We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A truly great place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Carefree Inn Houston Medical Center
Ranked #338 of 518 Hotels in Houston
Reviewed March 10, 2013

My family and I have had to come to Houston every three months for the last 6 years for my son's medical care. We have stayed in many places in Houston, but we have stayed at the Carefree Inn for the last 4 years because it truly is a great place to stay. It may not be as plush as some as the other hotels, but I really like the "Texas" decor. It is always very clean and the community kitchen is a really nice feature. Plus they have everything that you could need inside the room. The rooms have little fridges, coffee makers, microwaves, etc....and all for a very reasonable price. And, I absolutely love the staff! They will go out of their way to provide whatever assistance that they can. They have been truly amazing. Traveling for medical treatments can be very stressful, but they make the experience a lot easier. I absolutely, hands down recommend Carefree Inn Medical Center in Houston!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lana S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Latehours, Manager at Carefree Inn Houston Medical Center, responded to this reviewResponded March 29, 2013

Dear Madam:

Thank you for taking the time to review us here. We know your time is valuable and that you had other options in lodging in the area.

We are very delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, as we strive to give each of our customers a superior experience. We hope to see you soon!

At Your Service,

Orpha P.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (213)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

58 - 64 of 213 reviews

Reviewed March 8, 2013

This place caters to cancer patients visiting the Houston Medical Center. It provides excellent shuttle service to and from all the major treatment centers such as MD Anderson and Baylor College of Medicine. You WILL NOT miss a treatment or an appointment. The prices are better than anywhere else, and the staff is simply some of the most friendly and empathetic people I have ever met.

There is a community kitchen that has everything you need to to make a great meal. I must emphasize community. It was great to see patients interact with care givers (care givers also receive a discount and stay there often.) as they prepare breakfast.

This is not the Hilton or the Marriott. These chains would never divert or make an emergency shuttle run for an individual patient late for a treatment. It may not be a fancy place, but they really do care. For this, I will never forget them. I will also stay there in a heartbeat, when I return to Houston.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Robert P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Latehours, Manager at Carefree Inn Houston Medical Center, responded to this reviewResponded March 29, 2013

Dear Sir/Madam:

Thank you for taking the time to review us here. We know your time is valuable and that you had other options in lodging in the area.

We are very pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with u,s as we strive to cater to our customers individually and give them a superior experience with every stay. We hope to see you again soon!

At Your Service,

Orpha P.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

This place is one of those old motor lodges - 2 story with balcony along the 2nd floor. No elevator- just steep steps up both ends and one in the middle. The balcony was in poor repair, concrete cracked everywhere, patched in places and holding water puddles when it rained. The pluses: the room was very clean, large and I saw no insects. There was a coffeepot, refrigerator, blowdryer and microwave. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The negatives: the hotel is OLD!! The furniture is OLD!!! The beds were very uncomfortable. The blow dryer was the wall-mount kind but was not mounted to the wall. There was a coffeepot, but no coffee or condiments. Because this was once a motor hotel, the doors to the rooms are accessible by any Joe-blow off the street. I was a nervous wreck staying there - especially after some one knocked on my door at 9:30 at night one of the nights I was there (no peep hole in the door), and another night a man yelled right outside my door just after midnight. Needless to say, I had a little trouble sleeping there.

Room Tip: I would not stay here alone. Ever.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank givingas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Latehours, General Manager at Carefree Inn Houston Medical Center, responded to this reviewResponded March 9, 2013

Dear Sir/Madam

Thank you for taking the time to review us here. We know your time is valuable, and that you had other options in lodging in the area.

We sincerely apologize for the conditional issue you faced during your brief experience with us. If you wish to speak more about your experience, we would certainly like to hear from you, so we can better target the problem areas and rooms.

We are glad you found our staff to be satisfying, but know we can do better, if you visit again, we promise, that you will find our property much improved, as we are currently planning a refresh and property improvement.

At Your Service,

Fehmida

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

THis is the last place in the world you will want to stay! The physical appearance is, is horrific. The building needs repair every where you look. The place is laid out and built in a style popular right after World War Two with outside entrances to each room. The door to my room would always stick and you had to use your foot to kick it open.
The rooms have not been updated and all the furniture is old and tired. The place looks like they furnished it with used furniture they bought fifty years ago.They have a coffee maker in the room but when you wake up in the morning and you want a cup of coffee there is no coffee. THEY DONT KEEP THE COFFEE IN THE ROOM. You have to get dressed, go outside, go downstairs to the office, beat on the door till someone comes and unlocks it and then they will give you some coffee. The sheets feel like they were 200 count cotton that have been washed five thousand times. I prepaid for this room for three nights but I would rather loose my money than stay another night here.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Taylor B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Latehours, General Manager at Carefree Inn Houston Medical Center, responded to this reviewResponded March 9, 2013

Dear Sir

Thank you for taking the time to review us here. We know your time is valuable, and that you had other options in lodging in the area.

We sincerely apologize for the conditional issue you faced during your brief experience with us. If you wish to speak more about your experience, we would certainly like to hear from you, so we can better target the problem areas and rooms. Coffee and coffee is kept in office for hygenic reason. If a guest request we bring to their room.

We are glad you found our staff to be satisfying, but know we can do better, if you visit again, we promise, that you will find our property much improved, as we are currently planning a refresh and property improvement.

At Your Service,

Fehmida

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2013

This was the second time we stayed here and we love it. The staff is always so friendly and it's super easy to get to. Is it fancy? No. But the beds are comfy, there's a fridge and a microwave. It's close to everything and the price is unbeatable. It's close to inside the loop and everything else is super expensive. We don't go there because we want to hang out in the room all day. We use it to sleep and we always get a good night's sleep. If you're expecting something like the Hyatt, then stay there. Clean rooms, nice staff, great rates and close to museums, awesome restaurants and the medical center. We'll stay there every time we're in town.

Room Tip: We always ask for a room upstairs and very close to the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank K R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2013

If you want to just stay to do your visits to Med Center this is a good stay. The rooms smelly and very poorly equiped. The staff are very nice and they have free shuttle to Med Center in certain times.I stayed 3 nights there and I prefer just come to sleep in the room. I don't think you can tolerate the room more than the night stay. If you are on budget go for it, if you can afford more go to a real 3 stars hotel.Some of the reviewers are exaggerating some.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shaggle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2013

I have stayed here a few days and have enjoyed it tremendously. All the staff are very courteous and I have all the amenities I need. The rooms are very clean and the front office has a very welcoming atmosphere. I would highly recommend staying here.

Eugene W.
Portland, OR

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eugenious1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Houston hotels
0.2 mi away
Motel 6 Houston Medical Center - Reliant Park
0.2 mi away
Palace Inn Medical Center
Palace Inn Medical Center
#336 of 518 in Houston
14 reviews
3.4 mi away
MainStay Suites Texas Medical Center/Reliant Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Scottish Inn & Suites Reliant Park/Six Flags
0.8 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Reliant Park/Medical Center
3.7 mi away
La Quinta Inn Houston Greenway Plaza Medical Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carefree Inn Houston Medical Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carefree Inn Houston Medical Center

Address: 10015 Main St, 610 S. Loop and South Main, Houston, TX 77025-5209 (Formerly Carefree Inn Medical Center)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #338 of 518 Hotels in Houston
Price Range: $82 - $88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Carefree Inn Houston Medical Center 2*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Houston Medical Center Lodging.CareFree Inn is the best kept secret in Houston, TX. Our staff and service is top of the line and we offer comfortable and affordable accommodations. Our hotel is uniquely designed to embody an exotic place with a magical concept that represents the State of Texas. CareFree Inn is one of the leading hotels near Reliant Stadium and offers a family rate, group booking rate, government rate, Corp rate, student rate, AAA rate, AARP rate and TMC Texas Medical Center rate.Medical Patient Rate Hotels.When seeking accommodations near the Houston Medical Center, CareFree Inn provides recovering guests with a number of valuable amenities and services not found at many hotels. In addition to comfortable accommodations featuring a full continental breakfast, our guests will find they have access to a number of shopping and recreational opportunities. CareFree Inn is central to Reliant Stadium, shopping, dining and entertainment in Houston, TX.Houston Medical Center Lodging.Whether traveling to Houston, TX for business, medical treatment or vacation, CareFree Inn offers a friendly team of employees who make certain our guests have an enjoyable visit. As one of the leading Houston Medical Center hotels, our pledge is to provide customers with comfortable and affordable lodging. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Carefree Inn Houston Medical Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carefree Inn Medical Hotel Houston
Carefree Hotel Houston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing