We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Business in Houston”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Magnolia Hotel Houston
Ranked #25 of 506 Hotels in Houston
Certificate of Excellence
Oakwood, Illinois
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Business in Houston”
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Was in Houston for a week for business. The Magnolia is very close to our corporate office, so it was the logicial choice. The breakfast buffet was great. Good selection. Rooms are very roomy and comfortable. I look forward to coming back to The Magnolida on my next trip to Houston.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Liz R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,778 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,706
    745
    204
    67
    56
See reviews for
417
974
197
815
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (390)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kountze, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2013

My first stay at the Magnolia Hotel in downtown Houston was because a friend recommended it to me. I am so glad she did. We stayed there after going to the Hobby Center to see Wicked. Everyone was so friendly and helpful. We enjoyed the evening reception and the great breakfast. They shuttled us to dinner and the theater and picked us up promptly. The rooms are awesome. Just sorry we did not get out of the show in time for the cookies. Maybe next time. I could smell them all down the hall. I will definitely stay here again and as I travel agent I will recommend it to my clients..

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shreveport, LA
Level Contributor
91 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2013

We stayed here because we were attending a wedding and the reception was held at the Rice Hotel/Crystal Ballroom which was a short walk away from the Magnolia. The room was nice, but small. The bathroom was large, but they had a coffee pot and honor refrigerator in the bathroom area which seemed strange. I loved the Gilchrist & Soames products in the bathroom. The breakfast and cookies and milk were also a nice touch. They had fruit infused water in the main lobby.

And if you were going to the ballpark, it is a short walk from the hotel. We could see the fireworks from the hotel. And from the rooftop pool area. The pool was a bit small.

The valets for parking were on the job every time we needed our car.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Minnie25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2013

The Magnolia is a beautiful hotel, from the lobby to bar to the guest room. I stayed a Friday night for work on Saturday at Minute Maid Ballpark - which is only a 5 block walk.

Checking in was quick and easy. There is water (cucumber or orange) in the lobby for a quick refreshment when walking in from the hot Houston streets. Walking through the warm and inviting lobby with fireplace to the elevators. Ask for a room with a view - I had the most gorgeous view of downtown Houston and the church across the street.

The room was large and very comfortable - I sank into the chair when I walked in. The bathroom is large and had a garden tub. It is a little dark in the restroom you have to turn on the makeup mirror if you want to attempt makeup without looking like a clown. Beware that there is a mini bar in the room - taking any drink or food out alerts the desk and charges your room automatically - sodas ring out at $4.50 each. If you need water and drinks there are a couple of markets within walking distance.

Front desk told me about Happy Hour, Cookies and Milk and Free Breakfast - wowzer talk about hitting the jackpot. I went down to The Lounge for Happy Hour which includes beer and wine. Service is a little iffy. Took a bit to get service - the room is large and doesn't feel organized. After my colleague came down and we had a glass of wine we decided to try to find the restaurant. Little did we know that The Lounge is the restaurant, the same area for Happy Hour. Still felt very disorganized - we moved to a table and waited to order dinner. Again service - iffy. So we finally did order and it took FOREVER for a tiny plate of cheese and crackers - but it was good. And because it was raining we stayed for dinner as well. The food was okay - enough choices but the sauce on the chicken was odd and the garden salad was tiny.

After dinner we went for a walk as the rain had let up - quite a few little bars and restaurants within a 6 block walk. Next time we will try one of those for dinner. Also the train is within a couple blocks so that is an option too.

When we came back there were cookies and milk in The Lounge - YUMMY! And the coffee is fantastic. We grabbed our coffee and cookies and went in to the Library, that is a really cool meeting space.

The pool is on the top floor - an amazing view of Houston. You have to walk through the gym to get to the pool but it is a nice patio area. The pool is just a little garden pool and there is a whirlpool.

The bed was wonderful - fell right into bed and slept well. Breakfast the nice morning was in The Lounge again - this time they had large tables set out and seemed more organized than the night before. Big food selection - was tasty. They have a menu too if you would rather not eat the buffet.

We took taxis in from the airport so we did not valet a car - its $26 a day. Valet was very helpful in arranging a complimentary shuttle/car to the Ballpark the next morning. When I asked about a taxi for later they said they would arrange a car for us. Valet kept our luggage and told us to walk the 5 blocks back and they would shuttle us for $60 (same as a taxi) to the IAH airport.

All in all it was a great stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a view if you want to see downtown Houston.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DallasTravels107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
66 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

Magnolia rooms are well appointed, quiet, with great bed and pillows, strong room wi-fi with speed alternatives if you want to stream video or just send/receive email. Desk set up with a plug strip, so can charge all devices easily.

Enjoyed the decent free breakfast and free cookies & milk every night. Also have a pool on the top floor, but never used/seen it....

Like that is close to some nice restaurants, although walking in Downtown at night can make you a bit nervous.
They have a free transportation service to take you/pick you up at places close by.

Only complaint...it was impossible to take a cold shower!!!....room 1414 shower's water controls would not surrender cold water!....only very warm or extremely hot water....need to fix.

Normally I stay at the Hyatt to get points and miles, but got fed up of the loud room A/C, crappy wi-fi and thin walls....do miss having Shula's in the lobby....


Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Fsucre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nevis
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2013

I stay at this property once or twice a year for a week or two at a time. It's the best value in downtown Houston. If you want a five star property, go to the Four Seasons, but if you'd like to have things like a full breakfast, a cocktail hour, milk and cookies, and a well equipped gym all included in the rate, then the Magnolia produces. Staff is friendly, rooms are comfortable, with most in the process of getting upgraded. There's even a small outdoor pool up on the roof, a rare amenity downtown. Location is a block from Main Street, six blocks to the ballpark and close to all offices downtown. And the hotel provides a complimentary car service to and from any address in the downtown area.

Room Tip: Spend a bit more and upgrade to an 08 corner room, especially if staying longer than a couple of nig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank uncleknuckle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Neches, Texas, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 14, 2013

I enjoyed the location of this hotel, as it was near great restaurants and the Hobby Center. The valet team was wonderful. The pool is small... the lounging around type. The front desk staff were ever helpful. Best continental breakfast I've ever had. My room was clean and well maintained.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Evie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Houston hotels
Downtown
Hotel ICON, Autograph Collection
Downtown
The Lancaster
The Lancaster
#1 of 506 in Houston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,401 reviews
Downtown
JW Marriott Houston Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Whitehall Houston
The Whitehall Houston
#4 of 506 in Houston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 381 reviews
Downtown
The Westin Houston Downtown
Downtown
Club Quarters Hotel in Houston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Magnolia Hotel Houston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magnolia Hotel Houston

Property: Magnolia Hotel Houston
Address: 1100 Texas St, Houston, TX 77002-3114
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Houston
#13 Family Hotel in Houston
#15 Luxury Hotel in Houston
#16 Business Hotel in Houston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Magnolia Hotel Houston 4*
Number of rooms: 314
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This boutique hotel in downtown Houston, Texas offers accommodations for leisure travel and extended stay guests, as well as space for meetings, wedding receptions, conferences, and special events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Magnolia Hotel Houston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Houston Magnolia Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing