We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“good service, great food, wonderful rooms.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Magnolia Hotel Houston
Ranked #22 of 504 Hotels in Houston
Certificate of Excellence
Port Neches, Texas, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“good service, great food, wonderful rooms.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013

I enjoyed the location of this hotel, as it was near great restaurants and the Hobby Center. The valet team was wonderful. The pool is small... the lounging around type. The front desk staff were ever helpful. Best continental breakfast I've ever had. My room was clean and well maintained.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Evie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,761 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,701
    738
    200
    66
    56
See reviews for
416
969
196
807
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (385)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
mcallen
Level Contributor
53 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

I was not really impressed with this hotel. The pictures made it look nicer than it was.
The rooms were a good size but the breakfast area was too big and very unorganized. The pool was tiny and you had to go through the gym to get to it. The one thing we liked was its location, right downtown.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kathymcallen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
central Texas
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

We loved this hotel! Easy walking distance to Minute Maid Park. Breakfast buffet was very good not your typical hotel breakfast! The only down side is parking. The hotel staff was very friendly. We will definitely stay here again if in the area!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mimiof3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Owasso, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013

Stayed here for one night, family of 4, on our Road Trip through Dallas - Galveston.. felt we were rushed on the check-in, no directions of where to go or where anything was. Nothing in the room to explain breakfast, pool, bar or where to find anything locally. Only info we had in the room was in-room meals and drinks.... oh we did have a bottle of water placed on the side with a price tag of $6. The desk sockets did not work and found the room to be fairly dark. Didn't feel it was worth the $304 for one night....

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank teanmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013

When I called to make the reservation I was guaranteed an early check-in (by 11 a.m.) and check-out (by 1 p.m.)--neither statement was honored. I couldn't check-in until 3p.m. And was told I had to check out by 11 a.m. Or pay an extra fee. Also, service at the sparsely filled bar was exceedingly slow, tub was dirty, in-room phone didn't work .... Won't be back.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ThirdCoastTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2013

I travel to Houston frequently, have stayed at many hotels around the city and downtown. The Magnolia is by far the best!! From service, to food, to accommodations...they know how to treat their guests. Not to mention the beds are the most comfortable around and it's nice to have warm cookies after a long days work!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Van Buren, Arkansas
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2013

This is a great location to stay at while in downtown Houston area. The hotel is very clean and the rooms are spacious. We stayed in a king suite and loved the space that the room had to offer. The kitchenette was very nice and the room was layed out well. The bed was very comfortable. Loved the evening reception and cookies and milk at night! The shuttle services provided by the hotel were also very helpful.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 777jro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Houston hotels
Downtown
Hotel ICON, Autograph Collection
Downtown
The Lancaster
The Lancaster
#1 of 504 in Houston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,368 reviews
Downtown
JW Marriott Houston Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Whitehall Houston
The Whitehall Houston
#4 of 504 in Houston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 355 reviews
Downtown
The Westin Houston Downtown
Downtown
Club Quarters Hotel in Houston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Magnolia Hotel Houston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magnolia Hotel Houston

Property: Magnolia Hotel Houston
Address: 1100 Texas St, Houston, TX 77002-3114
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Houston
#13 Family Hotel in Houston
#14 Luxury Hotel in Houston
#16 Business Hotel in Houston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Magnolia Hotel Houston 4*
Number of rooms: 314
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This boutique hotel in downtown Houston, Texas offers accommodations for leisure travel and extended stay guests, as well as space for meetings, wedding receptions, conferences, and special events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Magnolia Hotel Houston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Houston Magnolia Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing