We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New neighbourhood eatery”
Review of Local Foods

Local Foods
Ranked #42 of 8,183 Restaurants in Houston
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Montevideo, Uruguay
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“New neighbourhood eatery”
Reviewed July 27, 2014

Good service ,friendly staff , tasty and fresh food. It offers a good selection of vegetarian dishes .

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank 66Maryla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    89
    47
    7
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
USA
Level Contributor
315 reviews
168 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Fabulous!”
Reviewed July 22, 2014

Great offerings of locally grown foods in a trendy setting.
The slaw with the Sammy's Garden sandwich was great! The beet salad was interesting but really the sandwich topped it all off. The combination sounded a bit strange but the taste was FABULOUS! Go for the Sammy's Garden Sandwich!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pebbleskip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Delicious”
Reviewed July 17, 2014 via mobile

Really good food, drinks and cool , unique atmosphere. I like that they use local and healthy ingredients. Being from Colorado it's nice to find little places like this and it's in a nice neighborhood.

Helpful?
Thank Lidabiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
441 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 280 helpful votes
“Dat salmon sandwich tho”
Reviewed July 16, 2014

If you are reading this, you have probably heard about the hype about this place from here and elsewhere. Although I was initially dubious, my verdict afterwards was that Local Foods truly lived up to its hype!

Local Foods offered some interesting foods, although at slightly higher pricing in my opinion. On my first trip there, I ordered the smoked salmon sandwich (About $12 with two sides or a soup), and was honestly shocked at how delicious and fresh the sandwich was. I was initially expecting a very dried salmon, but instead, the sandwich was filled with smoked, almost sashimi-style salmon slices!

That smoked salmon sandwich just captured my heart right at that moment.

Anyway, good food, great atmosphere, and friendly staff! I would definitely recommend this place especially for hanging out with friends!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jay Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
58 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Crunch Chicken Sandwhich...”
Reviewed July 15, 2014

...it's absolutely incredible. I'd love to say I haven't eaten it at least 75 times, but I have and then some. The customer service is top notch and the team members here make this one of the best places to eat in Rice Village.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank joshua15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Local Foods also viewed

Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Local Foods? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing