We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 9:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Book In Advance
  
Ways to Experience Houston Zoo
Houston CityPASS
52 Reviews
from $62.00
More Info
from $89.95
More Info
Reviews (3,929)
Filter reviews
3,882 results
Traveler rating
2,359
1,120
310
54
39
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,359
1,120
310
54
39
Show reviews that mention
All reviews gorilla exhibit reptile house giraffe feeding big cats christmas lights splash pad parking spot herman park medical center all ages train ride animals lion lettuce carousel wagon cages
Filter
Updating list...
2,695 - 2,700 of 3,882 reviews
Reviewed August 14, 2014

We have a family tradition of going to the zoo at least once a summer wherever we are living at the time. So far our favorite has been I
The Cincinnati Zoo, but Houston was a close second, or maybe tied. Better than Atlanta for what you get for the money. It was very hot on the day we went in June 2013 for our daughters birthday. The splash pad was a welcomed refreshment from the heat. We skipped the last part of the zoo as we had our young baby with us and we all were tired and ready to get out of the sun and heat for the day. We look forward to going back, but plan to wait and go in the fall when it is cooler next year.

We did find it somewhat confusing trying to figure out where to park and enter the zoo, but figured it out easily enough by watching were others were headed.

Date of experience: June 2014
1  Thank MelissaRN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2014

We started our day at the zoo by planning it on line. Thought we might find some discounts and such along with information so we could better plan our day. We found two discounts that we planned to take advantage of. The first was a discount for people who receive social service help. That discount was null and void at the booth because while we had documents to show we received services it wasn't the one they required. So no discount there. The second one we opted to take led to the worst part of the day. There was a discount offered of two dollars per ticket if we rode the we got off at the in to the zoo. That one was not honored either . We had to go to the information booth to find out why, where we were told that the zoo was no longer run by the city and they couldn't be held accountable for a web sight that they didn't post. If they didn't who did? Because we took the train we got off at the exit marked for the zoo. We followed the signs to get to our destination we found ourselves at the rear entrance. That entrance is only open on weekends and holidays. Now we had to walk to the main entrance. This entrance 180 degrees from the rear entrance. This is Houston in July I have received a Kidney transplant in 2011 while my partner is dealing with cancer. Yes I understand we are at the zoo and walking is required if you are in the zoo there are plenty of places to sit and to get out of the heat. This is not the case outside the walls. Talking with the staff did no good they could care less all they wanted to do was sell us tickets to the special attractions inside that were not covered by our ticket at the gate. Needless to say at this point I was not willing to pay anymore for something that started out so wrong. After leaving the information desk we made our way to get drinks and sit in some a/c after our walk. Where we watched a bird fly into the window we got a zoo employee to come to do something with the bird. There response was to get a sanitation worker to dispose of the bird, mind you the bird was still alive. Never again we I bother with this place. They refuse the discounts offered on the net they don't post that the rear gate is closed except for. the zoo itself is dirty and in state of disrepair. Please spend your money and your time elsewhere.

Date of experience: July 2014
2  Thank Douglas F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2014

Make sure you bring enough water and snacks since the places that sell them inside are a bit over priced. Kids will surely love the animals in here.

Date of experience: August 2014
Thank Orlan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2014

The Houston Zoo was a surprise for us. We expected less and left the zoo knowing we would return! The exhibits were well designed. We were impressed with how clean the zoo was. The water park for kids was a popular attraction on this nearly 100 degree day. The zoo was smaller than we had anticipated. We were done in 2 hours. We look forward to returning in 2015 for the new gorilla exhibit.

Date of experience: August 2014
1  Thank Vicki R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2014

Houston zoo was a nice day trip for the family. The exhibits are well done simulated natural habitats. Our family went in mid June, and didnt feel too crowded. Lots of opportunity for shade and cool drinks.

1  Thank Waterlily741
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
View more reviews