We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Average Place but not friendly young man at counter”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Super 8 Houston/Brookhollow NW
Ranked #357 of 506 Hotels in Houston
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Average Place but not friendly young man at counter”
Reviewed April 19, 2014

Bullet proof glass makes the front desk more secure than most banks but tells me no place to stay. If they get robbed that much. Doesn't help to communicate with the English as second language staff who get rude when you can't hear them through the thick glass and their thick Indian/Pakistan? accent. Breakfast and room were average but clean. There is a Chinese Buffet next door but the staff wouldn't comment on it so I opted for a chain deli called Jayson's which is a block away and very good. I picked this motel because the price was right. I would not go back unless it was under new management.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    39
    35
    20
    23
See reviews for
37
23
22
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Meung Sur Loire
Level Contributor
139 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2014

I recently stayed at this property for 1 night. My choice was motivated by its location west of Houston, conveniently located for my next day travel to San Antonio.
Except for the location, I was very disappointed by this property. The staff was frawny and not welcoming at all. The rooms are a little bit run down. The breakfast item choice is very poor. I travel a lot across the USA, and frequently sleep in Super 8 motels because of my Wyndham loyalty program. I attest this property is below the average standard of the brand by a wide margin.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jmz2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stonewall, Louisiana
2 reviews
Reviewed February 13, 2014

We have stayed at this hotel every time we come to Houston (Normally twice a year. Every time the staff has been excellent and the rooms were ready when we arrived. We will continue to use this hotel in the future.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8

Helpful?
Thank Arthur O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
Reviewed February 5, 2014

By far one of the WORST rooms I've had the misfortune of staying in. I booked a NON SMOKING ACCESSIBLE room online. I checked in went to my room (actually a large ash tray located on the second floor). I immediately went back to the office to inquire about another room. The attendant laughed and said ALL rooms are smoking and there were no more accessible rooms. I'm not so handicapped that I cant make it up the stairs but parking was another thing. VERY limited. Two handicapped spots, both taken by vehicles with no placards. I had to park in the back of the parking lot quite a ways away from my second floor ash tray room. I left and went to a local store to buy some Febreze. I sprayed the entire quart bottle about the room then left for dinner. Having only been in the room for approx. 30 mins my clothing was saturated with smoke smell. The next day, my colleagues I had to interact with at a business meeting made mention about the horrible smell my clothing carried.
The TV lineup was horrible as well. Very limited channel selection. Several latin channels and a couple of hindi channels as well. Nothing so normal such as A&E, history channel etc.
I knew the next morning I had def hit the wrong property when while standing in front of the bathroom mirror, I looked up and saw a syringe in the light fixture above me.
And again when going to the desk, I was laughed off by the attendant that could barely speak English.
So if you are looking for a room to smoke and do drugs in and deal with a manager that cant speak English then this is the property for you.

Room Tip: Stay away from this property
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keith H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luling
Level Contributor
54 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2014

Well, this property was clean looking on the outside, when I walked into the lobby, I felt like I was in a bad area. The desk clerk was behind bullet proof glass, I ask if it was safe to stay, he said the glass was for protection, who was protecting me? The price, as a trip reward member and AARP was $48.00 again not bad for Houston. The interior of the room was well used but clean. The TV was a new 50". The only issue I had was the heat, there was none. It was 29-30 degrees outside and maybe 60 inside the room, after 30 minutes of letting it run, I called the front desk and the clerk said he could move me, by that time I was semi unpacked and spread out and I didn't want to walk back down to the front desk, get another key, repack and move. So I kept my jacket on while working at my laptop and remembering the the most heat loss is from one's head, I wrapped a towel around my head and was comfortable until I went to bed...and all was fine. I travel, 4 days a week in sales and would stay there again, it's a working-mans motel, not really a family place.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shelton G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Houston hotels
0.7 mi away
Rodeway Inn & Suites Hwy 290 NW
2.4 mi away
Red Roof Inn Houston - Brookhollow
2.3 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Hwy 290 / NW Freeway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Houston Northwest
2.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Houston - Brookhollow
5.8 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#229 of 506 in Houston
3.5 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Houston/Brookhollow NW? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Houston/Brookhollow NW

Property: Super 8 Houston/Brookhollow NW
Address: 5655 W 34th St, Highway 290 West & 34th Street, Houston, TX 77092-6509
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #357 of 506 Hotels in Houston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Houston/Brookhollow NW 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Super 8 Houston/Brookhollow NW reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Houston / Brookhollow / Nw Hotel Houston
Super Eight Houston
Houston Super 8
Houston Super Eight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing