We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Experience at The Magnolia”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Magnolia Hotel Houston
Ranked #39 of 518 Hotels in Houston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 25, 2009

I recently stayed at the Magnolia Hotel in Houston with a group of friends. I was hosting a bachelorette party for my friend, and this hotel was the perfect place to hold it. They were very accommodating, and happy to help with specific requests for our rooms. The hotel itself was lovely, very clean, and the complimentary breakfasts and wine/beer/cookie bars were a great treat. The location of the hotel in downtown was also perfect. We were within walking distance to several great restaurants, bars, and clubs. The only pseudo-problem we had was parking; since the hotel is downtown, you do have to pay for parking, but there are several options close to the hotel that were safe and easy to get to and from. Overall, I highly recommend this hotel for your next visit to Houston!

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank heathbar995
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,831)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,668 - 2,674 of 2,831 reviews

Reviewed January 23, 2009

I have stayed at The Magnolia in Dallas so my decision was easy, however the Houston property is even nicer and the location is super convenient to business, entertainment, shopping and restaurants.

The staff is super attentive and friendly and the rooms are impeccably clean and comfortable.

Plus the value....the price is excellent considering you recieve a complimentary breakast, cookies and milk and a couple of free drinks at the bar!

I actually just booked a stay in Dallas for next month.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank ChrisJ97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2009

We only stayed here one night but it was a great experience. Our room had its own living room and kitchen. Everything was gorgeous! Next time I go to Houston we will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank sarahm2333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2008

My wife and I had the pleasure of spending three nights at this hotel. The overall experience was good. The bed was great but the pillows were horribly soft.

My only compliant revolves around the fact that we were given a handicap room after I told the check-in agent that only one of two rooms were to be for the disabled.

Forget the expensive hotel parking and park in the covered garage around the corner.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BigEasyTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2008

I stayed here for a 3 day weekend while attending some Astros games and enjoying downtown Houston. I was more than pleased with the hotel and especially for the price. It was great quality, wonderful and friendly staff, and a very comfortable room with a good view of downtown. It was not far from most of the places we wanted to go to and walked to Minute Maid and restaurants around the area from the hotel. I got the chance to stay here again after a wedding that was downtown and was equally impressed with it then. I would recommend it to anyone and would love to stay here again. I was very impressed!

  • Stayed: June 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aggiejlh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2008

Stayed 2 nights for the recent Madonna concert at Minute Maid Park 4 blocks away. Check in was quick and easy. The room was spacious and had two queen beds with a workspace and lounge chair. The bed is SUPER comfortable...not too firm but not too soft. The bathroom amenities were boring and cheap but the garden tub/shower was nice. Extended cable was available as well.

Area: Downtown Houston is EXTREMELY boring and most things close early. If you are looking for a restaurant, Little Napoli is diagonally across the street from the hotel. The flying saucer pub is 1 block away and is a great place to try new beer. Taxis are readily available in front of the hotel at all hours.

Free Buffet Breakfast: Served every morning starting at 7am. Very plentiful and included: scrambled eggs, bacon, breakfast potatoes, toast, assorted bagels, coffee/juices, yogurts, cereals, milk and oatmeal. Definitely a reason to stay at a Magnolia hotel.

Free wifi throughout the hotel and guestrooms.

Evening Reception: From 5:30pm to 6:30pm guests of the hotel can enjoy free wine, beer or soft drinks on the mezzanine level. Mixed drinks are a surcharge. From 8pm to 10pm complimentary coffee, milk, and assorted cookies are served to all guests.

Overnight valet parking on site is approx $27 after taxes. 1 block away a self parking lot charges $10-15.

So, if you are in Houston on business in downtown or are going to a concert/game at Minute Maid park this hotel fits the bill. If you are a tourist...then you should ask yourself why you came to Houston in the first place.

Enjoy!

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank TravelerDallasTX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MagnoliaHotels, PR Director at Magnolia Hotel Houston, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2009

Thank you for your positive, detailed review of The Magnolia Houston. We really appreciate your feedback and appreciate you as one of our valued guests. I took note of your comments about downtown Houston and wanted to give you a "heads up" that The Magnolia is excited to partner with four relatively new to downtown restaurants. Soon guests will be able to book dinner packages with The Magnolia and restuarants including Mia Bella Trattoria, Collin's Chop House, Cava Bistro, and Cielo Mexican Bistro. All of these restaurants are in the downtown Houston area within walking distance of the hotel. We are looking forward to partnering with these restaurants and helping visitors to have an enjoyable downtown experience. Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2008

Stayed with a friend on a business trip to Houston. Due to the hurricane, the hotel that their company resides in was booked so we stayed at Magnolia. (hurricane damage) Except for the workout room being temporarily closed and only having one working elevator, it was the best hotel i've seen in years. SUPER clean and staff was extremely friendly and helpful in all departments. The buffet breakfast had hot food and high end items- rooms were very big and comfortable. very quiet rooms and the bed was comfortable.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Smtlr614
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Houston hotels
Downtown
Hotel ICON, Autograph Collection
Downtown
The Whitehall Houston
The Whitehall Houston
#7 of 518 in Houston
497 reviews
Downtown
The Westin Houston Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Club Quarters Hotel in Houston
Downtown
JW Marriott Houston Downtown
Downtown
Hyatt Regency Houston
Hyatt Regency Houston
#34 of 518 in Houston
2,004 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Magnolia Hotel Houston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magnolia Hotel Houston

Address: 1100 Texas St, Houston, TX 77002-3114
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Houston
#13 Family Hotel in Houston
#16 Business Hotel in Houston
#22 Luxury Hotel in Houston
Price Range: $123 - $296 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Magnolia Hotel Houston 4*
Number of rooms: 314
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This boutique hotel in downtown Houston, Texas offers accommodations for leisure travel and extended stay guests, as well as space for meetings, wedding receptions, conferences, and special events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Magnolia Hotel Houston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Houston Magnolia Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing