotels charges for parking.
(3) One of the waitress in the hotel restaurant is super-forgetful. Everytime I ordered something, even as simple as a cup of tea, she has to come back two times asking before getting it right! I am glad she is the only one forgetful, the other waitress did an adequate job. Not super, just adequate.
(4) There are homeless people in the neighborhood in the evenings.

I will come back for downtown meetings because it is convenient for me. However, if I need to be in town for more than four days, I will need to rent a car sometimes so I can drive to other places, just to keep my sanity. Scoped up in the hotel room every night can get old very fast.

  • Liked — food is good!
  • Disliked — Dead neiborhood in the evening
  • Stayed July 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank stevew918
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

307 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    119
    75
    22
    12
See reviews for
41
38
30
152
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2008

Visited Houston on a 2 day business trip. This was my first stay at a Courtyard I usually stay at the regular Marriotts propertys.

The Hotel is convinently located in Houston downtown near several entertaining sites (baseball and basket ball) amoung others.

Room was good, nice big bed a sofa and a working table with internet. Hotel charges $22 for valet parking, there are several parking options aroud the building you might want to consider them before paying the hotel.

The only thing that i did not like was the staff, i found them to be a little stiff and botherd when i needed there services. I think they had few people working during those days, that might off streesd out the staff.

Hotel has a nice pool and a jacuzzi.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Staff
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank jcmontys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
middle of nowhere five hours from chicago
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2008

I was very pleased with my stay here! : ) I was at a convention at the Hilton. This was a pleasant day time walk of about 7 blocks. As some mentioned, at night, there are homeless between the Hilton and the Courtyard. I counted three. I walked alone and nothing happened at all, and was told they are harmless. I however decided to take a taxi the other nights. Taxi's are $6.00 downtown.

Hey! Check out the Vietnamese restaurant Kim Son. It's a taxi ride over. Or the hotel Courtyard has daytime shuttle, 7am-7pm.

The hotel restaurant had good hours, but was pricey. Though I was tempted a few times. Instead I got snacks from their 'market' which had some rice or pasta bowls, popcorn, all kinds of snacks, a small selection of drinks. There was also other restaurants nearby and some others do later delivery. Ask at the desk...they will guide you in your decision.

I hadn't seen their citrus flavored water dispenser anywhere else...with floating lime or orange slices, over ice, it sure was pretty, and refreshing to come back to at night.

The front desk staff was amazing how friendly they were! Not just one of them, and not just once! ALL of them, ALL of the time!

I also was glad there was a pool and fitness room, but ran out of time so didn't get to use them. The pool could be seen from my room, and never seemed very occupied. Could be a nice area to go and sit, but hey! It's Houston and humid!

My room was comfy, (not the chair at the desk, but just slid the couch over closer and took my lappy to the couch.) I thought there would be wireless in my room, but was not. But was able to successfully use the cable that the front desk had to provide.

Really a great place to come back to at breaks or after the conference.

I had a single bed (king) and i guess the couch pulls out for more.

I always felt safe in the hotel and it was quiet even though by the elevator...could hear some things but not horribly so.

I didn't have soap upon arrival, but front desk promptly took care of that and had plenty the next day.

I'd gladly come back.

I guess I would miss a continental breakfast but our convention provided one so didn't notice.

It was a great experience for a hotel. Also free apples and oranges.

: )

  • Liked — free daytime shuttle, friendly front desk, snacks, internet (though not wifi) peaceful, quiet, comfortable
  • Disliked — the view, wondered about some of the people around the area outside (NOT at hotel, hotel was safe!!)
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank katieniowa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2008

Rooms are large and clean and the hotel is close to the convention center. Good location if you need to stay downtown. I would, however, recommend that you get a room facing the street. The rooms that face the internal courtyard get no sunlight and have the worst views possible.

This hotel is everything you would expect of a Courtyard, but certainly nothing more.

  • Liked — very clean hotel
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank worldtravelpros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon, Saskatchewan, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2008

This is the perfect choice for someone who must stay downtown. However, most visitors to Houston will find it wiser to rent a car and stay at a suburban hotel. Downtown Houston is not the sort of place where a person leaves the hotel after dark; it speaks volumes that the McDonald’s on the next block is closed in the evenings!

The hotel itself is an old brick office building that has been gutted and tastefully renovated. The rooms are the standard Marriott/Courtyard guestrooms (that’s a compliment!). The windows don’t open, but the a/c is dependable. There is a restaurant-lounge that serves food until 10pm, and there is also a mini-convenience-store, open 24 hours, which is typical of many Courtyards. The staff were terrific and there is nothing I would find fault with. Having a free computer in the lounge is a nice touch.

There is an outside pool that is very pleasant. Even if you don’t get in the water, the patio surrounding the pool is very pleasant in the evening.

  • Stayed April 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank saskatoonguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2008

I stayed here for work recently and this Courtyard doesn't exactly match up to other Courtyard. The key machine was broken when I checked in so there was a 10 minute wait since they had to go next door to the Residence Inn. The carpet in my room was not clean and there were sunflower seed shells (obviously not vacuumed). Glasses in the room were dirty and had imprints on the rim so they were not sanitized like they claimed. Overall, I had problem with the cleanliness of the room and felt that for around $200/night, the room did not match up to the standards set by the price.

  • Stayed April 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Shannon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2008

I travel to Houston frequently on business and spend usually spend at least 4 nights here when I'm in town.

For openers, there is almost no nightlife in Downtown Houston after 6:30 -- even the local Macy's closes at 6.

That being said, this is a very nice hotel in Downtown. The hotel offers an excellent value for the money. The rooms are comfortable and a good size. There's an outdoor pool (only 3 feet deep) and a hottub.

The restaurant/bar is reasonably priced . There's free wired broadband in the room.

My ONLY complaint (it isn't much...just annoying) is that the closets in some of the rooms are tiny (like 26 inches wide). This is probably because the hotel's built in a historic older office building and sandwiching the rooms(and no the rooms ARE NOT small) into the floorplan produced some unusually shaped rooms -- definitely not a cookie cutter "big box" hotel.

By the way, if you're familiar with the Houston pedestrian tunnel system, this hotel is across the street from Macy's which has a entrance into the tunnel system. You can get to most of the downtown offices without going outside which is important if you've ever experienced Houston's heat and torrential downpours

  • Stayed July 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank MBAX01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Houston hotels
Downtown
SpringHill Suites Houston Downtown/Convention Center
Downtown
Residence Inn Houston Downtown/Convention Center
Downtown
Aloft Houston Downtown
Aloft Houston Downtown
#217 of 516 in Houston
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Holiday Inn Houston Downtown
Holiday Inn Houston Downtown
#122 of 516 in Houston
102 reviews
Downtown
Homewood Suites by Hilton Houston Downtown
Downtown
Hampton Inn Houston Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Houston Downtown/Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Houston Downtown/Convention Center

Property: Courtyard Houston Downtown/Convention Center
Address: 916 Dallas St, Houston, TX 77002-6320 (Formerly Courtyard Houston Downtown /Convention Center)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Green Hotel in Houston
#142 Business Hotel in Houston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Houston Downtown/Convention Center 3*
Number of rooms: 191
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Old-style luxury and state-of-the-art technology converge at the recently-updated Courtyard Houston Downtown hotel just a 10-minute walk from the George R. Brown Convention Center. A true stand-out among downtown Houston hotels for our historical ambiance housed in the 1921 Humble Oil Building's neo-classical exterior with newly-renovated rooms equipped with modern amenities. Guests enjoy in-room perks such as free WiFi and HDTVs. The gem of our historic building is our renovated Presidential Suite. Originally the office to the Humble Oil CEO, we've updated this stunning suite with stylish furnishings while keeping the original marble fireplace. The highlight of our lobby experience is The Bistro. Eat. Drink. Connect., Which offers guests food and beverage selections in the morning and new dinner service. Our downtown Houston hotel is within walking distance or a free shuttle ride to Minute Maid Park, Convention Center and Toyota Center. A short ride on the Metro Light Rail takes you to NRG Park and the Museum District. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Courtyard Houston Downtown/Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Houston Downtown Hotel Houston
Courtyard Houston Downtown
Houston Marriott
Houston Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing