We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Better than expected...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Courtyard Houston Downtown/Convention Center
Ranked #139 of 504 Hotels in Houston
GreenLeadersBronze level
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Better than expected...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2011

Stayed at this hotel for business for four nights. Honestly, I had pretty low expectations of this place - based on other Courtyard properties. But I was pleasantly surprised. The room was fairly large, with a King bed and sleeper sofa. The bed itself was comfortable, but I really didn't like the extra-soft pillows...I prefer a firm pillow. The other amenities were standard - 42 in flat screen TV, standard shower and desk. I really liked the separate vanity area and the decor of the room, which was pretty modern. I didn't have any maintenance issues (like slow drains in the shower) and I didn't see any signs of real wear in the room (no broken fixtures or tiles, etc.)

The only real disappointment was the wireless service, which was sporatic and only worked when it wanted to. It was pretty slow and unreliable.

The lobby area was nicely decorated and the restaurant bar was pretty good. I ate there for breakfast and after-dinner drinks and both were fine. The restaurant doesn't serve lunch, though...

As far as location, the hotel is pretty convenient to shopping, restaurants and night-life. Macy's is right across the street, as well as a large Forever 21 store and BCBG. There is a tunnel underground with a bunch of fast food restaurants. There are also many upscale sit-down restaurants including McCormick and Schmidt, III Forks, & Maia Bella.

Overall, a pretty good stay...

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ATrav-El-Holic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    113
    72
    19
    10
See reviews for
33
37
28
140
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St. Louis
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2011

The interior of the hotel is much better than I thought from reading other reviews. I like the modern lobby set-up and the room was nice . Having reasonably priced food available most of the day was helpful.
During the day the area may be different but at my free evening time the surrounding blocks looked rundown and empty.
I like Courtyards, though, and would stay again for business.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fancylittlelaminated
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando
Level Contributor
201 reviews
115 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2011

We recently stayed here, adjacent to a hotel we had stayed at before. The hotel choice was made because we were attending a Astros Game and this property is within a reasonable walking distance or a short cab fare. We stayed at the Residence Inn with one other couple before when two others stayed at this attached courtyard. What is funny about this hotel is that they are essentially the same property, but have two entrances. You cannot access each property through the first floor, but you can through the higher floors. The Courtyard lobby and rooms are well appointed and nice.
The property is short walk from several dining options and there is a Macy's (that closes at 5pm) across the street. Breakfast is offered for a charge and decent. The staff was friendly and the area is safe. There are a few good restaurant options and the property is near the House of Blues, which has some pretty decent concerts. Although the hotel is completely renovated it is still a very old building that was designed as a office tower and not a hotel. As such the layouts are not very consistent, so be very nice to your check-in clerk, as this is one of those properties where a simple smile will make the difference between a nice room and a large walk-in closet. Overall, if you have to stay downtown Houston and you do not need to stay at the Ritz, try out this Courtyard or its less glamorous neighbor the Residence Inn. I believe you will be happy and that is all that matters!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jerrythetraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
29 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2011

I stayed two nights for business travel. The room was very nice and the bed and pillows were excellent. Some of the best sleep I've had while traveling.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bozleesmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
95 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2011

The rooms were small. I realized after the fact that I should have been given a room with a King Bed and a full sofa and was only given a room with a Kig Bed. We really didn't spend anytime in the room so not a big deal for a quick 1 night stay. No wifi. No fridge in the room. Bathroom was tiny. AC had to stay on all the time to cool down the room. Parking was $17 per night and only option is valet. They have a starbucks in the hotel. Central downtown location so convenient to area attractions. For a Courtyard it was a large hotel.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tmstewar2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hr1487
Level Contributor
157 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2011

Overall the Courtyard Marriott was a pleasant experience. The building is beautiful and both the valet and the front desk staff were very friendly and helpful. On two occassions I asked opinions on what to do and was enthusiastically pointed in helpful directions. The only problem with the recommendations from two people was that they included the "chain" style of restaurants. It should be common sense that we don't want fare from the local McDonalds when asking for recommendations! However mixed in with the bad we got some good (Guadalajara, Pete's Piano Bar).

The check in was fast and prompt. I don't agree with paying 22 dollars a day for valet parking but its a downtown location so its to be somewhat expected. It was also annoying that the hotel didn't have wi-fi available throughout - you needed something with a connection port to hook to ethernet in your room. If you wanted wi-fi you had to use it in the lobby where they had several computers readily available making it kind of silly to bring your own and risk contamination. As for hooking up in the room - its the age of the tablet PC...not many people have ethernet ports anymore!

I'm a big fan of, and used to staying in, Holiday Inn Express where they have amazing breakfast (and wi-fi). Unfortunately the small cafe on site at the Courtyard produced bland and expensive fare - 26 bucks for a BLT, a mcmuffin style sandwich, a fruit cup, a smoothie, and a cup of coffee. If you've got the time go elsewhere (we didn't.)

Bottom line: Very clean, nice smelling, spacious rooms - although the bathroom is very small. Friendly staff, GREAT LOCATION (we walked to several restaurants and bars), beautiful view, lovely building, pool, and fitness center. Knowing about the minute bad things would make a stay BETTER because I'm more prepared for it and the good things outweigh the small details. I'd book at the Courtyard again.

The pool was nice with one caviat: You can NOT walk on the deck during the afternoon! The tiles they have around the pool LITERALLY BURN the skin on your feet! I actually checked the few times to I braved walking around to make sure I didn't have any blisters! There should be a sign at the doors advising of the situation or put some rubber matting down! I forgot sandals, my fault, but I didn't THINK that it would be such a risk! I wasn't the only one scurrying around as fast as possible.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hr1487
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
33 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2011

I booked a hotel room for the night so we could enjoy dining and the theatre without the long commute home. The room was fine but nothing special. Other hotels give you something, i.e. a cookie, a safe, a fridge. Everything worked fine in our room and we had no problems but for over $300 (with tax) for one night, I expect a little more than just a room. It did have a mini coffee maker that made a cup of coffee (I drink tea and no tea was provided). As a comparison, when we stayed at the Hilton Americas (also downtown), the bar was still open when we returned from the theatre for a nightcap - here it closes at 10 p.m.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank garlicaddict2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Houston hotels
Downtown
SpringHill Suites Houston Downtown/Convention Center
Downtown
Residence Inn Houston Downtown/Convention Center
Downtown
Holiday Inn Houston Downtown
Holiday Inn Houston Downtown
#104 of 504 in Houston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Aloft Houston Downtown
Aloft Houston Downtown
#222 of 504 in Houston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
Downtown
Homewood Suites by Hilton Houston Downtown
Downtown
Club Quarters Hotel in Houston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Houston Downtown/Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Houston Downtown/Convention Center

Property: Courtyard Houston Downtown/Convention Center
Address: 916 Dallas St, Houston, TX 77002-6320 (Formerly Courtyard Houston Downtown /Convention Center)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Green Hotel in Houston
#142 Business Hotel in Houston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Houston Downtown/Convention Center 3*
Number of rooms: 191
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Old-style luxury and state-of-the-art technology converge at the recently-updated Courtyard Houston Downtown hotel just a 10-minute walk from the George R. Brown Convention Center. A true stand-out among downtown Houston hotels for our historical ambiance housed in the 1921 Humble Oil Building's neo-classical exterior with newly-renovated rooms equipped with modern amenities. Guests enjoy in-room perks such as free WiFi and HDTVs. The gem of our historic building is our renovated Presidential Suite. Originally the office to the Humble Oil CEO, we've updated this stunning suite with stylish furnishings while keeping the original marble fireplace. The highlight of our lobby experience is The Bistro. Eat. Drink. Connect., Which offers guests food and beverage selections in the morning and new dinner service. Our downtown Houston hotel is within walking distance or a free shuttle ride to Minute Maid Park, Convention Center and Toyota Center. A short ride on the Metro Light Rail takes you to NRG Park and the Museum District. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Courtyard Houston Downtown/Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Houston Downtown Hotel Houston
Courtyard Houston Downtown
Houston Marriott
Houston Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing