We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, Milk/Cookie bar, Slow Service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Magnolia Hotel Houston
Ranked #38 of 517 Hotels in Houston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 6, 2013

Pros
-Clean room and spacious (compared to New York hotels). Great view of the downtown area especially from the rooftop pool
-Great breakfast and milk/cookie bar
-Beautiful roof top views of the city with pool/Jacuzzi. Pool is on the small side with occupancy for 25 people and 3ft deep.
-Valet parking attendants very professional and very quick response time.

Cons
-Very slow service. I think they are severely understaffed and eventually it will be detrimental to their boutique hotel style of business. Most business people won't put up with it for very long and luckily we were there more for leisure. It took over an hour to get drinks/food ordered to the pool deck. Also, I left my hotel keys in my room. I have called every day for the last four days. Each time, I leave my phone number and I am promised a call back. Hasn't happened. I also emailed lost and found department 3 times.

Overall, I would stay here again if I found a deal and just be prepared for the kinks with service. As a business person, I don't think I could put up with the slow service. I think the management knows they need more people and definitely try there best to fix it.

Room Tip: Room facing the downtown area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lmr05006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,846)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,041 - 1,047 of 2,846 reviews

Reviewed September 5, 2013

This hotel would get a 5 from me just based on the room, but the breakfast area was a little chaotic with people looking for places to sit, etc. The buffet ran out of eggs when my husband and I got there, but we went ahead and toasted our English Muffins, and by the time they were done, more eggs were delivered. The breakfast was excellent, especially the bacon. There was not a nice restaurant here, but there are several within walking distance. The price of the room included two free glasses of beer or wine, cookies and milk in the evening and breakfast. The room was wonderful. It was spacious with a king size bed, a microwave, cooktop, refrigerator (in addition to the mini bar), a large flat screen tv and, my favorite part, two bathroom sinks and vanity areas. My husband showered, and I was able to get ready in my own vanity area without steam from his shower. It was clean and quiet as well.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kay M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

This is a very fine hotel located in downtown Houston, in a neighborhood where you wouldn't want to wander about much after dark. Overall the hotel was well run with a friendly staff and good services. The rooms were of generous size and well cleaned. Only complaint was that the cooling was not great and we had to keep the curtains pulled all day to keep the room from being too hot. The cooling system was not adequate for a Houston summer. Their valet parking was very efficient considering their heavy workload, and it was quite easy to use. This hotel is a good choice for those who need to be in downtown Houston for work or play.

Room Tip: Our 17th floor room A/C was challenged. Perhaps a lower floor room would be cooler.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank drllcoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

I stayed here for a week while on a business trip in Houston. The location is great, right on the Texas avenue, close to many restaurants and offices.

The room I stayed in was large and had a very comfortable king size bed and pretty much everything I needed. It was always clean and quiet. I had never any problem with noise or loud neighbors.

The staff was always very nice and helpful.

I can't comment on the prices as it was payed by the company.

However there is one thing that bothered me a lot. It was the breakfast, that was included. Maybe it is because I am from Europe, but the I really did not like what was offered on the buffet tables. Absolutely no fresh vegetables , only some fruit. I tried the eggs once, but they were almost cold so I was basically stuck with cereal for the whole week.

Apart from the breakfast it was a very pleasant stay and I would definitely return to the hotel in the future.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roman L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Stayed with my husband over Labor Day weekend. Super close to metro train, and even closer to fun bars and decent restaurants. Room was nothing spectacular, but great for the price we paid thru Priceline. Staff was friendly. Worked perfectly for what we wanted.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rbd1117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

The Magnolia hotel has certainly become one of our favorite hotels in the Houston area. From the Moment we pulled up to the valet, we were indulged with excellent customer service and not to mention a beautiful one of a kind hotel . Free happy hour, cookie buffet at bedtime and a free breakfast added up to a great weekend for my husband and I.

Room Tip: The suite had a microwave and mini fridge
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tmach41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Nice boutique hotel in downtown Houston. Older hotel that has been renovated with nice modern touches. Great artwork displayed throughout the hotel. (especially the dining area). Standard rooms are large, with plenty of room. Comfortable beds. Nice large bathrooms. Excellent full breakfast, but have to get there early, ends at 9am. If the hotel is booked, there can be a wait for valet and elevators.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DA H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Houston hotels
Downtown
The Westin Houston Downtown
Downtown
Hotel ICON, Autograph Collection
Downtown
The Whitehall Houston
The Whitehall Houston
#8 of 517 in Houston
561 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Club Quarters Hotel in Houston
Downtown
JW Marriott Houston Downtown
Downtown
Hyatt Regency Houston
Hyatt Regency Houston
#32 of 517 in Houston
2,080 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Magnolia Hotel Houston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magnolia Hotel Houston

Address: 1100 Texas St, Houston, TX 77002-3114
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Houston
#11 Family Hotel in Houston
#16 Business Hotel in Houston
#22 Luxury Hotel in Houston
Price Range: $135 - $334 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Magnolia Hotel Houston 4*
Number of rooms: 314
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This boutique hotel in downtown Houston, Texas offers accommodations for leisure travel and extended stay guests, as well as space for meetings, wedding receptions, conferences, and special events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, bedfinder AG, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Magnolia Hotel Houston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Houston Magnolia Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing