We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel with Great Service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Royal Sonesta Houston Galleria
Ranked #17 of 516 Hotels in Houston
Certificate of Excellence
Llanymynech, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Good Hotel with Great Service”
Reviewed November 23, 2013

Stayed here on business for a total of 5 nights over two separate periods. The hotel which used to be owned by the Intercontinental appears to have under gone a internal facelift. Check in was very efficient and the staff very helpful and pleasant. Rooms are large enough by US standards although the bathroom is relatively small as is the wardrobe. The Double/King size bed is comfortable and clean with the WiFi being very reliable. TV channels are wide selection but no on demand services. I would recommend that the Hotel consider updating TV hardware to the larger LCD type from the existing CRT type, also they should consider replacing basic alarm clocks with more iPod/iPad docking charging stations. Breakfast was a good experience the staff are attentive and very courteous, food is well prepared with Buffet style and menu options available. Parking at the hotel can be a problem if the hotel is being used to host for a big function. Check out was quick and efficient.

Room Tip: Hotel has a new coffee shop in the main reception and bar area. Good selection of food with good cof...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arvin M, Front Office Manager at Royal Sonesta Houston Galleria, responded to this review, November 30, 2013
Dear Jt5806,

We appreciate you taking the time to submit a review to let us know you had an enjoyable stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Royal Sonesta Houston.

Sincerely,

Arvin Missick 713-627-7600, ext. 2809
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,098 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    676
    296
    76
    34
    16
See reviews for
177
189
40
555
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2013

I stayed here because the Houstonian was booked up, the only room I could get into cost 503/night plus taxes there is no gym when I went to the front desk and asked they said I had to go to LA fitness which was fine other than I was not offered a ride in the hotel shuttle and had to return to my room get keys and drive myself to find the gym, when I checked in I wanted to self-park and no one was at the gate to give me a ticket and let me in I drove back to the front desk twice before someone was sent to the guard hose to get into the parade. There wasn’t even a valet attendant available to help. For a hotel charging the amount they did I found some of the staff unprofessional. Doubt I will return, and I travel to Houston once a month on business.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Derr46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arvin M, Front Office Manager at Royal Sonesta Houston Galleria, responded to this review, November 24, 2013
Dear Derr46,

Thank you for submitting this review. Our pricing is comparable to similar properties in the area and we feel we provide good value given our central location and extensive facilities. We would like to extend our most sincere apologies for the inconveniences you experienced during your recent visit. Please rest assured that we have addressed the issues and are working on solutions. We hope to welcome you back in the future to demonstrate to you the quality of both our product and service.

Sincerely,

Arvin Missick 713-627-7600, ext. 2809
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2013

I have always loved this hotel for business and leisure travel. The Houston location has recently gone through renovations and is even better than before. Hotel is always booked so don't wait until the last minute to book it.

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank MZF131422
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arvin M, Front Office Manager at Royal Sonesta Houston Galleria, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Dear MZF131422,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience during your last stay with us at the Royal Sonesta Houston. We are glad that you like the newly renovated hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Royal Sonesta Houston.

Sincerely,

Arvin Missick 713-627-7600, ext.2809
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
Reviewed November 19, 2013

It takes alot to impress me and this hotel and staff exceeded my expectations!

It was my first time in Houston and I was abit leary of staying at the Royal Sonesta hotel as some reviews stated that the hotel was undergoing renovations. I was worried about the disruption and noise from renovations.

However, Edith C from the Royal Sonesta made checking into the hotel a real pleasure. She was extremely professional and friendly. She found out it was my birthday and provided an upgrade and breakfast. The room was beautiful and spacious. The food in the restaurant delicious. You could not even tell the hotel was under renovation as there was no noise or construction.

I'm an experienced traveler and the service level at this hotel was by far one of the best experiences.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Malachi33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arvin M, Front Office Manager at Royal Sonesta Houston Galleria, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Dear Malachi33,

We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for submitting this review and providing our team with this wonderful feedback. Edith is a great associate and we agree that she is "extremely professional and friendly". We are glad that she was able to provide a special treat for your birthday. Our restaurant, ARA, makes sure that dining with us is a wonderful experience and we are glad that you thought the food was delicious.

Sincerely,

Arvin Missick 713-627-7600, ext.2809
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2013

I stayed here for 10 days and found it close to the places I came to visit, ie the Galleria mall, Lakewood church, NASA and other tourist attractions. There was a mix up at check in and they had no record of my booking, so they offered a free drink in the hotel bar, free continental breakfast and access to the club lounge on the 23rd floor while they sorted it with the holiday company. Apparently it was sorted out but and they issued free breakfast vouchers for the buffet for the next few days.

The best features of the hotel are the location, free wifi, free shuttle within a 3 mile radius and some of the staff. Sven Winkler, the restaurant manager, is particularly amazing. He was very attentive and friendly and offered advice about restaurants.

Others who stood out were Elizabeth the waitress and Jose the concierge who was very knowledgeable about buses and directions. This is important as Houston is expensive when going around in taxis.

If you need to go beyond the 3 Mile shuttle radius at night, I recommended the Houston Wave, a jitney that costs $8 one way. And hit the Cheesecake Factory at the Galleria, although you'll end up as big as the mayor of Toronto

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Farrahpalooza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arvin M, Front Office Manager at Royal Sonesta Houston Galleria, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Dear Farrahpalooza,

We appreciate you taking the time to submit a review to let us know you had an enjoyable stay with us. We apologize for the reservation mix up but are glad that we were able to resolve the issue in a timely manner. Sven, Elizabeth, and Jose are great associates and we are glad to have them as part of our team because we believe they will help separate us from the other hotels. We look forward to your next stay with us.

Sincerely,

Arvin Missick 713-627-7600, ext. 2809
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
global
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed November 18, 2013

Quality Customer Service is a lost art, but these guys seem to have found it! I believe in reading reviews and noticed much disparity about the service. Some complained of the renovation while still acknowledging the quality service. I took a gamble and "WOW". From start to finish I was given the Royal treatment! The "continental breakfast", that included authentic Polish Sausage, was so good I sought to contract the caterer for an upcoming event! The rooms were great, the location was great, but mostly I was treated like they wanted me there. You don't see this much anymore! This is my new Houston FAVORITE!

Room Tip: The lounge experience on the 23rd floor is to die for. Very impressive, and the food is GREAT! Anyt...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trinity c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arvin M, Front Office Manager at Royal Sonesta Houston Galleria, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Dear Trinity C,

Thank you for your kind comments regarding the level of service received during your recent stay with us. We believe everyone should feel as if they are receiving the "Royal Treatment” and we work hard to do everything we can to exceed our guests' needs and expectations. We are glad to hear that you were able to experience our exclusive club lounge. We are honored to be your "new Houston FAVORITE" and look forward to welcoming you back to the Royal Sonesta Houston.

Sincerely,

Arvin Missick 713-627-7600, ext. 2809
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Houston hotels
Great Uptown
Omni Houston Hotel
Omni Houston Hotel
#25 of 516 in Houston
1,919 reviews
Downtown
The Lancaster
The Lancaster
#1 of 516 in Houston
1,491 reviews
Great Uptown
Hotel Granduca Houston
Hotel Granduca Houston
#2 of 516 in Houston
811 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
JW Marriott Houston Downtown
Downtown
The Whitehall Houston
The Whitehall Houston
#5 of 516 in Houston
458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Sonesta Houston Galleria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Sonesta Houston Galleria

Property: Royal Sonesta Houston Galleria
Address: 2222 West Loop S, Houston, TX 77027-3502
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Houston
#14 Business Hotel in Houston
#34 Romantic Hotel in Houston
#48 Family Hotel in Houston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Royal Sonesta Houston Galleria 4*
Number of rooms: 485
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casual sophistication with modern appeal are what you’ll find at the Royal Sonesta Houston Galleria. Our AAA-rated Four Diamond property is at the heart of it all with dining and entertainment all within close reach. A premier destination among area hotels, Houston Galleria is yours to explore when you stay with us. Settle into our Galleria hotel in any one of the 485 freshly revamped guest rooms and suites—all thoughtfully appointed with your comfort in mind. Host a meeting, throw a gala or say “I do” with over 50,000 flexible square feet to choose from—an ideal spot for hotels near the Galleria in Houston, TX. Wind down with a cocktail at Axis Lounge or indulge in the globally inspired, locally wired fare at ARA restaurant. From the laid-back atmosphere and state of the art amenities to fine dining and location, our hotel in Houston Galleria is the perfect place to work, gather, rest or retreat. It’s all here at the Royal Sonesta Houston Galleria hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Royal Sonesta Houston Galleria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Houston Hotel Houston
Houston Intercontinental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing