We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Green eggs and fresh orange juice!”
Review of Baby Barnaby's

Baby Barnaby's
Ranked #221 of 8,246 Restaurants in Houston
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Description: there are 2-3 locations for Barnaby's Cafe, the main one is on West Gray St., however there are 2 locations on Fairview - one serves lunch (Barnaby's) and the other serves breakfast (Baby Barnaby's)
Centennial, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Green eggs and fresh orange juice!”
Reviewed February 12, 2014

We arrived around 8:30 on a Friday and didn't have to wait for a table. A hot pot of delicious coffee was on our table immediately. The orange juice is so fresh, it is literally squeezed right after you order it and in front of your eyes by a juicing machine! The green eggs are amazing and everything I saw coming out of the kitchen looked delicious. The location in Montrose is off the beaten path but worth finding. The service was fast and friendly. Get their early or you will be in for a wait.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank jimandzoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    36
    5
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
North Bergen, New Jersey
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Simply the best”
Reviewed February 9, 2014

Super cool, cozy,lots of character and interesting people come to this place. Come hungry because the food is going to blow your mind. Green eggs platter, fresher than fresh Orange juice, great coffee, all of it amazing. The waiting for a table is considerable but they serve you coffee while you wait. Parking was not so bad but it was 8:30 am, most Houston was still asleep.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank yizquierdo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coppell
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“it doesn't get any better for breakfast!”
Reviewed January 27, 2014

Atmosphere, food, service (and reasonably pricing) make for a wonderful morning breakfast. Dishes are not the typical ham/eggs,but rather very creavtive dishes that are simply delicious. And service? Wow. Amazing, friendly people to help you with everything.

Some hints: when you get there, go sign your name on the clip board hanging outside. Eat outside - much nicer, and less noisy. Enjoy a breakfast you'll remember for a long, long time.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Darrel V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Love the green eggs!”
Reviewed January 25, 2014

This place has one of the best breakfasts. I make it a point to eat here whenever I'm in Houston. I always get the green eggs--so delicious that I haven't experimented with anything else on the menu. I sub out the toast in favor of to die for biscuits. If I'm feeling healthy, I sub out the potatoes for fresh fruit. And the orange juice is a must. Parking can be a chore, and there may be a wait, but it is so worth it!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank HolyBattGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
324 reviews
191 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“One of my favorites in Houston”
Reviewed January 5, 2014

Based on food alone, Baby Barnaby's deserves a five-star rating. However, the long wait and the difficulty in finding a parking spot prevents me from doing so.
In fact, I went to Baby Barnaby's twice and couldn't park my car, eventually had to go either go back home or eat at another restaurant. The location is problematic for sure. Even after I parked my car (the third time around), the wait was painfully long... Make sure you have your smartphone or a book or a good discussion subject to kill some time. The only time where you don't have a long wait is probably around 8-9 am on Saturdays and Sundays.

Was it worth these multiple efforts at finally getting a table? Yes. It's hard to find a good breakfast/brunch restaurant in Houston (I can think of Brennan's or Brasserie Max and Julie).
The orange juice is freshly squeezed. Annie's low-fat, high-protein burrito is so delicious that I devoured it in minutes. My second visit, I had the green eggs, which was very good. Loved the chicken apple sausage on the side. One thing that's missing in the menu is eggs benedict. That should be on every breakfast menu, especially that I've seen other restaurants get so creative with it (Snooze comes to mind).
Prices are very reasonable with all dishes 9$ or less.
One thing that people need to know is that Baby Barnaby's can only serve small groups of 6 or less. If you have a party of 7 or more, it's better to go to other Barnaby's cafe locations where breakfast is also served (you can also do so if you can't find a parking spot).
All in all, even though it's not the best breakfast I've ever had (Snooze in Denver, CO still tops it) it's still a very decent breakfast hub and you will thoroughly enjoy your food.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alexis B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Baby Barnaby's also viewed

Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Baby Barnaby's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing