We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really great”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Magnolia Hotel Houston
Ranked #30 of 511 Hotels in Houston
Certificate of Excellence
Calgary
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Really great”
Reviewed November 6, 2007

Stayed at the Magnolia when in town for the 2007 Quilt Festival. It's a pleasant 10 min walk to the George Brown Convention Centre - you are back in your room while everyone else is still waiting for the hotel shuttles! We got an awesome price through the hotel website and thought it excellent value what with the free breakfast, free happy hour and free milk & cookies! The staff were all very friendly and helpful, although the Magnolia Club restaurant service was very slow. The beds and bedding were very comfortable and the hotel quiet - could not hear any traffic noise at all. We (2 ladies) felt very safe in downtown Houston around the hotel at all times and walked everywhere. Had several good meals at Sambuca Jazz restaurant, which is a block away. Would not hesitate to stay there again

  • Liked — quiet sophisticated atmosphere
  • Disliked — weird bathroom door that blocked the entrance to the toilet until you shuffled around it
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank trubrit7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,798 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,710
    753
    208
    70
    57
See reviews for
420
981
197
823
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (393)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, TX
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2007

Pros: King Deluxe room was very clean and had plenty of space with work desk and single sofa. Bedding was very comfortable. Bathroom had a big garden tub with marble tiles. Lobby and dining areas were nicely decorated. Free continental breakfast. 1 block away from bars and clubs in Downtown.

Cons: Few free parking spots on the street, valet parking available, parking garage is $6/day but not conneted to hotel. Toilet was clogged.

  • Liked — Bedding and bathroom and decor
  • Disliked — parking
  • Stayed September 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bi9guns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, TX
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2007

This is our third stay at the Magnolia in Houston and all three stays have been consistently pleasant. The trick is to stay here only if they have a special rate going on to make it a bargain. All three times, I have been able to find rates ranging between $99 - $113 before tax. I don't think, however, I would like to spend more than $125 to stay there.

I'll get the worst part out of the way first:
1) the omnipresent $5.50 bottles of water sitting prominently on every counter was offensive,
2) valet parking at $24/day is outrageous for a downtown hotel where parking lots are plenty.
3) roof top pool that looks lush and luxurious on the hotel web site is quite puny

Other than these points, everything was up to par: wonderful linens, good furnishings, amazing sound proofing, great downtown views from top floors (be sure to request a high floor), stylish lobby, cookies and milk at night, adequate continental breakfast, good service. The pillows (sorry, a pet peeve of mine) could have been a little better but I might be the only one who cares. The bathtub was huge enough for two to fit comfortably. The free wireless was a plus as well.

If you do decide to stay here, check directly with the hotel web site for internet specials, park your car on the street before the downtown clubbers use up all the free spots, go to the pool after everyone else has gone to bed, and, be sure to not even touch those pricey bottles of water.

  • Liked — Downtown views and the huge bathtub
  • Disliked — Valet parking fee
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank serrita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maineville, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2007

I was in town for a girlfriends wedding and shared a room at the Magnolia with an old friend. On the 2nd day there we left for 2 hours to go to the wedding. We came back and our room had been cleaned and my roommates cell phone STOLEN from the room. Yes, I said STOLEN FROM THE ROOM! The hotel staff was apologetic, but would NOTHING about it. They said they were not liable for things left in the room. It was a nightmare! You are better off staying in the crackhouse down the road.

  • Stayed July 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank amaccy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MagnoliaHotels, Director of Public Relations at Magnolia Hotel Houston, responded to this review, July 26, 2007
Thank you for your feedback, we are disappointed to read your posting and hear that you believe you misplaced your cell phone on our property. There is no way of confirming that your cell phone was indeed stolen by anyone at our hotel or whether you misplaced it while it was in your possession. We filed a report with lost and found, and because of our high-tech key-card access, we know each and every person/department (maintenance, housekeeping, etc) who has been in your room during any specified time period. We recognize that the safekeeping of our guests’ valuables is highly important, and that is why we provide in-room safes as a courtesy to our guests. We encourage all of our guests to use the safe if they have any concerns regarding the safekeeping of their belongings. Our hotel is one of the finest hotels in Houston and we pride ourselves in our exceptional service and security, not to mention amazing upscale contemporary décor and amenities. We have hosted numerous celebrities and dignitaries and uphold all of our staff to only the highest levels of customer service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brooklyn, ny
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2007

My husband and I stayed here for a night this past weekend. We didn't get to see too much of the hotel since the baseball game we attended went 17 innings! Overall thought this was a nice value and we're sorry we couldn't take advantage of some of the amenities like the rooftop pool and milk and cookies hour. We did love getting a copy of the Sunday New York Times the next morning.

The cons: really inferior house-label bath products, including a hand soap that left behind a slick film that you could not scrub off; displaying a bottle of water like it's complimentary, only to then notice the little hang tag with the $5.50 price; the sink in our bathroom was set a little too far back; the valet parking. Don't bother with the latter. For our Friday stay we paid $10 to park the car 2 blocks from the ballpark (this proximity despite a torrential downpour 30 minutes before the start of the game). We considered leaving the car there overnight, but the traffic cop advised us against it, which was no problem since we found free street parking a block away.

  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank youthlarge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2007

Stayed at the Magnolia 6/12-6/15. The room was very nice. ..looks new....a great size, good working space in room (desk with built-in electric plugs, lamp, wired broadband, comfortable chair). Bed was very comfortable, A/C worked great ....very nice bathroom .. no complaints.

Rate included Continental Breakfast (very good food), NY Times delivered to room every morning, happy hour (great deal) in bar 5-7 each night and cookies and milk every night for free in the lounge.

Location is very convenient for Downtown offices ---walking distance to most. Neighborhood looks iffy but there are several places outside the hotel on Main St if you've had enough of the food (good quality but a little expensive) in the hotel.

All in all, a very nice place to stay

  • Stayed June 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank MBAX01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2007

I stayed at the Magnolia June 18-21, on government rate for business. Magnolia was not my first choice, but I'm glad I ended up there!
The rooms were very nice - bed was extra-comfortable, bathroom well-appointed with large garden tub/shower, excellent toiletries, hair dryer. The towels were clean and in good condition. The bath towels were a little small. The room had a small coffee pot and packets of Starbucks coffee. The mini-bar was stocked with the usual over-priced items that I did not use.
High speed wired internet (free) was excellent and never faltered during the three days I was there.
The check-in took less than 5 minutes and front desk personnel and bellmen were friendly and efficient. The lobby was clean and nicely decorated. A small gift shop was attached to the lobby and had a small supply of "emergency" items that were way overpriced.
I ate from room service twice and the service was very fast. Since I had a sandwich both times, this may have speeded up the process. The prices were high, but not unusual for a full-service hotel.
Although I did not use the pool or exercise room, I did look at both and they seemed adequate.
The Magnolia Club was a bit of a disappointment, as no one seemed to be around to greet guests. It wasn't until I was checking out and mentioned to the bellman that an on-site restaurant would be nice that I found out I could have eaten any of the three meals at the Magnolia Club. The free continental breakfast was pretty pathetic, but ok for me as I had yogurt and a muffin, with a banana "to go". A breakfast buffet was available for about $11, but signage was unclear and no waitstaff was in evidence at first. When a waiter did appear, he ignored me and another single woman and catered to the businessmen in the room. (Psst - guess what Magnolia - women do travel on business and we usually tip better!)
The Houston weather was the normal humidity, rain and heat. Free van service from the hotel to downtown locations was great and prompt.
Overall, I would stay at The Magnolia Hotel again. There was one incident of three inebriated guests in the room next to me who were extremely loud at 2 AM. I called the front desk and the response was swift and effective - good job!

  • Liked — Tasteful and classy place to stay
  • Disliked — Signage and attitude in Magnolia Club
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Lauri101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Houston hotels
Downtown
Hotel ICON, Autograph Collection
Downtown
The Lancaster
The Lancaster
#1 of 511 in Houston
1,468 reviews
Downtown
JW Marriott Houston Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Club Quarters Hotel in Houston
Downtown
The Whitehall Houston
The Whitehall Houston
#5 of 511 in Houston
428 reviews
Downtown
The Westin Houston Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Magnolia Hotel Houston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magnolia Hotel Houston

Property: Magnolia Hotel Houston
Address: 1100 Texas St, Houston, TX 77002-3114
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Houston
#13 Family Hotel in Houston
#16 Business Hotel in Houston
#16 Luxury Hotel in Houston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Magnolia Hotel Houston 4*
Number of rooms: 314
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This boutique hotel in downtown Houston, Texas offers accommodations for leisure travel and extended stay guests, as well as space for meetings, wedding receptions, conferences, and special events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Magnolia Hotel Houston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Houston Magnolia Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing