We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Honest place”
Review of Western Inn Motel

Western Inn Motel
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Western Inn Motel
Ranked #23 of 53 Houston B&B and Inns
Tallinn, Estonia
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Honest place”
Reviewed April 25, 2014

Honest place - you get what you pay for. Nothing extra, just a cheap motel to stay overnight. Or two. Reasonable. Clean enough. Friendly staff. Seen worse. Maybe there're better places availbale. But I was satisfied.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Johanna T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    2
    7
    6
    17
See reviews for
7
11
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wuppertal, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
157 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2014

I went to that Inn in mid of January 2014. I wouldn't do it again. The west side rooms are really bright even at night because there are some lights on the hotel area and the area next to it. I don't know if its the same at the east side rooms. Also it was very loud since there's the North Loop of Houston and "unfortunately" this town is not that small. The room was ok but a bit old fashioned, the shower didn't work well until I found out that cold means warm and warm means cold. Also the toilet was defect and didn't stop flushing several times until I put my hands inside to put a lid on a pipe. As last negative point the staff was rather unfriendly than friendly. AT least two of the three people I was in contact with. Only the last lady was friendly and helped me a bit. If you need a really cheap place, look for another one.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Houston hotels

Austin, Texas, United States
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2013

This place gives me the heebees! We stayed in one of the newly upgraded rooms which did not seem upgraded at all, i can only imagine what the other rooms were like eeeh. The room had a musky smoking room smell (although the room was non smoking) .The bathtub was new i guess, but the toilet was rusted. Roach traps were placed in various areas of the room in plain view! The ac is controlled by a light switch (it took us a while to figure that out) so we couldn't set it at a specific temperature. There was a rolling chair with a missing wheel, i tried to plug in my phone charger, but the outlets are so old or something that the charger would literally fall off the wall. The place had an unsettling, cold vibe that I still think about from time to time. The internet sucked, we kept losing connection. This place was one of the worst places i've ever stayed, we paid 60$ for one night, definitely not worth the money!

Room Tip: Do not Stay Here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ananabana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nottingham
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2013

We booked for one night after flying from england before moving on in Texas ,seemed a bit strange that the receptionist is behind a plastic front ,posters everywhere saying no overnight guests etc no pennies accepted ,got to the room and was defiantly in need of refurbishment ,there were cars driving up to our window beeping their horns.we think it may have been a working girls place of employment! We ventured out for food but only got ad far as having a subway as we felt very intimidated.we never moved all night and was very relieved to leave.We thought it was a best western! It definitely is not ,I wouldn't recommend this hotel

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank alisontherapy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2013

The Hotel is bait off the main town; sited in a very quiet area and the lack of public transport make it a bit difficult to access.
The Hotel is security is well organized and the staff well cautious and prompt in given services.
Internet service in th hotel is very poor, it freeze out intermittently and takes longer time to come up.

Room Tip: Rooms are of same size
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank surucity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Park
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

In a rough part of town. No attractions nearby. However, the staff is nice and there seems to be a lot of weddings and quiseneras that use this hotel. I felt totally safe- just know this is not a Best Western and don't expect a lot.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Thomas R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrensburg, Missouri, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 7, 2012

I do not recommend this Hotel in Houston. The internet repeatedly continued to go out--sometimes not coming back on for hrs--the room was water damaged--and we had to air it out daily, the air conditioner had one setting--Full--which froze
us out at night and we had to get up and turn it off--the towel exfoliated our skin until it bled--ha ha. Then tonight at 9:00 the front desk called and insisted we come down and pay for another night-ah--no--we paid our full bill when we arrived--through Mon. noon--she insisted I was wrong--and we needed to come downstairs right then and fix this--nope--can't wait til morning--so--got on my sweater--and tennies--with my pjs--took my laptop down--and showed her my receipt for the reservation--oh--it doesn't match mine here at the desk--I guess we'll have to wait for the boss to come in the morning and fix this---EXCUSE ME?! You just insisted I come down right now and fix this--I was in bed near sleep mode--and I CAME DOWN BECAUSE THIS HAD TO BE FIXED TONIGHT. I take a deep breath--and let them know that they will not be charging me another night no matter what happens. Now I'm back in the room--trying to cool off--oh geez--I hate stupid! Did I mention the stench of mold--water damage on the ceilings and the bugs? . . .

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Penny R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Houston hotels
1.3 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites - Downtown
1.4 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#129 of 517 in Houston
95 reviews
1.3 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn-Houston I-45/Loop 610
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Houston I-10/Central
12.2 mi away
Red Roof Inn Houston - Westchase
3.9 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Houston Brookhollow
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Western Inn Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Western Inn Motel

Property: Western Inn Motel
Address: 1500 North Loop, Houston, TX 77009-1216
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston > Greater Heights
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Houston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 400
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Western Inn Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing