We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Carefree Inn Houston Medical Center
Ranked #333 of 517 Hotels in Houston
Reviewed January 23, 2013

This was the filthiest place I have ever stayed. The dust ruffles were stained, dragging on the floor , filthy and the bedspread had something on it. (Ewwww!) They did bring me a replacement. Beds were not comfortable. The latch safety lock on the door was broken. The breakfast is make it yourself out of the fridge. Do NOT be fooled by the online pics. I will say that the service at the front desk was excellent, they will take pets and they provide a nice shuttle service to and from the medical center. ( the vans are filthy.) I do NOT recommend this place. Pay a little more and stay closer to the medical center at one of the chain hotels. Never again! Ugh!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 3jm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (213)
There are newer reviews for Carefree Inn Houston Medical Center
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

67 - 73 of 213 reviews

Reviewed January 4, 2013

Stayed here on a surprise last-minute trip to Houston and the staff was SO accommodating! They got me checked in quickly and answered all my questions and were quite patient with me. The room was fresh and clean and suited all my needs. GREAT location!

Sad I only stayed for 1 night, will definitely return again!! Highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jennifer G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Latehours, General Manager at Carefree Inn Houston Medical Center, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2013

First time guest, it was a pleasure meeting you.
Thank you very much for taking the time to review us here. We know your time is valuable, and you have plenty of lodging options in the area.

We are always pleased to get a pat on the back and to be informed when we are doing something right. We are glad, you found us friendly, accommodating, and enjoyed our breakfast and shuttle. (We love our shuttle drivers too)

Once again, thank you for your kind comments and review. We are glad we had the honor of hosting you, and hope to see you next year on your annual trip.
God Bless
F raza

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2012

We got there checked in and checked out. Small dark room, tiny bathroom. Run-down curtains and bedspreads. Lock in the door didn't work. First time that tripadvisor misleads us. Had to look for a room in a nearby Comfort Suites. Since we had prepaid online, lost our money.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mile13Cleveland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2012

I have stayed @ carefree inn about 5 times ive enjoyed every time never had any complaints. The staff are very friendly and helpful ive had a different room every time and they have all been nice and clean. Carefree inn offers a nice free breakfast and shuttles to ur destination which is good if you dont know ur way or dont wanna drive. Also you are very close to anything you might need restaurants, pharmacy, grocery whatever you might need i will continue to stay here anytime i have to travel back for my medical needs.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Leonard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Latehours, General Manager at Carefree Inn Houston Medical Center, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2013

Thank you very much for taking the time to review us here. We know your time is valuable, and you have plenty of lodging options in the area.

We are always pleased to get a pat on the back and to be informed when we are doing something right. We are glad, you found us friendly, accommodating, and enjoyed our breakfast and shuttle.

Once again, thank you for your kind comments and review. We are glad we had the honor of hosting you, and hope to see you again.

God Bless

F raza

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2012

Needed a great clean place to stay in Houston do to my daughters medical problems. We have stayed at the Carefree Inn numerous times, and have been more than satisfied each visit. The staff is well managed, and is wonderful and convenient when needed, and welling to give directions to places one might desire. In all The Carefree Inn is great place, and a good bang for your buck.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2012

The staff was very informative and helpful, thanks to all of them!
The room was spacious and fully equiped with a fridge, coffe maker, microwave and hairdryer, that was more than I expected!
The location was good considering how extensive is the city of Houston, and there are 2 bus stops next to it, which helped to connect it with several areas and the HOBBY airport.
The hotel is surrounded by a Burguer restaurant, a taco´s restaurant and a buffet restaurant. Three blocks away from there you find 2 pharmacies and a drugstore.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ruth G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2012

My boyfriend and i stumbled upon this place by accident and we were pleasantly surprised. From the moment we walked in to the moment we checked out the staff was amazing. The young man at the front desk went out of his way to make us feel as welcomed as possible. He suggested a few places for us to go to around town since this was our first trip to Houston and even printed out directions for us. The rooms are great for the price and even come with a mini fridge and microwave. Next time i visit i wont stay anywhere else.

Room Tip: I would suggest a room close to the office so you can access the ice machine quicker since there is...
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jesshnz1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Latehours, General Manager at Carefree Inn Houston Medical Center, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to review us. We know your time is valuable, and you had plenty of lodging options. We are grateful you gave us the opportunity to serve.

It is always a pleasure when a guest gives us such a positive review. We are very proud of our
staff. Your comments will be shared with the staff, our staff in particular, so that they will know their efforts are being noticed.

Your review is better than most paid adverts, and we appreciate that we will be seeing you in the future. Thank you again for your feedback, we look forward to serving you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Houston hotels
0.1 mi away
Palace Inn Medical Center
Palace Inn Medical Center
#305 of 517 in Houston
13 reviews
0.1 mi away
Candlewood Suites Houston Medical Center
0.2 mi away
Motel 6 Houston Medical Center - Reliant Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Reliant Park/Medical Center
2.1 mi away
Scottish Inn & Suites Reliant Park/Six Flags
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Houston SW-Medical Ctr Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carefree Inn Houston Medical Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carefree Inn Houston Medical Center

Address: 10015 Main St, 610 S. Loop and South Main, Houston, TX 77025-5209 (Formerly Carefree Inn Medical Center)
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #333 of 517 Hotels in Houston
Price Range: $52 - $99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Carefree Inn Houston Medical Center 2*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Houston Medical Center Lodging.CareFree Inn is the best kept secret in Houston, TX. Our staff and service is top of the line and we offer comfortable and affordable accommodations. Our hotel is uniquely designed to embody an exotic place with a magical concept that represents the State of Texas. CareFree Inn is one of the leading hotels near Reliant Stadium and offers a family rate, group booking rate, government rate, Corp rate, student rate, AAA rate, AARP rate and TMC Texas Medical Center rate.Medical Patient Rate Hotels.When seeking accommodations near the Houston Medical Center, CareFree Inn provides recovering guests with a number of valuable amenities and services not found at many hotels. In addition to comfortable accommodations featuring a full continental breakfast, our guests will find they have access to a number of shopping and recreational opportunities. CareFree Inn is central to Reliant Stadium, shopping, dining and entertainment in Houston, TX.Houston Medical Center Lodging.Whether traveling to Houston, TX for business, medical treatment or vacation, CareFree Inn offers a friendly team of employees who make certain our guests have an enjoyable visit. As one of the leading Houston Medical Center hotels, our pledge is to provide customers with comfortable and affordable lodging. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, HostelWorld, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Carefree Inn Houston Medical Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carefree Inn Medical Hotel Houston
Carefree Hotel Houston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing