We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Moving”

Holocaust Museum Houston
Ranked #15 of 299 things to do in Houston
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: The Holocaust Museum Houston educates visitors about prejudice and tolerance. You can see archival film, a Danish rescue boat and a World War II railcar used to transport victims to concentration camps.
houston
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Moving”
Reviewed July 16, 2013

My son had a project for school, and instead of dropping him off, we joined him on the tour...So informative and Educational...Can't say enough...this is a must visit

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank mark e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

694 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    478
    165
    37
    10
    4
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
490 reviews
223 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 206 helpful votes
“Must experience!”
Reviewed July 12, 2013 via mobile

Took my boys and my cousins children. We were all in tears. It was a very moving experience. You can help but feel fore all of those poor people.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank gwenbraum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Keep on Learning”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Even though my friend and I had visited Dachau in Germany, we both felt we'd learned a great deal from this museum. Because it highlights people or family members who eventually came to Houston, it has a more personal effect.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank edutraveler_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Friendswood, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“well done”
Reviewed July 6, 2013

We took our 12 year old daughter and her 13 yr old friend this afternoon. A bit crowded but to be expected on a hot Saturday in July. We waited a few minutes for the tour guide and learned a lot more than we would have had we just gone self-guided. The film "Voices" was great - real Holocaust survivors telling portions of their stories. We were warned about taking the girls - they were fine with it. I highly recommend for Jr High age kids or higher. A great way to remember that are part of a much bigger world and we can never forget what happened .....

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank lynnauburn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
524 reviews
270 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
“Great Museum”
Reviewed July 3, 2013

I took a group of 20 people with me to visit this museum to help people understand the history of what happened during WWII. Although not a huge museum, the details in it certainly help one to appreciate and reflect how many felt during the time of the 2nd world war. The videos are different if you go on a Saturday or Sunday and vary in length as well. A must see if in Houston.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank jordansbulls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Holocaust Museum Houston also viewed

 
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Holocaust Museum Houston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing