We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Terrible! Terrible!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Sam Houston, Curio Collection by Hilton
Ranked #78 of 504 Hotels in Houston
Tustin, California
Level Contributor
274 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Terrible! Terrible!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2014

This hotel had problems before we got there. The person who answered the phone gave us wrong information, subtracted $10 from the actual valet price. Then, they gave our family(four people) a room for 2 people!They didn't do anything about it!Room service and the ONE restraunt have no vegetarian options, we are vegetarians. Then, we were woken up at 4 o'clock in the morning, by a very annoying recording for a fire, we walked ten floors down, and then we found out-a drunk lady pulled the fire alarm! Terrible! For an hour, the annoying fire recording rang, but then the Fire department came, one of the worst nights of my life! We checked out this morning. I WILL NEVER GO BACK!! If you're smart, don't go to the Sam Houston hotel!

Room Tip: Go to the Four Seasons, Royal Sonesta or Sheraton/Hilton!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lord H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick M, General Manager at The Sam Houston, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Thank you for the feedback and I apologize for the unfortunate circumstances surrounding your stay. I would love to get more specific information about your issues so that we can follow up internally to improve. Please email me at your convenience so that we can setup a time to speak.

Thank you,
Nick Massad
General Manager
nick.massad@thesamhoustonhotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

433 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    198
    112
    58
    37
    28
See reviews for
62
123
30
157
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Shreveport, LA
Level Contributor
124 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2014 via mobile

Feb 10 Sewer smell detracts from beautiful room with Very comfortable bed. We have no complaints except for the smell. Very nice staff. The people on the street late at night are a little spooky. Make sure you use valet parking. Lots of great restaurants nearby.

Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Seisman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick M, General Manager at The Sam Houston, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this review, February 12, 2014
Thank you for your recent stay and for your great feedback about the hotel and our wonderful staff. I apologize that we were working on plumbing repairs while you were here. Fortunately we're almost complete with the work, so your next visit should be perfect!

Please let us know when you're headed back to downtown Houston...there are some great events scheduled for the next few months as the weather warms up a bit! Perfect time to try more of the great restaurants and bars and parks close to the hotel!

Best,
Nick Massad
General Manager
nick.massad@thesamhoustonhotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlothian, Texas
Level Contributor
44 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2014

The Sam Houston is a very nice place to go to do business or even to just hang out. I am not a huge fan of Houston and this hotel has made me happy about being here. Yeah... there used to be a sewerage smell but it is resolved. The hotel is more than 100 years old... give em a break. My favorite part of this place is Olena... one of the front desk agents. She is tremendously helpful and frankly she is a beautiful person. These folks made 25 copies of an 11 page document at the last minute... What more can I say?? My one complaint about The Sam is that I ordered eggs benedict and they were quit lemony and acidic. I love this place!

Room Tip: stay on the 10th floor facing west
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ineedrthelp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick M, General Manager at The Sam Houston, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this review, February 12, 2014
Thanks for staying with us recently and I'm very glad you enjoyed The Sam. I will ensure Olena and all of our staff reads your praises, and we look forward to seeing you again soon!

Please let us know when you plan your next trip to downtown Houston!

Warmest regards,

Nick Massad
General Manager
nick.massad@thesamhoustonhotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norman, Oklahoma
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2014

I stayed at The Sam the 5th-8th of February 2014. I was in town for an expo at the convention center. The positives first: My heater didn't work and this was a very cold week in Houston, the repairman showed quickly and repaired it in under 15 minutes. Next, the staff was very friendly. However, the negatives definitely canceled out the positives! First, the hotel lobby smelled really badly of sewage. Once my heater was repaired, the stench of the sewage started radiating into my room. The next day, there was no escaping it, the foul odor filled the entire hotel. The next day even though I was gone from my room nearly the entire day, room service never came to my room. Next, since room service skipped my room I only had one towel, that I thought was a fresh towel until I unfolded it from the rack and saw what appeared to be feces smeared all over one corner. I took it to the front desk and all the clerk did was say he'd notify housekeeping of the problem. Lastly, housekeeping did clean my room the last day; however, they neglected to leave any clean towels. I typically blow off any small problems, we're all human and I don't expect things to be perfect but when you select a nice hotel, you expect few problems. I will definitely never stay at The Sam again!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Toby17212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick M, General Manager at The Sam Houston, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this review, February 12, 2014
Toby,

Thank you so much for your feedback, and I sincerely apologize for not meeting your expectations on your recent stay. The Sam has undergone renovations over the last year, and fortunately we are nearing the end of our work. However, in working on the building we have discovered many necessary plumbing repairs and are working with one of the city's best contractors to repair the issues. I'm sure that before your next trip to Houston we will have everything completed.

I'd like to invite you back for a complimentary stay on your next visit. Please contact me directly and I will personally assist you.

Thank you,
Nick Massad
General Manager
nick.massad@thesamhoustonhotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
austin, texas
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2014

It smells. Real bad. Lobby. Hallways. Rooms okay.

Apparently, this issue is persisting. See previous reviews by others. Otherwise the hotel is very nice. The reviewer recommends calling ahead for information about the resolution of this problem.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank V-ger128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, CO
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2014

The place smells like raw sewage, it's disgusting. The smell is strongest in the lobby & permeates the halls. It is not as strong in the room but still present. Based on the smell alone I would never stay here again. If you have reservations here cancel them. I can't believe it is legal to rent rooms that smell like sewage. Additionally the staff could not more apathetic, slow & rude. Maybe the sewage has gone to their heads.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CoSkier100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2014

The Sam Houston Hotel was so kind. We had 2 separate reservations because we decided at the last moment to go a day early. The made sure that we were able to stay in the same room, without having to check out and back in again. They also knew it was my birthday and they gave me a lovely gift! We really appreciated having the free car service. Even though we drove, it was great not to have to drive around the city and find a place to park for each place. They even picked us up after the opera. This will be our hotel every time we go to Houston.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Houston hotels
Downtown
Club Quarters Hotel in Houston
Downtown
The Westin Houston Downtown
Downtown
Aloft Houston Downtown
Aloft Houston Downtown
#222 of 504 in Houston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Homewood Suites by Hilton Houston Downtown
Downtown
Hotel ICON, Autograph Collection
Downtown
Magnolia Hotel Houston
Magnolia Hotel Houston
#22 of 504 in Houston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,760 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sam Houston, Curio Collection by Hilton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sam Houston, Curio Collection by Hilton

Property: The Sam Houston, Curio Collection by Hilton
Address: 1117 Prairie St, Houston, TX 77002-3118 (Formerly Alden Houston)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Luxury Hotel in Houston
#56 Romantic Hotel in Houston
#78 Family Hotel in Houston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Sam Houston, Curio Collection by Hilton 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sam Houston Hotel, first opened in 1924, has completed a complete renovation in the Spring of 2013. A perfect mixture of contemporary design and Texas culture, The Sam meets all of your business or leisure needs. Each of The Sam's spacious rooms come equipped with the latest conveniences, such as LED TVs, WiFi with up to 20mb of bandwidth, and Keurig coffee makers. Our hotel is ideally located downtown in the central business district, walking distance to all major event venues, restaurants/bars, and the Metro light rail. A truly Houston boutique hotel, the new Sam Houston Hotel is one-of-a-kind. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Jetsetter and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Sam Houston, Curio Collection by Hilton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alden-Houston Hotel Houston
Houston Alden Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing