We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great historical terminal”

1940 Air Terminal Museum
Ranked #40 of 298 things to do in Houston
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
54 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great historical terminal”
Reviewed November 25, 2013

I was very impressed with the work that has been done to restore this airport. It was great seeing the artifacts from the early flights from the old airport. It is well worth the time and money.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank jspringertx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    41
    5
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Texas
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Houston Air Terminal”
Reviewed November 25, 2013

Great side trip in town. Its kind of like stepping back in time. $5.00 is a deal to get in. If your into local history and aviation, its worth your time. Staff is friendly and knowledgeable.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank daddydog60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Informative museum”
Reviewed October 23, 2013 via mobile

I'm a Houstonian looking to learn more about the city I was born and raised in.

Beautiful Art Deco building with very informative museum inside. Museum focuses on history of aviation in the area surrounding the airport. Neat artifacts are peppered throughout.

Super friendly and knowledgable volunteers plus it's only $5 for adults!

Helpful?
2 Thank GmzTX
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Completely hidden peice of history”
Reviewed September 27, 2013 via mobile

I biked out to this airport from central Houston as part of the 60 mile "Tour de Houston" annual ride. This old airport was a surprise for me. It felt like I was in the "Catch Me If You Can" movie.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Dustin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas, United States
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Personalized Plane Tour”
Reviewed August 28, 2013

Great piece of Houston history for only $5/person. A good outing to try before or after lunch. The staff is friendly and informative. Ask to check out the plane hanger for a personalized tour of a beautiful private plane and the flight simulators!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Rebekah K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 1940 Air Terminal Museum also viewed

Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to 1940 Air Terminal Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing