We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic experience, so glad we did this” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Magnolia Hotel Houston

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Magnolia Hotel Houston
Ranked #20 of 501 Hotels in Houston
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
62 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Fantastic experience, so glad we did this”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2012

We went to the Paul McCartney concert last night, and although we only live 30 miles away from downtown Houston, my husband didn't want to fight the traffic afterwards (or before), so booked us into the Magnolia for the night.

Boy, am I glad that he did.

It's in easy walking distance to Minute Maid Park, where Sir Paul was playing, and walking was MUCH quicker than driving in the hours preceding the concert, so we just valet parked our vehicle. When we checked in, and when we left, it was obvious that many, many of the clientele were concert attendees.

Afterwards, everyone had a huge buzz from such an outstanding event, and most of us were coming back to the hotel around midnight. Many others would be out partying afterwards. We were worried that things would be very noisy into the small hours, and that we wouldn't be able to sleep.

Not so! We realized that the hallways have been fitted with noise-muffling carpet, etc. We heard NOTHING all night from other guests - we could have been the only ones there.

Our room was beautifully decorated, with super comfy bed, and elegant bathroom. The quality of the bathroom products - shampoo/soaps/lotion, etc. is outstanding. We also loved the garden tubs in the bathroom.

In the morning, we enjoyed their breakfast buffet - truly outstanding. They had bacon, eggs, sausage, a huge variety of breads, including croissants, marble bread, a really tasty banana nut bread type thing, plus waffles, oatmeal, all kinds of cereal, many different varieties of fruit and juice, upscale yoghurt, and possibly other stuff I'm forgetting.

Everything was SPOTLESSLY clean, and the staff were outstanding.

When we left, were able to pick up the newspaper too!

LOVED it!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bellecreekdogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,750 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,696
    733
    199
    66
    56
See reviews for
413
965
195
805
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (383)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2012

I was given a choice of two hotels to stay at as a guest at a wedding. I am really glad I chose the Magnolia. The service was incredible - they even drove us to the wedding and picked us up from the reception in their shuttle! The room was very (very!) clean and had everything we needed. They even delivered cookies to the room while we were at the reception. Everything about this hotel is first class. I would highly recommend it!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TSJ960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Woodlands, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2012

This hotel is cool. It's in a historical building. Lobby is cool, rooms are nice- not wow. The thing I found odd is how dirty the place was. The halls had food crumbs on them. The bar are was the same. The hotel lobby was awesome but really smelled from the deli out front so the lobby smelled like burning pizza. The furniture in our room was scratched up and looked very worn. The nightstand had dried food on the side next to the chair and ottoman. Perhaps magnolia needs to spend more on housekeeping.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank headshaver77382
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2012

Great service. Great rooms. Lots of nice little perks such as happy hours, a free shuttle service around downtown, breakfast, and milk and cookies. The staff is courteous, knowledgeable and helpful. I will stay here again when I'm in Houston.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ajitav M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Hill, Texas, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2012

Was there for a wedding and reception at the hotel adjacent to Magnolia. Top notch all the way! The bed and linens were very comfortable and the the staff could not have been any friendlier and helpful. I love the fact that they have the free happy hour, the cookies and milk and the great breakfast, all complimentary. I would stay at Magnolia again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cathy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
36 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2012

I've stayed at the Magnolia Hotel in Houston, TX prior to this stay and have never been disappointed. The hotel is located in downtown Houston. For this stay, my girlfriends and I were in town for the Color Run! We chose this hotel for the location. We took advantage of the complimentary drinks in the evening and the milk and cookies before bed time! Check in was a breeze, the room was nice. However, the only negative thing about our stay was when we arrived, there was a glass, forks, and napkins outside our room. It was NEVER picked up during our stay which leads me to believe that non of the staff made a clean sweep within the 24 hours we were there. That was disappointing to say the least. Overall, it was a good stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank grayfish4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2012

We stayed at this hotel during a recent conference at the GRB Convention center. Hotel staff was friendly, the room extra comfortable and remarkably quiet for a downtown location. The welcoming glass of wine after a full day of conference activities was very welcome, and the valet staff was helpful and shared advice on getting around and evening activities. We now have a new preferred hotel when travelling to downtown Houston.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Meg R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Houston hotels
Downtown
Hotel ICON, Autograph Collection
Downtown
The Lancaster
The Lancaster
#1 of 501 in Houston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,331 reviews
Downtown
The Whitehall Houston
The Whitehall Houston
#4 of 501 in Houston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
JW Marriott Houston Downtown
Hotel ZaZa Houston
#5 of 501 in Houston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,594 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Magnolia Hotel Houston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magnolia Hotel Houston

Property: Magnolia Hotel Houston
Address: 1100 Texas St, Houston, TX 77002-3114
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Houston
#13 Family Hotel in Houston
#13 Luxury Hotel in Houston
#16 Business Hotel in Houston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Magnolia Hotel Houston 4*
Number of rooms: 314
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This boutique hotel in downtown Houston, Texas offers accommodations for leisure travel and extended stay guests, as well as space for meetings, wedding receptions, conferences, and special events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Magnolia Hotel Houston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Houston Magnolia Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing