We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Magnolia is good, but doesn't live up to the hype” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Magnolia Hotel Houston

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Magnolia Hotel Houston
Ranked #20 of 501 Hotels in Houston
Certificate of Excellence
Dallas, Texas, USA
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Magnolia is good, but doesn't live up to the hype”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2006

The Houston Magnolia is good, but doesn't live up to the hype. I've stayed at hotels all over the world - usually very nice ones - and i admit i am a finicky hotel guest.

The good: room was larger than expected. nicely appointed. clean. great linens & bed.

The not so good: long, long waits for valet. desk clerks were snooty at check-in and not even there at check-out. the milk, at their famous "milk & cookies" was warm.

Overall a decent place to stay, but not the best Houston has to offer.

  • Stayed October 2005, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BCMose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,750 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,696
    733
    199
    66
    56
See reviews for
413
965
195
805
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (383)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2006

We have enjoyed our stays at the other Magnolia's in Denver and Dallas so had some expectations for Houston. Unfortunately there were some definite differences which would make us hesitate to ever go back there. Corners are being cut on the things that set the Magnolia apart.
We do have to say that the rooms are spacious and the overall decor is really nice and contemporary. Bed was comfortable as was the temperature in the room. Another plus was the roomy workout room. Our "free" in room internet never worked the whole time we were there but we could go wireless in the lounge. The toilet had very little pressure and didn't flush well and the drain in the sink was only open the tiniest amount making it stop up, too. The shower had the pressure of a light rain.
At other Magnolias we enjoyed the complimentary wine and lovely appetizers offered but this has been eliminated as have all the carb-free choices from the breakfast buffet (unless you want to pay $10.95 for the chef cooked alternative or pay $8 for two eggs) Even the lower economical hotels offer hard boiled eggs or oatmeal on their continental breakfast bars.
The staff wasn't always available and we never really could tell who was in charge or who could speak English. There was just an overall sense of cluelessness.
SO if you can overlook the extras that are missing this is a comfortable place to sleep but there may be other places that are less expensive and offer a bit more service.

  • Stayed March 2006, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2006

The hotel itself is not bad...nice decor and comfortable rooms. I would say the shortfall is with the staff and their inability to service guests. Here are a few examples of my experience....no hair dryer in room so I called the front desk to make the request and was told one would be sent right up...2 days later when I checked out I still didn't have a hair dryer. The other thing that happened on my trip was that I attempted to set up a wake up call the front desk phone rang and rang and rang for over 40 minutes before I gave up.

Stayed February 2006
Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Russellville, Arkansas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2006

I arrived at the hotel around 1:00, prior to the check in time of 4:00 pm. I received a nice greeting from the valet, but was told by the front desk that they didn't have a room ready yet. They recommended a local restaurant for lunch. After lunch I returned at 3:00. I have a reservation made a month earlier for a room with double beds as I was traveling with my 17 year old son. The room still wasn't ready, so we took the metro rail to the museum and arrived back at the hotel a little after 5:00. We had show tickets for 7:30. The room still wasn't ready. I expressed my concern to the desk clerk. He recommended that I take a King Room, and that they would provide a roll away bed, so that we could get ready. He offered to comp breakfast the next day, because of the delay. I declined breakfast, but asked if he could comp the valet parking instead, which he agreed to do. So far, so good. The hotel lobby was nice, and the room was as well, although the comforter was a little worn. The room was clean. We left for the show a little before 7:00. As yet the roll away still hadn't been delivered. I checked with the front desk again, and was told the roll away had been requested, but he would double check again for me. We arrived back at the hotel after midnight to discover there was still no rollaway. I called the front desk and was told there were none left. I asked if we could be switched to a new room, and was told there were none available, nor could they upgrade us. Only after a stern conversation, did the employee check with a supervisor. They did then offer to comp a second room for my son, two floors up. I made up my mind that this was satisfactory and that I would still feel that the overall experience was satisfactory if not ideal. The next morning, I received my bill to find that I had been charged for valet parking. I spoke the the desk clerk on duty, who told me that the gentlemen the evening before had no authority to comp valet parking, and that she couldn't remove it. She was pleasant, and told me that if I wanted to wait approximately an hour, that I could speak to her supervisor who might be able to assist me. After the whole experience I just paid the bill and left. I did fill out their comment card and left it with my checkout information at the front desk. I haven't heard from anyone there and don't expect to. I don't think they have an overall attitude of wanting to provide good service to the customer. I'm not a frequent traveler, but I stay in hotels at least 2 to 3 times per year. I really enjoy a full service hotel. I've never written a review and I've never complained at a hotel before this. I am just really surprised, because at every other hotel that I have stayed at my reservations have been correct, the staff has never ignored a request, and has certainly never told me they would do something they are not authorized to do. Maybe I have been fortunate, but I feel that this hotel is not well ran. Management attitute is perhaps reflected by the staff? I will not stay there again.

Helpful?
9 Thank klee09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Level Contributor
86 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2006

I LOVE the Magnolia Hotel Houston!! I've stayed there twice & visited many times for their great Happy Hour!

Let me put it this way... I live in Houston. I live only about 30 minutes away from downtown Houston. However, on special occasions... my husband and I go on a downtown date and stay at the Magnolia hotel!

First off, great location... very near lots of great bars and restaurants down town. Second, great bar inside... very nice, cozy bar, great happy hour prices 5-7 everyday, and usually there's a jazz band playing. Third... great price! The hotel is very reasonable for downtown compared to some of the others. The room is very comfortable & very nice as well. You also get a decent continental breakfast in the morning and they have milk and cookies at night :)


It seems the best deal is to book online at their website. Warning, Houston is convention/trade show land during the week... so prices are probably higher then.

  • Stayed May 2005
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank YoostonTX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2006

Magnolia has a great location, modern looks, and nice rooms and not much else.

The outside: The main entrance is very nice but turn the corner and the hotel windows along the street are covered up with black trask bags and the sidewalk was covered in trash. Parking is a pain and after watching the valet service nearly trash a BMW while trying to park it, I would suggest you do it yourself. However there is no connection between the garage and the hotel. You have to walk all around it to get there and hope the garage elevator is working.

The inside: very clean and modern not my taste but whatever works for you. The rooms are nice and neat. Big bathrooms and big rooms give you room to stretch.

Other: The workout room is fine and the pool/spa area are on the roof. The pool is small and cold. It does offer great views and over looks Minute Maid Park. Don't bother with room service, not great.

Location: Great. dowtown walking distance to food, symphony, baseball, and basketball.

Staff: terrible.They never had answers to any of our questions. We were looking for a "cheap sports bar" and they told us there were none. We didn't know our way to the Houston Symphony and they told us we would need to take their limo service when it was only a few blocks away. They have a "cafe" but it is never open and nobody knows the hours. It wasn't open at noon but it was at 11pm.

It was a nice hotel, but I would never stay here again. If I were to do it over, I would have gone to the Hilton.

  • Stayed February 2006
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Level Contributor
134 reviews
113 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2006

Comfortable medium sized hotel with well-furnished rooms, free breakfast (kinda), free Internet and good workout facilities.

Staff are on the whole quite helpful and friendly.

The hotel could get five out of five if it wanted to. However, it just doesn't give you that 100% feeling, for the following reasons:

1) Sloppy cleaning - Every day at least one thing wasn't cleaned. Upon closer observation it would appear that the rooms are never checked after cleaning.
2) Elevators - Take hours to arrive.
3) Breakfast - The free continental breakfast is a nice touch. However it really doesn't include that many things, and even doesn’t have toast. Interestingly the paid for breakfast requires the same effort to collect, and also the same effort by the staff, who simply give you the bill. That doesn't stop them asking for a tip. Something important ran out every day too. For example coffee, or bread, or forks. (Forget about telling the staff if you have a dirty fork.)
4) Pool – small and freezing cold. I can still feel it now, two weeks later.

Apart from these points it’s a good place to stay and I would go again. A 3.5 really but lets give it a 4.

  • Stayed January 2006, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank rabbitman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Houston hotels
Downtown
Hotel ICON, Autograph Collection
Downtown
The Lancaster
The Lancaster
#1 of 501 in Houston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,331 reviews
Downtown
The Whitehall Houston
The Whitehall Houston
#4 of 501 in Houston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
JW Marriott Houston Downtown
Hotel ZaZa Houston
#5 of 501 in Houston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,594 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Magnolia Hotel Houston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magnolia Hotel Houston

Property: Magnolia Hotel Houston
Address: 1100 Texas St, Houston, TX 77002-3114
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Houston
#13 Luxury Hotel in Houston
#13 Family Hotel in Houston
#16 Business Hotel in Houston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Magnolia Hotel Houston 4*
Number of rooms: 314
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This boutique hotel in downtown Houston, Texas offers accommodations for leisure travel and extended stay guests, as well as space for meetings, wedding receptions, conferences, and special events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Magnolia Hotel Houston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Houston Magnolia Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing