We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good experience and value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Sam Houston, Curio Collection by Hilton
Ranked #66 of 517 Hotels in Houston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 4, 2013

Overall very good value for the money. In Houston for a quick business trip - I had a rental car and had a little trouble finding the hotel at night in this somewhat seedy part of downtown. The employees are engaged, attentive and worthy of a 5 state hotel. High quality (albeit small) breakfast buffet. What prevents me from rating this as a 5 star are a few little things: (1) no hand soap in the bathroom - I had to call down and then it was immediately brought up; (2) the sewer smell in the lobby; (3) valet parking ticket requested that I text them to get my car, but that sstem was not working; (4) minibar or ability to purchase snacks / candy in the lobby would be nice - this is not a neighborhood in which I would feel comfortable wandering outside and looking for an open convenience store after dark. Would stay there again for the right price, but all things being equal, will look for a hotel in a better neighborhood.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PaxMundi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (495)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

436 - 442 of 495 reviews

Reviewed September 30, 2013

Great value. Hotel seems recently remodeled/decorated. Had a nice room w/view of Minute Maid Park & downtown. Very clean modern style room with great linens. Package included a bucket of beer (any), appetizer (any) & free valet. Hotel staff was great also. Only suggestion I have is to add a mini fridge & microwave to the room as there are few restaurants open after an evening game.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Judith H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2013

Stayed at the Sam Houston Sept 21st weekend. Cute hotel in a area of town that needs much improvment, but thats fine. My first impression was the ever lasting smell of sewer in the Lobby, this smell never left. Other than that, the hotel is very nice and the staff are quite nice, the rooms are nicely renovated. My only real problem came with a 'mysterious' charge of $13 on my credit card bill, separate from my regular room charges. The Hotel insisted that they had 'no record of this charge' and to proceed with this with my credit card company. My CC company told me that the hotel should have some record of the charge and that they should be able to resolve the issue. I forwarded this info back to the hotel, and have still to hear any type of reply to my problem.
I have occasionally seen hotels submit 'fake' charges to friends of mine in an attempt to 'sneak' some extra dollars out of their visit. This can easily slide through the cracks when travelling on business. I guess I should assume that The Sam Houston Hotel has done this to me.
My stay was good overall, but this petty fake charge is unacceptable!!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick M, General Manager at The Sam Houston, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded September 28, 2013

Paul,

Thank you for staying with us recently! I'm so very sorry for the mysterious charge on your credit card. Please email me directly at nick.massad@thesamhoustonhotel.com and I will personally handle for you. Glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to your email!

Nick Massad III
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

Front desk personnel were very accomidating and great to work with. Valet parking service was good every time we ask for our auto. Room was clean and bed was very comfortable. Lighting in bath was not great and breakfast was slow even though there were only three tables with people. Will stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bic740
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

May partner and I celebrated our 10th anniversary at this hotel and the service and hospitality was amazing. From the minute we pulled up to the hotel and were greeted by the bell and valet staff to being taken care of at the front desk was fantastic. The hotel is pet friendly and the entire staff treated our two English Bulldogs like they were royalty from having treats for them waiting in the room to asking if the dogs needed to be walked. The service was top notch! The extras with flowers in the room made it very specialThe hotel is very gay friendly and truly made our anniversary very memorable....Make sure you speak with the concierge, Julia....she is a true professional and wonderful to work with.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FrankieC52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2013

Convenient for an event in the city. The front desk personnel were very accommodating, and the room was clean and comfortable, with a great view of Minute Maid Park. I left something behind, and the desk clerk was extremely helpful in finding it.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lacey160
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2013

I had purchased a Living Social coupon to use at the Sam. I called the toll free number to make reservation and was told "we have no rooms". I checked the website and there WERE rooms available. I called the hotel and was told the same thing even when I explained the website showed YES. I called back later and a gentleman named Steve cleared the confusion and got the reservation set up. Thank you STEVE. It is valet parking only so expect 30 dollars a night for that. After you step over the old "SAM HOUSTON HOTEL" in tile, all the historic hotel is gone. Ultra modern desk and lobby. The one time mural depicting history of the area is a light wall that changes colors. Bottom floor has a bar and restaurant. Our "view" was the other side of the hotel and the parking lot so nothing special. The one window in the room has a draw shade that blocks NO LIGHT. Basically, you sleep in light and get ready for the sun... no way to block it. Also, no privacy with the shade either. Bathroom was ultra modern with an oversized shower, sink had raised bowl, lots of glass. Bed was great, different kinds of pillows gave you a nice choice. It was our anniversary and we were surprised with a treat from Julia. Thanks, JULIA!! We ordered room service the next morning for breakfast. I would recommend going out for breakfast. I told the desk to tell the chef to read up on Paula Deen's breakfast recipes. It would help a lot. Check out and car valet was quick. Keep your eyes open... homeless people hang around and beg for money and it was scary to try to get in the car quickly.

Room Tip: Ask which is better for a view of Houston.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank txfrmgrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick M, General Manager at The Sam Houston, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded September 14, 2013

Thank you so much for staying with us recently! I apologize for the availability issue when you made your reservation - our Living Social promotion has been extremely popular and we have a limited number of rooms devoted to it each night. Steve and Julia will be glad to receive your praises! And we'll pass along your suggestion to the Chef!

thanks again!
Nick Massad
nick.massad@thesamhoustonhotel.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Houston hotels
Downtown
Club Quarters Hotel in Houston
Downtown
Magnolia Hotel Houston
Magnolia Hotel Houston
#34 of 517 in Houston
2,822 reviews
Downtown
Hotel ICON, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hampton Inn Houston Downtown
Downtown
The Westin Houston Downtown
Downtown
Homewood Suites by Hilton Houston Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sam Houston, Curio Collection by Hilton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sam Houston, Curio Collection by Hilton

Address: 1117 Prairie Street, Houston, TX 77002-3118 (Formerly Alden Houston)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Luxury Hotel in Houston
#56 Romantic Hotel in Houston
#78 Family Hotel in Houston
Price Range: $135 - $329 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Sam Houston, Curio Collection by Hilton 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sam Houston Hotel, first opened in 1924, has completed a complete renovation in the Spring of 2013. A perfect mixture of contemporary design and Texas culture, The Sam meets all of your business or leisure needs. Each of The Sam's spacious rooms come equipped with the latest conveniences, such as LED TVs, WiFi with up to 20mb of bandwidth, and Keurig coffee makers. Our hotel is ideally located downtown in the central business district, walking distance to all major event venues, restaurants/bars, and the Metro light rail. A truly Houston boutique hotel, the new Sam Houston Hotel is one-of-a-kind. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your The Sam Houston, Curio Collection by Hilton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alden-Houston Hotel Houston
Houston Alden Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing