We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a good example of why the HIEX chain is so popular”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Houston - Memorial Park Area
Ranked #265 of 518 Hotels in Houston
Reviewed December 31, 2012

This Holiday Inn Express motel is on the Katy Freeway, near Houston's Texas-sized Memorial Park. We've stayed there twice, both in December, three years apart and it was a fine place to say both times. The location is excellent, out of the intensely crowded Galleria area but close enough to all the places you want to visit in Houston.
The hotel is superbly well maintained with the furniture and equipment showing no signs of wear after three years' use. Despite its proximity to the busy Katy Freeway, the rooms are amazingly quiet. The fitness center is small for a six-story hotel but the equipment is in excellent condition.
The only less than five-star feature was a relatively limited breakfast choice which was probably due to the Christmas holiday rush.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wolfg981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (111)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

68 - 74 of 111 reviews

Reviewed November 30, 2012

The convenient location comes with a price - IH 10 (aka Katy Frwy) has traffic noise 24/7 so I highly recommend packing some earplugs. In addition, the walls (and floors) are not very sound proof, and they have some kind of power-assist toilet flush that is extremely loud - even through earplugs!

I was disappointed that during our entire 5-day stay over Thanksgiving weekend the pool was "out-of-service"; the adjacent workout work was stifling hot and unusable, and then the NBC Channel did not have sound ("a problem with their cable supplier"). It would be nice if they had the HGTV channel in addition (or instead of) the 4 ESPN and Speed channels. There is a strong room freshener smell in the 5th floor hall that could be a problem for those with respiratory ailments.

Most of the staff was friendly and the free breakfast was decent. We'll probably stay there again but next time I'll ask in advance about hotel amenity issues.

Room Tip: Take earplugs! Top floor may be a little less noisy - at least from above. If you use the (free) L...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lonestar610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edgarcia79, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Houston - Memorial Park Area, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2012

Thanks for your honest criticisms with out your point of view we can not make ourselves better.
We do admit for some of out guest the rooms facing the freeways can be noise. This is precisely why we added Kings to the rear of the building. We also provide some of our deluxe accommodations such as our two room suite that help most of our guest sleep like a baby.

I have to agree it was very disappointing to us as well as we struggled to get our pool up and running that weekend. Unfortunately Thanksgiving being such a big holiday causes a lot of breakdown in getting repairs done. Most people do not want to work the holiday.

We strive for a better hotel every day. We can not accomplish that with out you.

Thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2012

I felt very welcome at this hotel and the staff was very friendly. Lovette, the front desk clerk was especially helpful and made this stay worth writing a review about. The indoor pool was nice and warm and the bed comfortable. Not to mention, I ate a cinnamon roll every morning.

Room Tip: Request a room on the back side of the hotel to reduce any highway noise you may encounter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JBLlabanane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edgarcia79, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Houston - Memorial Park Area, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2012

Thanks for the great compliments. I will make sure Lovette gets a chance to read your comments. I know the good comments will make her day. The Cinnamon rolls are so good any chance I get to stay at an express I grab me one too. We know you have many choice when staying in Houston hopefully you will stay with us next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2012

The staff was friendly and helpful and they gave us a very early check-in which we appreciated.The room was spacious and clean. The bed was comfortable. The decor is a little dated, but very adequate. The heater and toilet were noisy. The worse problem was a barking dog in a nearby room, but I suppose that is not the hotel's fault :( The breakfast was hot-- the standard HI Express fare. (I love their pancakes.) Overall, it was a comfortable place to stay overnight.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ruth D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012

Tried this hotel on a recent monthly trip to Houston. Check in was a little slow because they did not have clean rooms ready. I did get recognized at a Platinum PC member and received a nice gift bag at check in. When I exited the elevator for my floor I was overwhelmed with the smell of air freshener (very strong). The room was a good size with a microwave and refrigerator but could use some updating. The furniture, fixtures and soft goods are outdates compared to what is seem with renovated and new HI Express hotels. It was hot outside and they had the a/c on when I entered the room, which was nice. The ceiling had cracks and looks like there were botched repair work. The carpet could use some cleaning. The bathroom is small and could use some updating. Breakfast was a little disappointing - I prefer waffles and thee was a pancake machine. All the other food looked a little dried out so I just had juice (not competitive with competing brands). Overall this is a good HI Express that is clean but could pay more attention to detail. Example - Dead plants at the exterior entrance. Heavy bruised apples in the lobby and some of the work seen around the hotel doesn’t look to be completed by someone who is a professional at repairs and renovation. I had future reservations but decided to switch my stays to another hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OurExtendedStay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the hotel recently, while visiting from London. The hotel was perfect for our needs, the room was large, and the fridge was a welcome addition. There was no noise whatsoever from I10. The bed linen was changed daily and the room cleaned beautifully. Breakfast was plentiful - no excuse for going hungry ! The reception staff were wonderfully helpful and very friendly. We would not hesitate to return on our next trip. True, the view is not wonderful, but who wants to sit in their hotel room all day looking out of the window !

Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank MaRooLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2012

The hotel is located right on interstate 10, which means that you can hear noise from the highway. The location is OK, close to downtown Houston. The rooms are not too renovated, as the furniture is dated. Also, the hallways and rooms feel quite stuffy and dirty. Overall, the hotel is not clean. The breakfast is good, with cinnamon rolls, eggs, ham, etc. I would try a different hotel next time I visit Houston.

Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
Thank Alex R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Houston - Memorial Park Area, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2012

Dear Holly R,

Thank you for taking the time to relay your comments regarding our property during your stay. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed breakfast. Our hotel is very proud of its level of service, cleanliness and quality of its product and for this reason your comments regarding the room and housekeeping are very troubling. Please accept my apologies for any inconvenience caused you. Rest assured these will certainly be looked into.

Although your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we hope you will give us another chance to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Houston hotels
Great Uptown
Crowne Plaza Houston Galleria Area
Great Uptown
HYATT house Houston/Galleria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express & Suites Houston - Memorial Park Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express & Suites Houston - Memorial Park Area

Address: 7625 Katy Fwy, Houston, TX 77024-2000
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston > Great Uptown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #265 of 518 Hotels in Houston
Price Range: $94 - $154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express & Suites Houston - Memorial Park Area 2.5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Refreshed and changing the look of our property for you. We are working hard and would love to have you stay with us. Welcome, we want our home to be yours. With free breakfast get your day started on the right foot. Enjoy our indoor pool without getting the sunburn or sand. Our staff is here to make your day incredible and if we are unable we will make it right. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express & Suites Houston - Memorial Park Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Houston - Memorial Park Area Hotel Houston
Holiday Inn Houston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing