We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Independent Theater in Houston”
Review of Sundance Cinema

Sundance Cinema
Ranked #44 of 293 things to do in Houston
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Houston
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great Independent Theater in Houston”
Reviewed October 10, 2012

Very comfortable. We live close to downtown, so it is very convenient. The new system of choosing your seats is interesting. It has not been a problem so far. We are very glad that independent theater has returned to Houston.

It is rather pricey however....

We had a problem earlier this year -- the management handled it very well. The person at the cash register refused to reimburse us for our parking. This was incorrect. Who knows what this person was doing.... The theater policy is that it pays for parking.... We emailed the management, reporting the problem - they answered our email immediately and sent us two free tickets by mail. Good customer service. Hope they are more careful with who they hire in the future...

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank aughra h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    96
    48
    17
    4
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
101 reviews
46 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Good it is back!”
Reviewed September 13, 2012

Was sad when Angelika´s closed. But happy when Sundance opened! Excelent movie theathers to show independant or artistic films. Difficult sometimes to park....

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank evamariacampo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Updated Cinema Downtown”
Reviewed September 7, 2012

Visited the newly remodeeled downtown cinema complax. Nice idea with a cafe, and ability to take drinks into cinemas. Downside, the price of tickets. Very expensive, around $30 for 2 people.
Seating is nice, and you have lots of room around - probably due to high entry prices.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank iangHouston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, TX
Level Contributor
125 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Wonderful theatre setup”
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Reserved seating and reimbursed parking as well as comfortable seats and a great sound system. Outside snack bar has upscale food and wine.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank WWorker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
40 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“First class movie theatre”
Reviewed September 4, 2012

The Sundance has very comfortable seating and also allows you to reserve specific seats in advance. The bar and grill has a good selection of beer and wine nd very tasty fare - all of which you may take to your seat. When I have a choice of where to see a film, I go here.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Highlander770
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sundance Cinema also viewed

Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Sundance Cinema? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing