We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Houston - Memorial Park Area
Ranked #235 of 504 Hotels in Houston
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
100 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Good place to stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2012

The staff was friendly and helpful and they gave us a very early check-in which we appreciated.The room was spacious and clean. The bed was comfortable. The decor is a little dated, but very adequate. The heater and toilet were noisy. The worse problem was a barking dog in a nearby room, but I suppose that is not the hotel's fault :( The breakfast was hot-- the standard HI Express fare. (I love their pancakes.) Overall, it was a comfortable place to stay overnight.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruth D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    31
    23
    7
    6
See reviews for
23
16
4
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, Texas
Level Contributor
27 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2012

Tried this hotel on a recent monthly trip to Houston. Check in was a little slow because they did not have clean rooms ready. I did get recognized at a Platinum PC member and received a nice gift bag at check in. When I exited the elevator for my floor I was overwhelmed with the smell of air freshener (very strong). The room was a good size with a microwave and refrigerator but could use some updating. The furniture, fixtures and soft goods are outdates compared to what is seem with renovated and new HI Express hotels. It was hot outside and they had the a/c on when I entered the room, which was nice. The ceiling had cracks and looks like there were botched repair work. The carpet could use some cleaning. The bathroom is small and could use some updating. Breakfast was a little disappointing - I prefer waffles and thee was a pancake machine. All the other food looked a little dried out so I just had juice (not competitive with competing brands). Overall this is a good HI Express that is clean but could pay more attention to detail. Example - Dead plants at the exterior entrance. Heavy bruised apples in the lobby and some of the work seen around the hotel doesn’t look to be completed by someone who is a professional at repairs and renovation. I had future reservations but decided to switch my stays to another hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OurExtendedStay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the hotel recently, while visiting from London. The hotel was perfect for our needs, the room was large, and the fridge was a welcome addition. There was no noise whatsoever from I10. The bed linen was changed daily and the room cleaned beautifully. Breakfast was plentiful - no excuse for going hungry ! The reception staff were wonderfully helpful and very friendly. We would not hesitate to return on our next trip. True, the view is not wonderful, but who wants to sit in their hotel room all day looking out of the window !

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank MaRooLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
128 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2012 via mobile

The hotel is located right on interstate 10, which means that you can hear noise from the highway. The location is OK, close to downtown Houston. The rooms are not too renovated, as the furniture is dated. Also, the hallways and rooms feel quite stuffy and dirty. Overall, the hotel is not clean. The breakfast is good, with cinnamon rolls, eggs, ham, etc. I would try a different hotel next time I visit Houston.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Alex R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Houston - Memorial Park Area, responded to this review, August 13, 2012
Dear Holly R,

Thank you for taking the time to relay your comments regarding our property during your stay. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed breakfast. Our hotel is very proud of its level of service, cleanliness and quality of its product and for this reason your comments regarding the room and housekeeping are very troubling. Please accept my apologies for any inconvenience caused you. Rest assured these will certainly be looked into.

Although your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we hope you will give us another chance to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Houston hotels

Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2012

I love Holiday Inn Express hotels but I never will stay in this one again.

Pros: close to attractions (movie theatre, club, restaurants, shopping); free breakfast; pass to LA Fitness gym across the highway; staff was amicable

Cons: Right in front of I-10 freeway so horrible view; not a lot of families; parking lot was small and inconvenient for big truck parking; bad lighting in parking lot - I did not feel safe; could use some updates - hallways and bathrooms were dated and stuffy

Room Tip: Request a room not facing the freeway - I think the other side faces residential neighborhood but it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank missjazzsinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Houston - Memorial Park Area, responded to this review, August 19, 2012
Dear missjazzsinger,

Thank you so much for your review regarding your experience. We’re happy to see that our location was ideal for your activities and pleased you liked our free breakfast as well as hotel staff. We work very hard to ensure our facilities and service are superior and we strive to be the best Holiday Inn around. It sounds like we fell below your expectations especially with the room accommodations received as well as the condition of the hallway and parking area. I have taken note of your valuable comments and rest assured, these will be used to monitor and improve the quality and services we offer to our guests.

Thank you for bringing this to our attention. We are looking forward to welcoming you back.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHG Care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaumont, Texas, United States
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2012

Our one night stay was a little disappointing. The room had a musty odor and the source of that smell seemed to be the damp carpet... In fact the whole room had a damp feel. We called the front desk to make them aware and get another room only to be informed that the property was sold out. It was after 11PM. We were stuck. The next morning, to prove out point we brought the receipt (slipped under the door during night) to the front desk and presented the clerk with a limp sheet of paper. "Yep, the room must be damp..." For this we were given some reward vouchers to re-imburse some of the reward points I spent on the room (30% to be exact). At least we got something. They filled out a maintenance ticket while we were watching, so hopefully this will be addressed. ...hopefully... We also saw a portable de-humidifier running in the hallway down from our room, so this may be more wide spread than just room 611.

If you choose to stay here anyway, be sure to get your breakfast early. There was little left when we got to it. And the stiff crust on the eggs suggested it had been there a while.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edgarcia79, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Houston - Memorial Park Area, responded to this review, August 2, 2012
Dear Guest,

I am extremely sad that we could not correct the problem that you had during your stay. Sadly Houston has always been a place for humidity and we have installed dehumidifiers / AC units in all our rooms. We do this so that way we can combat these horrendous issues and make sure that this does not happen again to our guest.

As for our breakfast we could have done better. We will diffidently make your note known to our staff so that they mayst
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2012 via mobile

My boyfriend and I stayed at this hotel on business. When we checked in we paid in cash, but they insisted it was company policy to still have a card on file (as many do).

BUT even though we already paid, they charged my card as well! Saying it was a "pending" transaction that would clear. Well, with daily effort talking to rude employees and managers, I was FINALLY returned my money TWO WEEKS later.

Had I not noticed, they would have stolen my money happily. The fact that they tried to justify the fact that they charged me for two nights when I stayed for one night was insane.

Besides the horrible money issue, hotel quality was great.

Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Kelti R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Houston - Memorial Park Area, responded to this review, July 16, 2012
Dear Kelti R,

I would like to thank you on your review. We are sorry that you had problems with the charges. We have spoken to our staff in making sure that we are not pulling a full authorization on cards when our guests are paying cash .We continue to work on issues.Hope that you will give us a second chance.

Sincerely,
Griselda Hernandez
Front Desk Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Houston hotels
Great Uptown
Crowne Plaza Houston Galleria Area
Great Uptown
Hampton Inn Houston - Near The Galleria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Great Uptown
Extended Stay America - Houston - Galleria - Westheimer
Great Uptown
Drury Inn & Suites Houston Near The Galleria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express & Suites Houston - Memorial Park Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express & Suites Houston - Memorial Park Area

Property: Holiday Inn Express & Suites Houston - Memorial Park Area
Address: 7625 Katy Fwy, Houston, TX 77024-2000
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston > Great Uptown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #235 of 504 Hotels in Houston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express & Suites Houston - Memorial Park Area 2.5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Refreshed and changing the look of our property for you. We are working hard and would love to have you stay with us. Welcome, we want our home to be yours. With free breakfast get your day started on the right foot. Enjoy our indoor pool without getting the sunburn or sand. Our staff is here to make your day incredible and if we are unable we will make it right. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express & Suites Houston - Memorial Park Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Houston - Memorial Park Area Hotel Houston
Holiday Inn Houston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing