We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Wedding Anniversary Retreat” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Magnolia Hotel Houston

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Magnolia Hotel Houston
Ranked #21 of 501 Hotels in Houston
Certificate of Excellence
Kingwood, Texas
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great Wedding Anniversary Retreat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2013

Magnolia Hotel provided a free suite upgrade to us as we were celebrating our 5th anniversary. The hotel is in a great location convenient to restaurants and activities. The building itself is the historic Post-Dispatch building and has been remodeled tastefully. The rooms are large, comfortable, and comfortable and immaculately clean. The amenities were great--wine/beer hour, evening cookies & milk, and the breakfast was excellent.

Room Tip: Always choose the suites as the difference in price is minimal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bill S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,750 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,696
    733
    199
    66
    56
See reviews for
413
965
195
805
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (383)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
ravenna Italy
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2013

The Magnolia is very nice. friendly staff! nice location! right downtown! pretty lobby,good coffe and muffins in the morning,fast valet but, the best part is the rooms . very comfortable beds,pillows and very large- bathroom is very big. our room had a view of the city.i say stay at the Magnolia for sure! xoxo

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank champthetramp12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2013

The Magnolia Hotel in Houston is a lovely boutique hotel that makes you feel at home while you are away. My room was spacious, very clean, with lots of plugs for my computer and phones. Its downtown location allowed me to walk to and from the office which was a big bonus, and I appreciated that they have a shuttle, as I don't like renting cars when I travel. The staff was always nice and helpful, room service was prompt and very good. Having breakfast service is such a treat when I am on the road for work - one less thing to figure out, and I appreciated the hot and cold options. I stay at the Magnolia in Dallas quite a bit so I also appreciated that the set-up is the same....comfort away from home. I didn't get a chance to check out the gym, but I understand it is on the roof and quite breath-taking....

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barbara D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2013

LOVED this hotel. Friendly staff, beautiful room, comfortable stay, and the extras were much appreciated. The complimentary happy hour, cookies, and breakfast bar were great touches that added to how much we enjoyed our stay. We left feeling refreshed and pampered. If the biggest quibble you have with a place is lack of complimentary parking you know you're splitting hairs. The valet was prompt and courteous at any rate. I appreciated the express check-out as well.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank C E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Carolina
Level Contributor
73 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2013

Just returned from a wonderful trip to Houston. Check in was completed quick and front desk staff was very friendly and helpful with all our questions and how to make our way around town. We had a standard room with an awesome view of downtown Houston. They also have a rooftop pool, it was to breezy for us to use but the magnificent views are worth a trip up to the 23rd floor. There was an initial hitch in getting shuttle transportation(a small suv) to the convention center due to the majority of the guests staying there were all going to the convention, but the transportation staff did a tremendous job at keeping everything moving smoothly once they pulled out the mini van. After we found our way around it was a nice walk(about15mins) though the city park(beautiful) back to the hotel from the convention center. A nice extra perk was the wonderful complimentary breakfast bar (hot and cold items) and a cookies and milk snack served before bedtime. Will definitely visit the Magnolia again.

Room Tip: (Tip – Taxi rides within the downtown area only $6)
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RominNaomi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2013

I was very impressed with the hotel - nothing bad to say at all! My room was nice and clean - loved the over-sized bathtub! The fitness center and pool was well above my expectations - lots to offer and the size of the fitness area was GREAT! The rooftop pool and jacuzzi was a nice touch as well. It was little chilly in the evening during my visit and the pool wasn't heated, but that was OK because the jacuzzi was right next to it and I was able to enjoy relaxing in it a bit!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Katrina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2013

We took advantage of the Mother's day special and were impressed with the comfortable room and loved the complimentary bottle of wine! The breakfast buffet was great but the seating not so much, had to wait until I could snag a table for us. The cookie buffet would've been great if there would've been cookies available! It was apparent that some folks forgot their manners and got stacks of cookies! Luckily when we ordered room service and I mentioned this to our waiter, he graciously brought some freshly baked cookies and cold milk up for us. The free valet parking was great. Nice location close to the ballpark. All in all, it was a pleasant stay for the price!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LAPEREZ210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Houston hotels
Downtown
Hotel ICON, Autograph Collection
Downtown
The Lancaster
The Lancaster
#1 of 501 in Houston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,335 reviews
Downtown
The Whitehall Houston
The Whitehall Houston
#4 of 501 in Houston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
JW Marriott Houston Downtown
Hotel ZaZa Houston
#5 of 501 in Houston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,598 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Magnolia Hotel Houston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magnolia Hotel Houston

Property: Magnolia Hotel Houston
Address: 1100 Texas St, Houston, TX 77002-3114
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Houston
#13 Family Hotel in Houston
#13 Luxury Hotel in Houston
#16 Business Hotel in Houston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Magnolia Hotel Houston 4*
Number of rooms: 314
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This boutique hotel in downtown Houston, Texas offers accommodations for leisure travel and extended stay guests, as well as space for meetings, wedding receptions, conferences, and special events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Magnolia Hotel Houston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Houston Magnolia Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing