We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My Houston Favorite”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Magnolia Hotel Houston
Ranked #40 of 517 Hotels in Houston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 8, 2012

I'm not sure how I skipped writing a review of the Magnolia until now, but this is definitely my "go to" hotel when I'm in Houston. It may not be a 5 star hotel in the rule book, but just about everything here is perfect. The rooms are nice, but what really sets the Magnolia apart is the service. From the valet, to front desk, to bar staff - I've always felt welcome. The only thing to watch out for is the price. It's usually in line with other luxury downtown hotels, but occasionally it will spike up due to demand (which is completely understandable). It's a great hotel - but not great enough that I'll pay substantially more than I would for another comparable hotel in the area.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ATXMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,845)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,294 - 1,300 of 2,845 reviews

Reviewed December 7, 2012

My boyfriend and I had a great time! The hotel is by the Toyota Center and Relient Stadium. We had the hotel shuttle take us to and from the Toyota Center. We have stayed here once before and enjoyed waking up to an amazing breakfast. The late night milk and cookies does not hurt either. The room was spacious and we were excited to use the kitchen within our hotel suite. Reasonable prices and friendly people!

Room Tip: I would definitely plan to splurge and get the suite with the kitchen if you plan to stay more then...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Meagan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2012 via mobile

A small boutique hotel done right.
Clean spacious and cookies and milk before bed a nice touch!!!located in downtown. And rooftop pool is a plus!!!
A must if your going to houston!!check online for great specials.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kim m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2012

Great hotel. We arrived and we were checked in and in our room within 10 minutes. Our room was neat and clean. Walking distance to everything downtown. Metro, food, baseball and more. We took advantage of the drinks at happy hour. Next time we stay there we will have to be sure to have the cookies!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank husker123456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2012

Great location! Just around the corner from Flying Saucer (excellent bar) and several eating establishments. Great view of the town. My wife did not feel like breakfast, but there is a place down the street called Georges Market which does a really good breakfast alternative to the buffet at Magnolia

Room Tip: Ask for a room looking out over Texas avenue
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Cweig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2012

We stayed on a random Saturday night...simply wanted a "get away" weekend. The hotel is clean and has been recently renovated. The amenities were very nice. The staff was friendly. The hotel has a coffee shop in front and is within walking distance of several bars and places to eat. The room was spacious and clean. The bed was very nice (pillow top).

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DAllen31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2012

I paid $140 for this room (with tax). For that amount of money, I'd say the room was great. I didn't feel that the room was especially clean. The bathroom was spotless, but the carpet didn't seem clean in the room. As a matter fact, I found a child's toy behind the TV from a previous guest. Neither of the telephones in the room worked. And I hated that the Magnolia didn't offer 24 hour room service. They have great garden tubs in the bathroom, though; and I liked that a lot. Everyone was super friendly and like I say, it was a great stay for the price.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Laura N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Houston hotels
Downtown
The Westin Houston Downtown
Downtown
Hotel ICON, Autograph Collection
Downtown
The Whitehall Houston
The Whitehall Houston
#9 of 517 in Houston
560 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
JW Marriott Houston Downtown
Downtown
Club Quarters Hotel in Houston
Downtown
Hyatt Regency Houston
Hyatt Regency Houston
#32 of 517 in Houston
2,079 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Magnolia Hotel Houston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magnolia Hotel Houston

Address: 1100 Texas St, Houston, TX 77002-3114
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Houston
#11 Family Hotel in Houston
#16 Business Hotel in Houston
#22 Luxury Hotel in Houston
Price Range: $135 - $339 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Magnolia Hotel Houston 4*
Number of rooms: 314
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This boutique hotel in downtown Houston, Texas offers accommodations for leisure travel and extended stay guests, as well as space for meetings, wedding receptions, conferences, and special events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, bedfinder AG, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Magnolia Hotel Houston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Houston Magnolia Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing