We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice touches”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Magnolia Hotel Houston
Ranked #33 of 517 Hotels in Houston
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Nice touches”
Reviewed February 25, 2013 via mobile

This is a very stylish hotel in a good location. The room was beautiful and very spacious. They included 2 free drinks each at happy hour, breakfast and evening cookies and milk. They gave us a free late checkout so we could laze in bed which meant we missed breakfast! If it had been warmer it would have been nice to try the roof top pool. The views were great. The fitness room was also reasonable for a city centre hotel. Recommend the Bombay pizza co and the flying saucer bar a few blocks away.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank AmeliaLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,805 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,712
    756
    209
    70
    58
See reviews for
421
983
197
825
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (394)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Midland, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2013

I called to make a reservation - very friendly and helpful but found out the hotel was full. She offered to put me on waiting list - and they called me back with a cancellation to get me a room! The Magnolia has it's own style and charm - warm and classic. Check-in was easy and fast. Large room - very clean and comfortable bed. Choice of internet speeds but the free one was plenty fast. Breakfast was included the next morning - warm and fresh eggs, meats, waffles, etc and lots of fruit. Valet parking was easy in and out. Well done and looking forward to my next trip to Houston and staying here again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charles D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 23, 2013

Magnolia has a lot of perks. The free breakfast, managers reception and cookies and milk were great. I would stay again. Staff was very friendly. The bathrooms rooms are nice and have a garden tub. Things that could be improved. The windows on the building need to be cleaned from the outside. The alarm clock needs to be better.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janice M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2013

My wife and I had the pleasure of staying at the Magnolia Hotel in Downtown Houston, and we were really happy with our choice.

As veterans of the Kimpton Chain of Boutique Hotels, I would certainly rate the Magnolia Hotel as equal to the best Kimpton Hotels. The staff were very helpful and friendly, the rooms spacious and very clean, and the food at both dinner and breakfast was excellent.

We arrived after the Happy Hour from 5:30 - 6:30 PM, so we decided to eat at the bar on the 2nd floor instead of venturing outside in the rain for dinner. My wife and I were both pleasantly surprised by the food quality and exceptional service, especially by Billy working behind the bar. The morning breakfast buffet on the 2nd floor was also very good although the layout is rather odd with the buffet tables at the opposite end of the seating area. I think that it would be much more efficient to locate the buffet tables closer to the seating area - just a suggestion. The workout room is very adequate (according to my wife as I had work to do!), and the free internet access is a nice touch.

I would definitely stay at the Magnolia Hotel in Downtown Houston again, and I highly recommend it to both business and leisure travelers looking for an "oasis" in Downtown Houston. Give the Magnolia Hotel a try, you will not regret it!!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Simmrouter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2013 via mobile

If you thnk about table stakes for a good hotel, magnolias got them. What it's missing are the fine touches to make it a great hotel. Recommended improvements: change breakfast menu periodically, add windows to gym to see views, have free coffee in the lounge throughout the day, add slippers and shoe shine sponge in room, add free music channel to in room tv, have free bottled water in room, extend Internet renewal period to 24 hours, make sure switches in room turn on all lighs, make sure bulbs don't need replacing. I hope these changes are in place for my next visit. Overall, it's a good hotel, haven't tried others in the area but there is nothing at magnolia urging me to come back again - might just try one of the others to be able to compare.

Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank The_Cairene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnetonka, Minnesota
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2013

I had high hopes for this hotel, as I always like staying at independent hotels, but this place is just average. It has underused, very large common spaces, which lead to a weird atmosphere. The gym is on one of the top floors of the hotel, and the rooftop pool is right outside. One would think this would provide the opportunity to plan a bright, light gym, but no. It's painted dark gray and is depressing. The outdoor pool lacks furnishings and pizazz. My room was fine-- nothing outstanding and nothing unacceptable. The hotel's surroundings are nothing to write home about, and the attached coffee shop lacks a cool vibe. Breakfast on the second floor of the hotel was a substantial and free buffet that was a step above "corporate" and provided a wide assortment of hot and cold choices. I ate at the Grove Restaurant-- which I loved-- and the area around that restaurant would probably be a more interesting place to stay in Houston. One final comment-- one of my colleagues (from a city other than mine) accidently left his eyeglasses at a meeting. I was checking out of the hotel the next day and was traveling the entire day and thus was not able to mail the glasses, so I asked if the hotel could overnight mail the glasses for me. I gave the hotel my company's fed ex number and filled out the fed ex delivery slip. The hotel didn't send the glasses out for two days, and then it sent them by two-day service. Now, it is my colleague's fault that he left behind his glasses, and it wasn't the hotel's responsibility to help me mail them to him. But, having accepted the task, the hotel really could have impressed me, and instead the task was performed half-heartedly, leaving a different description of the episode in this review than I would have left had the eyeglasses been fed ex'd the very next day. Again, the glasses were not the hotel's problem, but an opportunity to shine was lost.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank m3grrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth
Level 6 Contributor
216 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2013

Stayed here as a friend was married at the Rice Hotel. The room was charming and we had a great view of Houston. Really did not want to leave the room as it had fresh daylight, nice big HD TV, deep bath, good amenities + complimentary happy hour and late night cookie bar; we missed both due to wedding, We did enjoy a nice hot complimentary breakfast buffet the next am with most everything, except omelette station, We call it complimentary, but all the extras are built into the price of the room and don't forget extra charge for valet parking - overall a great experience, I highly recommend this hotel & the people that work here were top shelf.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank BigDogWillie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Houston hotels
Downtown
Hotel ICON, Autograph Collection
Downtown
The Lancaster
The Lancaster
#1 of 517 in Houston
1,488 reviews
Downtown
JW Marriott Houston Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Club Quarters Hotel in Houston
Downtown
The Whitehall Houston
The Whitehall Houston
#5 of 517 in Houston
456 reviews
Downtown
The Westin Houston Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Magnolia Hotel Houston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magnolia Hotel Houston

Property: Magnolia Hotel Houston
Address: 1100 Texas St, Houston, TX 77002-3114
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Houston
#13 Family Hotel in Houston
#16 Business Hotel in Houston
#18 Luxury Hotel in Houston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Magnolia Hotel Houston 4*
Number of rooms: 314
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This boutique hotel in downtown Houston, Texas offers accommodations for leisure travel and extended stay guests, as well as space for meetings, wedding receptions, conferences, and special events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Agoda so you can book your Magnolia Hotel Houston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Houston Magnolia Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing