We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst Thai food I have ever had”
Review of Nidda Thai Cuisine

Nidda Thai Cuisine
Ranked #686 of 8,243 Restaurants in Houston
Price range: $10 - $17
Cuisines: Thai
Restaurant details
Texas
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Worst Thai food I have ever had”
Reviewed February 12, 2013

Dont order the Pad Prik Paow. Chinese vegetable stir fry with hastily cut, completely uncooked bell pepper and onion tossed in. Throw in a handful of raw cashews. a few blobs of prik paow sauce, and call it a Thai dish(?) I don't think so. It was also ice cold. Had we not been there with friends I didn't want to embarass I would have had it returned to the kitchen.

Service was more than acceptable as was the atmosphere.

The food was so bad I won't even give them another chance. Won't be back.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TreeHuggerTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    19
    6
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pearland, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Delicious curry!”
Reviewed February 6, 2013 via mobile

Came for lunch. A cool rainy day and they had a complimentary tasty cup of chicken vegetable soup that had a hint of heat. Ordered the Massaman chicken curry and it smelled good. It was a bowl full of thin sliced chicken, onion, and sweet potato. The curry was deeply rich with a little acid ( line juice?) that was smooth and flavorful, not harsh or fiery hot just warm and tasty. The plate also came with a small soft spring roll and peanut sauce which was good. Not expensive, filling and will be coming back. Nice decor, might be a little dark but in a good way it feels warm and comfortable.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank svrwx7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denton
Level 6 Contributor
222 reviews
110 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 252 helpful votes
“Very good Thai!”
Reviewed December 14, 2012

We are two senior ladies who were in Houston visiting a friend who just returned from living in Thailand for the past 7 years. He took us to Nidda's, said it would be very authentic. We each ordered a separate dish, all were delicious, huge portions, and good service.

Two of us like our Thai about 15 on a 1-5 scale, we never get our food hot enough. This place did . . . they took us at our word and we were in heaven. The prices are are very good, most mains +/- $10 and they have lunch specials for +/- $8.

We will definitely return here anytime we are in Houston.

Sandy (in Denton)

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank behrens1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
163 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Massaman curry did not taste right”
Reviewed October 29, 2012

My husband and I ordered take out from here this weekend since our usual, favorite Thai restaurant is closed on Sundays. We ordered fresh rolls, massaman curry, and green curry. The fresh rolls were pretty good, and my husband liked his green curry. We loved that we could add vegetables and get brown rice. However, my Massaman curry didn't taste right. It was too sweet. For that reason alone, I would not return.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rmm151s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sugar Land, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Ignore the exterior and enjoy great Thai”
Reviewed October 6, 2012

The fried eggplant with green curry sauce was very unique and tasty. Decent variety of classic Thai dishes. Atmosphere is nothing special, but the food was.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank coylepeninsula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nidda Thai Cuisine also viewed

Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Nidda Thai Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing