We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Finally, a hotel that met my expectations!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Magnolia Hotel Houston
Ranked #40 of 518 Hotels in Houston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 4, 2013

I was in town for a few days for an international hotel owners association convention, conference, and trade show. Being in the industry for several years, this hotel exemplifies a really good hotel that lives up to its merit. However, upon arrival the room requests made prior failed in terms of communication. However, after addressing the issues with Jonathan at the front desk, they were resolved. I also need to commend Stephanie who expedited my dry cleaning that I needed upon arrival. Which was handled promptly. I had requested upper floor away from the elevator. I was assigned just the opposite. Mis-communication or lack there of maybe? However after a few phone calls (back and forth) to the front desk and after returning back to the hotel an hour later, it was resolved. First impression of the initial room, nice but not cleaned well. Meaning it is a great hotel, just housekeeping needs improvement. (By the way, this is something critical and very easy to improve upon and fix). I must say, no matter how much one pays for a night, a CLEAN ROOM is expected. (Head of housekeeping needs to wake up!). After discussion on how management was going to correct the issues, it was finally rectified in a timely manner. I don't expect perfection, but I do expect professionalism. Room quality is excellent. I would like to acknowledge and personally thank Jennifer, Jonathan, Stephanie, and importantly, the manager Sheena. The staff plays a key role in a hotel and these members in particular are the reason this hotel does so well. In addition, take advantage of the free shuttle service around town. Also, avoid the insane price of parking at the hotel. The parking garage across the street is cheaper and more convenient. Elevators were only an issue once during my stay. Wifi was acceptable. Maid service was good after my initial hiccup. Staff was friendly, trustworthy, and professional. I had wished their breakfast improves but their milk and cookies reception is really neat. Also, this hotel is a great venue for hosting a meeting, party or even a wedding. I saw the areas myself and would consider them. The rooftop pool and jacuzzi is well maintained and the view is awesome. Also, the gym is clean and smells nice! By the way, this hotel is within walking distance to the GRB convention center. For lunch, outside the hotel there's this new restaurant called Kobecue. It was a good find and they recently opened. If and when I return back to Houston, the Magnolia is where I shall stay, (again).

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PKPLosAngeles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,840)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,166 - 1,172 of 2,840 reviews

Reviewed April 3, 2013

We've stayed at the Magnolia Hotel on three separate visits to Houston in the last 4 years because we loved the service, the atmosphere, value, and amenities this hotel offers. It is in a great location - easy walk to many attractions such as the Minute Maid Park, the Co-Cathedral. Great breakfast, confortable room, and the nightly cookie treats is fabulous.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 153mj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2013

Magnolia Hotel was a great place to stay. They were courteous, rooms was roomy, stylish, clean and insulated! We had a great time. They shutted us to our different venues. And when we were ready to return, they picked us up promptly. Breakfast the next morning was a wonderful full buffet. Overall a great weekend. And if the Astros win, the fireworks are awesome! And you must check out the view from the pool on the roof!

Room Tip: Get the suite level and ask for the front view....and look for specials. My husband has an AARP card...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claire H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2013

It was a pleasure to stay at the Magnolia Hotel for two weeks.
Good central location, near to theatre district, great restaurants, Minute Maid Baseball park, the Metro train line on Main street, downtown office blocks and the (few) shops at Houston Center.
Lots of extras such as hot/cold breakfast buffet, free WiFi, two free drinks (wine/beer) during Happy Hour and evening coffee, milk and cookies.
Very flexible dining times, happy to serve food whenever you need it.
The staff are competant and friendly, especially the serving staff in the bar/restaurant.
Valet parking is expensive, but in line with other local hotels. Very fast, efficient service.
The rooms are very comfortable with a modern feel.
The gym was fine with enough equiptment to keep us busy.
Sadly the swimming pool was too cold to use, but the hot tub was nice. The roof area is a little tired, a lick of paint, more plants and a good clean would make it superb. Great views.
We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JulieMSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2013

My son lives just down the street in a small condo, so we have stayed here frequently. It has all the basics, clean, quiet, nicely decorated, friendly staff. I also has some freebies that usually aren't found in 4* hotels, free internet, free breakfast, free wine and beer at happy hour, free milk and cookies in the evening, and free shuttle service to any place downtown.

A couple of negatives: the elevator can be very slow when the hotel is crowded. They place a luggage rack at the foot of the bed and we would walk into it at night. (we have learned to move it to the wall on arrival. The bathtub is oversized with high walls and is hard to climb into.

But overall we really enjoy staying at the Magnolia.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SeaofTranquillity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013

I stayed here on a business trip recently. In general the hotel was okay.

Highs:
- The place is fairly new. Overall the place is in pretty nice shape.
- The rooftop pool and exercise room are nice. Plenty of room and equipment.
- location is great for Minute Maid Park and the theater area.
- Staff was friendly and helpful.
- Free Internet.

Lows:
- My room was not particularly clean. Hair on the pillow and grime on the fridge.
- There was a fridge in the room but it was small and stocked with "mini-bar" items so there was no room for personal items.
- Breakfast was bad. Bacon and sausage was burned. Bread was stale. Eggs disgusting.
- Room was very dark and poorly lit.
- Bathroom was small and awkwardly laid out.
- HD tv with only SD stations.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
Thank RoamingGoat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013

My girlfriends love the Magnolia, so much so, that they've each celebrated their milestone birthdays there. Love the huge bathtub and breakfast buffet (my favorite thing). Renovations have been made to the club room since my last visit.

I didn't get a chance to use the pool or jacuzzi, but did make use of exercise room. The pool was small, there were no windows in the exercise room (would have been great to get natural sunlight since room was on located on the roof of the hotel), and the bathtub was slippery (an accident waiting to happen). For those reasons, did not rate excellent.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Camelia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Houston hotels
Downtown
The Westin Houston Downtown
Downtown
Hotel ICON, Autograph Collection
Downtown
The Whitehall Houston
The Whitehall Houston
#9 of 518 in Houston
532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Club Quarters Hotel in Houston
Downtown
JW Marriott Houston Downtown
Downtown
Hyatt Regency Houston
Hyatt Regency Houston
#32 of 518 in Houston
2,063 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Magnolia Hotel Houston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magnolia Hotel Houston

Address: 1100 Texas St, Houston, TX 77002-3114
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Houston
#11 Family Hotel in Houston
#16 Business Hotel in Houston
#22 Luxury Hotel in Houston
Price Range: $142 - $347 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Magnolia Hotel Houston 4*
Number of rooms: 314
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This boutique hotel in downtown Houston, Texas offers accommodations for leisure travel and extended stay guests, as well as space for meetings, wedding receptions, conferences, and special events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, getaroom.com, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Magnolia Hotel Houston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Houston Magnolia Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing