We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place, a lot like home”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Carefree Inn Houston Medical Center
Ranked #331 of 504 Hotels in Houston
Seguin, Texas, United States
1 review
“Great place, a lot like home”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2013

If you are looking for high prices don't look here. Lots of comfort. Feels warm and inviting and is reasonably priced. It looks like someone took time to choose the furniture, pictures etc. I had to ask if it was family owned. It is a great place to go if you need a place to stay and don't want to spend a fortune.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Langford791
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Latehours, General Manager at Carefree Inn Houston Medical Center, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Mr. Langford,

We very much appreciate the time you took to review us! We work daily to improve overall customer satisfaction so we are glad to hear you had a great stay, please come visit us again!

At your service,

Marie P.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    47
    23
    16
    30
See reviews for
49
26
35
68
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2013

I think my title says it all. I was there for the 3rd time a few weeks ago and I guess the only thing I'm sad about was that due to medical appointment scheduling, I was unable to have breakfast at the kitchen this time. I was looking forward to those waffles! :-)

I was only there for a couple of nights this time, but it was as warm a place as ever. When you're sick and going through something hard, a friendly smile goes a long way. :-) Thank you, Sophia, again, for your hospitality, your smile and your willingness to accomodate us always.

The thing about "reviews" like this is...you have to make up your own mind about what suits your particular needs. If what you're looking for is total luxury, then that's what you should be shopping for. On the other hand, if you need a clean and pleasant stay close to your hospital, a friendly staff that will go out of their way to make sure you feel comfortable and get to your appointments on time...then Carefree Inn may just be for you. :-)

I'll be back!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sylvianne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Latehours, General Manager at Carefree Inn Houston Medical Center, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Madam Sylvianne G,

We deeply appreciate the time you took to give us a review! We are overjoyed to hear you very much enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again!

At your service,

Marie P.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2013

Stayed here for ten days while having cancer surgery. Hotel is older with exterior room entrances. Two story building with no elevator.
Rooms are kept very clean!
Breakfast included is fresh cut fruit, cereal, donuts, waffles, etc. Nothing fancy but the price is right.
Staff is extremely accommodating!
Price was about 66.00 per night including the high Texas tax.
Located next to Whataburger (clean with great food - do not have them where I come from), Taco Bell/Pizza Hut, Golden Coral Restaurant.
They run a shuttle every hour to all of the medical places.
Simply, this place was perfect for my needs with a great price.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gregrenae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Latehours, General Manager at Carefree Inn Houston Medical Center, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Mr. Greg,

On behalf of our entire staff, we want to thank you for choosing Carefree Inn as your lodging choice for your stay in Houston, Tx! We deeply appreciate the time you took to review us and are working daily to improve overall customer satisfaction. We hope to see and serve you again!

At your service,

Marie P.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2013

Was on a business trip and had a pleasant stay at carefree inn it is perfect for when the texans are playing a home game for you can walk @ 15 minutes no need worry about traffic or parking. and rates are reasonable

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lexmark78233
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Latehours, Manager at Carefree Inn Houston Medical Center, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Dear Sir/Madam:

Thank you for taking the time to review us here. We know your time is valuable, and that you had other options in lodging in the area.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, as we strive to give each of our customers a superior experience. We hope to see you soon!

At Your Service,

Orpha P.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2013

My family and I have had to come to Houston every three months for the last 6 years for my son's medical care. We have stayed in many places in Houston, but we have stayed at the Carefree Inn for the last 4 years because it truly is a great place to stay. It may not be as plush as some as the other hotels, but I really like the "Texas" decor. It is always very clean and the community kitchen is a really nice feature. Plus they have everything that you could need inside the room. The rooms have little fridges, coffee makers, microwaves, etc....and all for a very reasonable price. And, I absolutely love the staff! They will go out of their way to provide whatever assistance that they can. They have been truly amazing. Traveling for medical treatments can be very stressful, but they make the experience a lot easier. I absolutely, hands down recommend Carefree Inn Medical Center in Houston!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lana S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Latehours, Manager at Carefree Inn Houston Medical Center, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Dear Madam:

Thank you for taking the time to review us here. We know your time is valuable and that you had other options in lodging in the area.

We are very delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, as we strive to give each of our customers a superior experience. We hope to see you soon!

At Your Service,

Orpha P.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Douglas, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2013

This place caters to cancer patients visiting the Houston Medical Center. It provides excellent shuttle service to and from all the major treatment centers such as MD Anderson and Baylor College of Medicine. You WILL NOT miss a treatment or an appointment. The prices are better than anywhere else, and the staff is simply some of the most friendly and empathetic people I have ever met.

There is a community kitchen that has everything you need to to make a great meal. I must emphasize community. It was great to see patients interact with care givers (care givers also receive a discount and stay there often.) as they prepare breakfast.

This is not the Hilton or the Marriott. These chains would never divert or make an emergency shuttle run for an individual patient late for a treatment. It may not be a fancy place, but they really do care. For this, I will never forget them. I will also stay there in a heartbeat, when I return to Houston.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Robert P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Latehours, Manager at Carefree Inn Houston Medical Center, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Dear Sir/Madam:

Thank you for taking the time to review us here. We know your time is valuable and that you had other options in lodging in the area.

We are very pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with u,s as we strive to cater to our customers individually and give them a superior experience with every stay. We hope to see you again soon!

At Your Service,

Orpha P.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

This place is one of those old motor lodges - 2 story with balcony along the 2nd floor. No elevator- just steep steps up both ends and one in the middle. The balcony was in poor repair, concrete cracked everywhere, patched in places and holding water puddles when it rained. The pluses: the room was very clean, large and I saw no insects. There was a coffeepot, refrigerator, blowdryer and microwave. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The negatives: the hotel is OLD!! The furniture is OLD!!! The beds were very uncomfortable. The blow dryer was the wall-mount kind but was not mounted to the wall. There was a coffeepot, but no coffee or condiments. Because this was once a motor hotel, the doors to the rooms are accessible by any Joe-blow off the street. I was a nervous wreck staying there - especially after some one knocked on my door at 9:30 at night one of the nights I was there (no peep hole in the door), and another night a man yelled right outside my door just after midnight. Needless to say, I had a little trouble sleeping there.

Room Tip: I would not stay here alone. Ever.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank givingas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Latehours, General Manager at Carefree Inn Houston Medical Center, responded to this review, March 9, 2013
Dear Sir/Madam

Thank you for taking the time to review us here. We know your time is valuable, and that you had other options in lodging in the area.

We sincerely apologize for the conditional issue you faced during your brief experience with us. If you wish to speak more about your experience, we would certainly like to hear from you, so we can better target the problem areas and rooms.

We are glad you found our staff to be satisfying, but know we can do better, if you visit again, we promise, that you will find our property much improved, as we are currently planning a refresh and property improvement.

At Your Service,

Fehmida
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Houston hotels
0.1 mi away
Palace Inn Medical Center
Palace Inn Medical Center
#281 of 504 in Houston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 13 reviews
0.1 mi away
Candlewood Suites Houston Medical Center
0.2 mi away
Motel 6 Houston Medical Center - Reliant Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Houston SW-Medical Ctr Area
0.8 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Reliant Park/Medical Center
2.1 mi away
Scottish Inn & Suites Reliant Park/Six Flags
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carefree Inn Houston Medical Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carefree Inn Houston Medical Center

Property: Carefree Inn Houston Medical Center
Address: 10015 Main St, 610 S. Loop and South Main, Houston, TX 77025-5209 (Formerly Carefree Inn Medical Center)
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #331 of 504 Hotels in Houston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Carefree Inn Houston Medical Center 2*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Houston Medical Center Lodging.CareFree Inn is the best kept secret in Houston, TX. Our staff and service is top of the line and we offer comfortable and affordable accommodations. Our hotel is uniquely designed to embody an exotic place with a magical concept that represents the State of Texas. CareFree Inn is one of the leading hotels near Reliant Stadium and offers a family rate, group booking rate, government rate, Corp rate, student rate, AAA rate, AARP rate and TMC Texas Medical Center rate.Medical Patient Rate Hotels.When seeking accommodations near the Houston Medical Center, CareFree Inn provides recovering guests with a number of valuable amenities and services not found at many hotels. In addition to comfortable accommodations featuring a full continental breakfast, our guests will find they have access to a number of shopping and recreational opportunities. CareFree Inn is central to Reliant Stadium, shopping, dining and entertainment in Houston, TX.Houston Medical Center Lodging.Whether traveling to Houston, TX for business, medical treatment or vacation, CareFree Inn offers a friendly team of employees who make certain our guests have an enjoyable visit. As one of the leading Houston Medical Center hotels, our pledge is to provide customers with comfortable and affordable lodging. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Carefree Inn Houston Medical Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carefree Inn Medical Hotel Houston
Carefree Hotel Houston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing