We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique food, hip atmosphere”
Review of Uchi

Uchi
Reserve with OpenTable
Uchi is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #7 of 8,206 Restaurants in Houston
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Japanese
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
63 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Unique food, hip atmosphere”
Reviewed March 15, 2013

We arrived a bit early and had some drinks in the outdoor space before heading outside. Great waitstaff, even outside. We had both the more traditional sushi/fish dishes as well as "ham and eggs," with pork belly. They were all delicious. We had 4 people and shared several dishes; nice community feeling. The waitress told us that happy hour has some great deals, so we plan to go back to try it.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bethanyfarns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

708 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    547
    108
    28
    19
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, TX
Level Contributor
48 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Incredible, inventive food.”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Uchi still needs to work on honoring reservations - seated 25 minutes late. However, food, service and ambiance almost made me forget! Brussel sprouts are delicious, pork belly melts in your mouth, pumpkin tempura is perfectly cooked. Overall, visit was great. Highly recommend!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Debbyghouston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
88 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Expectantly Busy but great.”
Reviewed March 13, 2013

This is an interesting restaurant with a young urban and well defined vibe. My husband and I decided to check them out for the first time, inquiring about reservations the day before. They did not have our desired times but that was expected. We decided to wing it and wait for a bar/seating area. Overall, great place and we will return.

Very busy! The bar, table seating, outdoor patio, were all going and all at once. Its nice to see a busy establishment, it is not so nice when you see patrons and employees stressed over the matter. This was not the case here. Employees were upbeat and a system appeared to be in place to handle to customer count. We stood by the bar enjoying the strongest sake combination (no liquor) the bar tender could whip up and waited for a place to sit.

Service: I can sum it up by stating great. The hostess managed to remember us through the crowd and offered updates. A young lady was passing out samples to either everyone or in an effort to keep those waiting content (I believe it was a 2 hour wait...) no complaints here. Service spot on!

Atmosphere: Definitely a younger crowd, perhaps mostly 25-35. Business casual and urban trendy dress was prominent, A weekend night would be a great date place for an energetic couple or small group of friends. Diverse enough for anyone to visit and enjoy themselves.

Food: Very good, once ordered very quick, and once consumed you'd like more! No, we sampled a few different items and they were all good. Presentation was fun and we almost wanted to turn a simple husband/wife date night into a half day excursion. Great place.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Aggs7584
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bastrop, Texas
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Exceeded my expectations!”
Reviewed March 8, 2013

My husband took me here for our 20th anniversary.I loved the small plate options as this allowed us to order a number of things. All the food looked beautiful, and the crunchy tuna roll was delicious!! The atmosphere was so relaxing and the decor was perfect!! Can't wait to go again!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Desiree M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“too greasy and salty for us”
Reviewed March 6, 2013

After reading such wonderful reviews on tripadvisor, we were thrilled to visit Uchi, Houston at their happy hours. We ordered a number of dishes including makimono, spicy crunchy tuna roll, uchiviche, kakiage, yaki imo, brussel sprouts, snow crabs, bacon otoshi. The dishes were all beautifully presented, and the portions were small (mouthful at most). We were surprised that we found most of the dishes to be quite salty, and rather greasy. We were not sure if we had ordered the wrong dishes- many dishes were deep-fried, or made out of very fatty cuts of meat (such as pork belly or bacon). And most dishes sat in flavorful but heavily salted sauces- including the yaki imo, brussel sprouts and snow crabs. Sadly, we have to report this is not one of my Houston favorites. We were glad we tried this restaurant, but will unlikely return.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Poyee T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Uchi also viewed

 
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Uchi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing