We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome place with great customer service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Magnolia Hotel Houston
Ranked #27 of 508 Hotels in Houston
Certificate of Excellence
New York
2 reviews
“Awesome place with great customer service”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

I stayed for only a few hours, got in around 2am and left at 7am to attend a meeting. However, during my short stay I was able to come across some very nice people who work there. The rooms are quite comfortable yet trendy! Breakfast was great! I forgot my boots there and had to return to try to find them. That was not a problem. The housekeeper already packaged them and they were secured so when I got back there, retrieving them was so easy. These people are very honest too!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank squawlink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,787 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,708
    750
    205
    68
    56
See reviews for
419
978
197
818
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (391)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Silver Spring, Maryland
1 review
Reviewed January 22, 2013

I love the area because you can walk around, also the shuttle is available all the time if you need it, the Customer Service is fantastic, I had a great experience and be be part of Organo Gold i this Internacional Event, it is a very comfortable.

Room Tip: I had the 13th floor and the next time I will love to be on the last one and I can see the city from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ligia A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2013

This hotel is not the 4.5 stars as advertised. I was overcharged for the night I stayed, and then the Magnolia continued to charge my credit card for additional nights after I had checked out. When I called to ask about it, I was put on hold for 20 minutes. Then, I was told that they only charged me for one night. Yet, my bank statement showed 3 additional charges. I am still fighting them about these charges.

Do not fall for the TA ratings. Stay away.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Todd K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MagnoliaVPSales, Public Relations Manager at Magnolia Hotel Houston, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Thankk you for your comments. We have notified our accounting office to get in touch with you to resolve the situation. We're certainly very sorry for any delay you have encountered. We hope you can give the hotel another chance soon. Again, our apologies.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2013

We stayed here for on a Friday night. The hotel is very comfortable, modern, trendy, unique. The room was very clean and recently remodeled. Downtown Houston is very quiet on the weekends and at night. Seems to be a place people commute to to work.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diedre B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2013

We stayed at the Magnolia for the Houston Marathon. It was a short walk to/from the expo and race start/finish. They were stocked up on water bottles and Gatorade for runners and had plenty of carbs ready. It was raining on race morning so the front desk had trash bags ready for us to put wear. Very helpful and friendly staff, would stay at this hotel for any future Houston Marathon trips.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank semicharmedk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2013

Friendly staff, nice rooms, good shower temp and pressure. Main complaint was that there was no iPod / iPhone plug in for music. And there were only about 6 hangers. And you need to re-log-in to the free wifi fairly frequently. If you stay here definitely go around the corner to flying saucer!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bonnie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 14, 2013

A friend and I stayed overnight at the Magnolia hotel for the Aramco Houston Half Marathon.

The staff was very friendly and helpful.

The double queen room was clean, spacious and tastefully decorated. I really appreciated that the desk in the room had outlets built in, so it was easy to plug in my iPhone and iPad without having to crawl around hunting for an outlet like in some hotels.

The bed was very comfortable, especially the pillows.

While there was a refrigerator, it was already stocked with wet bar items. I removed those items to make room for my own items. The fridge is apparently computerized because I was initially charged for the 7 items I removed. However, when I talked to the desk, they quickly adjusted my bill when I explained what happened, so that was hassle free.

The only negative was the nearly $30 overnight parking fee. I thought that fee was pricey.

Overall, I enjoyed my room and the cool, laid-back, lounge feel of the hotel, and I would stay there again (although I would probably look around for cheaper overnight parking nearby).

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank miscetc1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Houston hotels
Downtown
Hotel ICON, Autograph Collection
Downtown
The Lancaster
The Lancaster
#1 of 508 in Houston
1,436 reviews
Downtown
JW Marriott Houston Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Club Quarters Hotel in Houston
Downtown
The Whitehall Houston
The Whitehall Houston
#6 of 508 in Houston
401 reviews
Downtown
The Westin Houston Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Magnolia Hotel Houston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magnolia Hotel Houston

Property: Magnolia Hotel Houston
Address: 1100 Texas St, Houston, TX 77002-3114
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Houston
#13 Family Hotel in Houston
#15 Luxury Hotel in Houston
#16 Business Hotel in Houston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Magnolia Hotel Houston 4*
Number of rooms: 314
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This boutique hotel in downtown Houston, Texas offers accommodations for leisure travel and extended stay guests, as well as space for meetings, wedding receptions, conferences, and special events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Magnolia Hotel Houston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Houston Magnolia Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing