We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Nice 3 night stay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Americas Best Value Inn-Houston/Hobby Airport

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Americas Best Value Inn-Houston/Hobby Airport
Ranked #273 of 489 Hotels in Houston
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Nice 3 night stay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

I had the pleasure of staying at this hotel for 3 nights. It just so happened that this hotel is located right in front of the building in which I had business with for 3 days, so the location was definitely within walking distance for me. The manager, Raj, took care of all of my concerns at check in and made my stay as comfortable as possible. My family and I stayed in room 118. The room appeared to have been recently upgraded and the king size bed was very comfortable. Normally, these "budget" hotels would normally get a 2 star rating, but i give it a 3 and would definitely stay here again when I have to return to Houston. The wireless internet was blazing fast.

Room Tip: The best tip I can give you is to get a room behind the hotel since it sits so close to the highway...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnathonBrady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    17
    11
    7
    3
See reviews for
14
9
9
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level Contributor
32 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

Close to the airport and easy access to Houston. This hotel is extremely close to the highway, and even though I had a back room you hear the traffic constantly. If you are a light sleeper you should look elsewhere. The room is a decent size, but the bathroom is small. When you go to a Super 8 your not looking for luxury. The staff was nice and let me use a iron since one wasn't in the room. The ironing board was the small counter top type which is annoying if you seriously need to iron something.

Room Tip: Get a room at the back away from the highway, it may help a little to reduce the noise.
See more room tips
Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Duane J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lubbock
Level Contributor
162 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

Staff very pleasant! Rooms cleaned only when we hung out the sign. Extra towels brought promptly!! No flat screen tV. Tiny bathroom. Close to our conference. Limited number of food choices. Mainly "Connie's" on College Ave and Pappas BarBQ on the access road.










.

Room Tip: On the ground on the backside away from the front noise, on the ground floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Texas1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

I was on a business trip and traveling with my 95-year-old mother, and stayed several nights here. Although the property faces the highway and our room was on the highway side, the noise was not a problem. The room was very, very clean and nicely appointed with coffee maker, blow dryer, and other amenities not typical of this price range. The bed was extremely comfortable. Furniture had a nice, "at home" feel - meaning that, for instance, there were drawers in the dressers and nightstands (some places these days just have shelves instead of drawers.). The hot water was hot, and the water pressure in the shower was strong. As mentioned in other reviews, the people at the front desk were extremely nice and helpful, especially to my mother who needed a few things during the day - like help opening a can. Their hospitality added to the overall pleasant experience of the stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PinkFlamingo54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

Raj, the manager, is kind and seems genuinely interested in the guest. He added a nice touch to my stay that was unexpected. Internet connection was fast. Room was EXTREMELY clean and furnishings were new. I slept great!

Room Tip: Front rooms are loud, if traffic bothers you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Houston hotels
0.7 mi away
Econo Lodge Houston Lobby
Econo Lodge Houston Lobby
#311 of 489 in Houston
3.5 of 5 stars 20 reviews
0.7 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Houston Hobby Airport
0.2 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Houston Hobby Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Hobby Airport Inn & Suites
0.7 mi away
Comfort Suites Hobby Airport Houston
1.4 mi away
Super 8 Houston Hobby Airport North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Americas Best Value Inn-Houston/Hobby Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn-Houston/Hobby Airport

Property: Americas Best Value Inn-Houston/Hobby Airport
Address: 8888 Gulf Fwy, From N Exit 36 From S Exit 38, Houston, TX 77017-6507
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #273 of 489 Hotels in Houston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Value Inn-Houston/Hobby Airport 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Americas Best Value Inn Houston/Hobby Airport offers the most value for your money when staying for business, pleasure, or just passing through. We offer clean spacious rooms, in-room Wi-Fi, free coffee in lobby, and free continental breakfast. All guest rooms include microwave, mini-fridge, coffeemaker, balcony, hairdryer, cable TV, ESPN, alarm clock radio, free local calls, and wake-up service. At Americas Best Value Inn Houston/Hobby Airport, We've Got You Covered from the time you hit the road until your head hits the pillow. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Booking.com, Hotwire, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn-Houston/Hobby Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Houston
Super Eight Houston
Houston Super 8
Houston Super Eight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing