We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“A very nice room with exceptionally comfortable beds. Breakfast was appreciated and tasty. A nice stay.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Magnolia Hotel Houston

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Magnolia Hotel Houston
Ranked #18 of 488 Hotels in Houston
Certificate of Excellence
Murchison, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A very nice room with exceptionally comfortable beds. Breakfast was appreciated and tasty. A nice stay.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

We enjoyed the Magnolia Hotel and it's art deco style. The room was nice, clean and comfortable. The bed was excellent-we got a great night's sleep. We appreciated the ammenities and the large bathroom. The breakfast was a full meal and tasty. We appreciated the selection of breads, fruits, juices and cerals as well. The wine reception was nice but crowded, Cookies were not homemade and rather stale.
Service was good but a bit slow, especially in the restaurant. I wouldn't plan on relying on the restaurant as a sole source of food, it was average.
I would stay at the Magnolia again for it's rooms and location, wonderful for ballgames, concerts, etc. Our rooms were quite expensive but there was a big name concert at the venue down the street precipitating exhorbinant prices for all hotel rooms. Otherwise, I understand they're reasonable.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nona T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,627 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,634
    692
    189
    61
    51
See reviews for
386
927
189
764
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (366)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Guatemala City, Guatemala
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Be aware that Houston City does not allow roller beds inside 2 bed rooms. We didn´t know that, but we were told at the reception that one bed would be sent to the room. Two hours later the bed hadn´t come yet (11pm be the time). After 2 calls to reception, we first learned about this Fire Marshall regulation. So, to solve the problem, they sent us an inflatable mattress. My point is, if we had been told about this regulation before, we might have paid for 2 rooms, or look for another alternative. The WiFi is simply terrible also. If you want high speed, you will be forced to pay an extra amount, which I consider a Stone Age practice. Charging extra for WiFi is like charging extra for tap water, simple as that.
Great breakfast in the second floor (included), and check out the rooftop pool and spa; really nice. Also, be aware that parking is valet only, and costs about $28 per day.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ronyer77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Augustine Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
181 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

My wife and I live north of Houston in The Woodlands and spend the weekend in downtown Houston occasionally to attend festivals, go to plays, attend concerts, or just hang out. For years we've stayed at the Lancaster and watched the quality and service of the hotel slide down a slippery slope. We decided last weekend to try the Magnolia and are wondering why we haven't done so before now. We liked everything about the hotel. The staff was friendly, breakfast excellent, the room was clean and comfortable, and the location cannot be beat.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AuditMan001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Everyone is extra nice and helpful. Management is awesome! The beds are very comfy. Rooms are extra clean and the suites are more then suitable for entertaining. I live in Houston and I try to stay at the magnolia every chance I get. I feel like the prices are so reasonable for all of the hotels amenities. If you like to hang out and party the Magnolia is in the heart of downtown Houston where there are many options around in walking distance for food and fun. However, the hotel has great food and drinks located on the 2nd floor. I would recommend The Magnolia Hotel to anyone, I hope you enjoy The Magnolia as much as I do.

Room Tip: The beds are very comfy. Rooms are extra clean and the suites are more then suitable for entertainin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kendra W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnson City, Tennessee
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

It is a nice place to stay, if you want to be in Houston downtown. The room is small, but clean. The bathroom is very good, with clean and large tub.The only thing is that everything is slower than what you would prefer. Everyone is nice and friendly; however, it took a long time for me to have someone showing up at my table to get my order for lunch and then it took a long time to have it. The valet parking is very nice, but again slow. Nevertheless, it is a good place to stay for business, if you have don't mind the slow service.

Room Tip: The service is very slow
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RKR2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Texas, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

Attended a business function downtown and stayed the night at the Magnolia. My second stay in this hotel. Had a magnificent suite with fantastic views of downtown. The room was great including a full kitchen, dining and living areas. Bed was very comfortable and absolutely no outside noise during the night. Staff was very courteous and breakfast from room service was top notch. Highly recommend this hotel and already have to others. Additionally, location is extremely convenient to many venues in the downtown area.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Guy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
63 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

We went to the Paul McCartney concert last night, and although we only live 30 miles away from downtown Houston, my husband didn't want to fight the traffic afterwards (or before), so booked us into the Magnolia for the night.

Boy, am I glad that he did.

It's in easy walking distance to Minute Maid Park, where Sir Paul was playing, and walking was MUCH quicker than driving in the hours preceding the concert, so we just valet parked our vehicle. When we checked in, and when we left, it was obvious that many, many of the clientele were concert attendees.

Afterwards, everyone had a huge buzz from such an outstanding event, and most of us were coming back to the hotel around midnight. Many others would be out partying afterwards. We were worried that things would be very noisy into the small hours, and that we wouldn't be able to sleep.

Not so! We realized that the hallways have been fitted with noise-muffling carpet, etc. We heard NOTHING all night from other guests - we could have been the only ones there.

Our room was beautifully decorated, with super comfy bed, and elegant bathroom. The quality of the bathroom products - shampoo/soaps/lotion, etc. is outstanding. We also loved the garden tubs in the bathroom.

In the morning, we enjoyed their breakfast buffet - truly outstanding. They had bacon, eggs, sausage, a huge variety of breads, including croissants, marble bread, a really tasty banana nut bread type thing, plus waffles, oatmeal, all kinds of cereal, many different varieties of fruit and juice, upscale yoghurt, and possibly other stuff I'm forgetting.

Everything was SPOTLESSLY clean, and the staff were outstanding.

When we left, were able to pick up the newspaper too!

LOVED it!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bellecreekdogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Houston hotels
Downtown
The Lancaster
The Lancaster
#1 of 488 in Houston
4.5 of 5 stars 1,031 reviews
Downtown
Hotel ICON, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel ZaZa Houston
#7 of 488 in Houston
4.5 of 5 stars 1,426 reviews
Downtown
Embassy Suites by Hilton Houston Downtown
Downtown
JW Marriott Houston Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Magnolia Hotel Houston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magnolia Hotel Houston

Property: Magnolia Hotel Houston
Address: 1100 Texas Avenue, Houston, TX 77002
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Houston
#9 Luxury Hotel in Houston
#13 Family Hotel in Houston
#16 Business Hotel in Houston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Magnolia Hotel Houston 4*
Number of rooms: 314
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This boutique hotel in downtown Houston, Texas offers accommodations for leisure travel and extended stay guests, as well as space for meetings, wedding receptions, conferences, and special events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Otel and Jetsetter so you can book your Magnolia Hotel Houston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Houston Magnolia Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing