We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best in Houston”
Review of Artisans

Artisans
Reserve with OpenTable
Artisans is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #34 of 8,206 Restaurants in Houston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Stuart
Houston, TX
Level Contributor
45 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“One of the best in Houston”
Reviewed March 24, 2014 via mobile

I have eaten at Artisan's several times since the second month it was open. The food is very good and the consistency is terrific. It has a very nice fairly modern French menu, an interesting and affordable wine list and the service is attentive but low key. Ask to sit at the chef's counter - a very large semi circular counter that seats around 30 and surrounds the kitchen - hence the name since you get to see the artisans at work. This has become one of my favorite restaurants in Houston and everyone I have introduced to it agrees that it is one of the best in the city.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank wineandfoodfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    130
    35
    12
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sandbach, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“What a find....amazing!”
Reviewed March 22, 2014

My friend and I were recommended this Downtown Houston french restaurant and we were not to be disappointed .The staff are friendly and make you feel so welcome from the minute you walk into the restaurant.The french food was just superb...highly recommend the degustation 5 course menu.Super diver scallops ,stem au poivre...even cooked well for me which every chef hates doing!Sitting round the chefs table watching the attention to detail from the chefs made the evening even better.Chef Jacques is great and very proud of his team and what he has achieved...I loved the white varied crockery and thee staff got out every plate and dish to show me...perfect evening and can't wait to go back.Merci Jacques and your great team .Amicalement Susy and Lorraine

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Susy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful nouveau French in Midtown!”
Reviewed March 4, 2014

Artisans is a beautiful space with an open kitchen. Chef Jacques has an amazing menu with something for everyone, from the best sea bass I have ever eaten to perfectly done steak au poivre. Not to be missed are the beautiful desserts as a finale to a perfect meal. Wine menu complements the entrees, and you will be able to find a great bottle here to enjoy as you dine.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank txluvjoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
112 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Try the Business Lunch”
Reviewed February 22, 2014 via mobile

Took four coworkers here for lunch and everyone enjoyed their food. I particularly like the salad with the lemony dressing and carmelized bacon. My friends who had the soup really like it. I can recommend the lobster and risotto. Sea bass and steak are equally good. The desserts are always a treat. There is a free parking garage in the building, on the back side of the restaurant. Valet parking is also available. Look for the valet on the side street.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MsSarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
51 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
Reviewed December 4, 2013

Went here with my wife and another couple. All of the food was delicious, in particular the sea bass and the steak au poivre. I have always liked Le Mistral, which is more traditional in style, but Artisans has a more modern feel, whilst still retaining the best aspects of classical French influence. The open kitchen demonstrates a level of precision in the preparation of the dishes that is rare to see in Houston. This is our current favorite French restaurant in Houston and we will be back soon.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank neville16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Artisans also viewed

Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Artisans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing