We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small bites, but very good sushi.”
Review of Uchi

Uchi
Reserve with OpenTable
Uchi is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #7 of 8,283 Restaurants in Houston
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Japanese
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Houston, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Small bites, but very good sushi.”
Reviewed October 22, 2012

The only place I have found in Houston that carries REAL Asahi black beer. Imported from Japan.(not Canada). Excellent service. Somewhat noisy. Expect a wait on weekends unless you have a reservation. Apparently "in" with the 30's and 40's crowd. Can be expensive.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Erbas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

723 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    559
    110
    28
    20
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Radwell
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Top Notch!”
Reviewed October 21, 2012

I had a brilliant evening at Uchi. We were undecided on what to eat from the menu and so our waiter suggested a selection of dishes that would be selected by the chef. We were not disappointed. What we received was a mix of beautifully presented food dishes of the highest quality. I thoroughly enjoyed the delicate flavors that were thoughtfully brought together for our enjoyment.

The restaurant has a great atmosphere that is buzzing with the energy of staff and guests - It’s not overpowering and you can enjoy and intimate conversation with your partner/friends! Perfect service throughout the evening and all the staff on duty anticipated our needs and seemed genuinely focused on making sure we felt the center of attention.

If you haven’t tried Uchi – you are missing a wonderful dining opportunity in Houston. The restaurant is popular and you need to make reservations well in advance. If you cold call on a Saturday night, expect a long wait for a table!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NearRadwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Atmosphere”
Reviewed October 14, 2012 via mobile

Very good restaurant. Excellent food. Portions are on the smaller side it can get pricy if you are really hungry but it is worth it.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 12sureika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Truly spectacular sushi!”
Reviewed October 11, 2012

Above and beyond my expectations....and I expected a lot! Creative and exciting dishes served by a very knowledgable wait staff. Do yourself a favor and order the tasting menu!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rhonda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
83 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Might be the best meal i ever had...”
Reviewed October 11, 2012

I have to agree with the rest of the reviewers who are raving...this place is seriously AMAZING. Reservations seem to be a must, unless you are just going to chill at the bar, even then you may have a wait. The staff was extremely friendly and very knowledgeable about every single dish. We had our waiter pick all our dishes; he did a short little Q&A with us to be sure of likes/dislikes/allergies and then he was off. Every single thing was delicious, my specific favorite was this layered white fish with some sweetness and a saltiness to balance. I have no idea of any of the names of dishes that we ate, but hands down the experience blew me away. We did have the "peanut butter & jelly" dessert and all i can say is WOW!! The place isn't cheap, and i'm pretty frugal, but it really is worth it. So amazing, i wish i could go every week. Proud to have this in Houston!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lulu4014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Uchi also viewed

 
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Uchi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing