We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to visit”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Magnolia Hotel Houston
Ranked #33 of 517 Hotels in Houston
Certificate of Excellence
Calgary, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great place to visit”
Reviewed September 28, 2012

Fantastic hotel with a swimming pool, hot tub, and sauna on the roof. Lots of conference rooms; perfect for hosting corporate events. Food service was excellent with an open floor plan. The first floor lobby seemed to have an odor from time to time near the elevators.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ryan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,805 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,712
    756
    209
    70
    58
See reviews for
421
983
197
825
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (394)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

This hotel actually spoilt us, attention to detail and one of the best nights sleep we've ever had. Excellent facilities and all the staff couldn't help enough. Would stay here every might if we could.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ceri M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
1 review
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Pros: Comfy beds, yummy cookies, great breakfast buffet, friendly staff, clean, quiet, library on the 2nd floor

Cons: Pricey valet, a bit of a weird smell in the lobby, & the pool area closes early

We totally plan to stay here again!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angela B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 24, 2012

This hotel was really nice; my only complaints were that we noticed the lobby had an weird odor every time we walked through. Also, the valet was really backed up; seemed like everyone was arriving to check-in for a wedding that night and they seemed behind or understaffed. The hotel staff however were very curteous and the rooms were very nice. I did not get breakfast the next day but someone I was traveling with did, & they said it was the best scrambled eggs they've ever had. I would stay here again next time I came to Houston, however I would not be opposed to staying somewhere else if I got a better deal.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sheila m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
256 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Stayed here in September 2010 during a weekend roadtrip visit to Texas. Great central location and well placed to explore the city. Fantastic room which overlooked Minute Maid Park, home of the Astros baseball team. We could actually see into the stadium when the roof was open. The hotel has a handy pool on the roof which is good for cooling off in after a day out. There is also a jacuzzi. The bed was very comfortable and the pillows were great. I think it was close to being more comfortable than our bed at home and we've never been anywhere that we could say that about. Didn't eat in the restaurant so can't comment on the food but I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adrian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2012

I took a group of about 20 business owner to this hotel on September 20-21, 2012. The staff was great to work with. Everything we asked for was done with a high level of service. The only "downer" was that the AV company they outsource wanted what we thought was an outrageous price to rent a projector for a day and a half (over $1, 200 to rent in order to project in a small room). Needless to say, we got our own projector, which was a bit of a hassle.

But the hotel itself was very accomodating to us.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BenGlassLaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2012

Everytime I am in Houston, I hear some locals rave about this 'boutique' hotel. I think their impressions are outdated, the hotel may have been great in the past but it is dated now.

Let's start with the check-in. I arrived at 2pm+ and only got a room at 4pm+. The message shared with me is "the rooms are being cleaned". Cleaned for 2 hours? Later I hear from others that the real story is, the computer has broken down and nobody knows which room is avaiable!?!?

However, the problems at check-in is not the reason for this Terrible rating. The rating is due to:
- Room carpet and window drapes are dustry.
- Room furniture is old
- Shower has low water pressure. Water temperature is slow to slow to change.
- There is this mild sewage stench in a part of the lobby, you can smell it as you are exiting the lifts.
- Room service selection and good quality are poor.
- I took the stairs from ground level to first level where the breakfast/bar area is. Besides me taking the stairs, the cockroaches were too! If it is so easy to run into some cockroaches, they must be all over!

Only plus I can think of are the folks helping with the luggages. They are friendly and hardworking!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank savonarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Houston hotels
Downtown
Hotel ICON, Autograph Collection
Downtown
The Lancaster
The Lancaster
#1 of 517 in Houston
1,488 reviews
Downtown
JW Marriott Houston Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Club Quarters Hotel in Houston
Downtown
The Whitehall Houston
The Whitehall Houston
#5 of 517 in Houston
456 reviews
Downtown
The Westin Houston Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Magnolia Hotel Houston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magnolia Hotel Houston

Property: Magnolia Hotel Houston
Address: 1100 Texas St, Houston, TX 77002-3114
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Houston
#13 Family Hotel in Houston
#16 Business Hotel in Houston
#18 Luxury Hotel in Houston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Magnolia Hotel Houston 4*
Number of rooms: 314
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This boutique hotel in downtown Houston, Texas offers accommodations for leisure travel and extended stay guests, as well as space for meetings, wedding receptions, conferences, and special events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Starwood, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Magnolia Hotel Houston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Houston Magnolia Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing