We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great value in caring environment”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Carefree Inn Houston Medical Center
Ranked #335 of 517 Hotels in Houston
Reviewed June 27, 2012

What a lovely little place to stay for a few days. Yes it is smallish but it has everything. They have a wonderful kitchen where you can cook anytime day or night with a great array of appliances and cooking utensils. The staff are so friendly and the owner Sophia was especially lovely(we actually live about 45 minutes from her family in Australia)

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lizpinky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 3, 2012

Thank you very much for your wonderful review, yes good things do come in small packages!
We are happy that you enjoyed your stay and found the Extended Kitchen a good concept. The idea behind it was to give our guests a feeling of being at home while being away from it. We do hope that you will visit us again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (213)
There are newer reviews for Carefree Inn Houston Medical Center
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

101 - 107 of 213 reviews

Reviewed June 11, 2012

I've had the pleasure of staying at the Carefree Inn at the Medical Center in Houston, TX on two occasions. I like to say first of all, kudos to the very low price I paid. I've stayed at many hotels of this class and this one ranks at the top of my list; which is why I felt compelled to write this review.

I stayed at this hotel because it was close to the medical center where my wife is receiving treatment. To my surprise we used their free shuttle van back and forth to her appointments. Once we had to be there for 6am in the morning, which posed no problem to their shuttle driver; they took us there that early and picked us up when we were ready. The breakfast was great, they served huge waffles, orange juice, cereal, and fresh cut fruit. Need to make your own lunch or dinner? There is a full service kitchen with a stove top, oven, and all the necessary pots and pan you can use to cook your meals. Feels just like home.

My room was nice and clean and I got a great night sleep. The staff at the front desk are very friendly and respectful. I noticed there is a fitness center but I never used it, and a computer for the guests to use. I didn't use their computer, but I did log on to their free wifi with my laptop. They offer a lot for a hotel in this area and of its class. I notice other hotels across and adjacent to Carefree Inn, but they can't beat Carefree Inn's price, service, and amenities. I would strongly recommend this hotel over the competition in the area. Thanks again Carefree Inn and keep up the good work.

Robert

Room Tip: 2nd floor has a great view of the city scape.
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Latehours, Manager at Carefree Inn Houston Medical Center, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2012

Dear Sir,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and provide frank feedback. We take great pride in " service from the heart" our motto which every employee conforms to.

Yes the Shuttle service, Extended Kitchen, WIFI connectivity and sumptuous Breakfast are our strengths, however our greatest strength is the pride we take as caregivers for guests visiting the medical center. It is at the end of the day their smile that makes our day.

Thank you once again, we look forward to welcoming you back.

Warm Regards

Kris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2012

This was our first motel for our 4 week trip in the states. The outside of the motel had a great look but the rooms were okay. They were clean but dark (not many lights) and the air conditioning wasn't working properly. It did work, but with a lot of noise so we had to turn it of during the night. All with all a good value for money motel.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patrick_987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Latehours, General Manager at Carefree Inn Houston Medical Center, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2012

Thank you very much for your feedback and positive comments . We have modernized many of our air conditioning units and have also checked the unit in the room assigned to you.

Im certain you would have found our extended Kitchen, Wifi and Courtesy shuttle to the Medical centre a value added benefit.

The entire team looks forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Houston. The Carefree Inn prides itself on the relationships we build with our guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2012

If you're faced with needing a place to stay close to MD Anderson, Carefree Inn is the one I can personally recommend. Our loved ones have needed a place to stay when they are not in MD Anderson, which has been on and off for the past year. The Carefree Inn is especially wonderful for patients due to their shuttle to and from appointments. It is the personal touch that sets this hotel apart from the others, because they get to know the families and anticipates their needs. They have been wonderful to our family, when we could not be there to help.

This past week we traveled to see our tag team warriors that are battling cancer with all them might. We got to meet the owner and each staff members that we've heard so much about. Each staff member was polite and smiling, welcoming us to the hotel. We loved the open kitchen that's provided for families away from their own home. Fresh fruits and waffles was my choice while we stayed the week. Each day all we had to do was let the office know when our loved one was out for exercise or appointment, the room would be cleaned and spirits would be alittle lighter. If you have time to check out this hotel, it's worth it. We appreciate them taking such care of our loved ones while their so far away. We will stay there again sometime, because the warm and caring atmosphere they provide to each guest.

Room Tip: They arrange our room to be right beside our loved ones. That was the most important for us and the...
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank June B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Latehours, General Manager at Carefree Inn Houston Medical Center, responded to this reviewResponded June 2, 2012

Dear June B,

Our staff and management acknowledge your thoughts about our home away from home.
We are deeply touched that we as a business could be help to many medical patients, such as your who became our family. It was a pleasure visiting you during your stay. We will always Care about our patients and family like our own.

There is no other words to express how thankful we are that your family and you choose Care Free Inn as your home.

Our hotel is not brand new nor has high end hotel amenities. but simple Texan life, where we have daily needs of all guest that travel to our place. Guest are blessing to our door in return we can only Share Care.

God Bless, Will be in touch....

Thank you once again
Care Free Inn "Home away from home"

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2012

The staff is fantastic, the room was nice and clean and we were close to everything we wanted to see. Would absolutely stay here again and would recommend to any family and friends coming to Houston. Thank you for making our trip a great one!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank K R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Latehours, General Manager at Carefree Inn Houston Medical Center, responded to this reviewResponded June 2, 2012

Our staff and Management thanking you for your review! We are so glad that you consider our hotel your first option when traveling to the Texas Medical Center. Our transportation is definitely a benefit for those visiting one of the area hospitals. It can definitely save you time and money. We are 7 minutes driving time to medical center.

We look forward to your next arrival.
With Hospitality,

Many Blessing from our team.
Home away from home.
Care Free Inn, the place that care's about your travel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2012

I stayed at the carefreeinn for two weeks in May. I was very impressed with the warmth and hospitality shown by the staff . The owner is a stunning lady who takes great pains to make sure that her guests are taken care off. The hotel is very conveniently located close to the medical centre, they also offer a courtesy shuttle which is an advantage. The public transport in houston is very good, i used the bus right outside the hotel for many of my adventures.

The hotel by itself is very boutique like, has a small prayer room with letters and prayers put up by many guests, a beautiful homely kitchen well stocked ,and you could use this to cook your own food! i didnt miss my wife for a change!!!The wifi in the hotel is good, i used my ipad and it worked well throughout. I really felt at home in this hotel, would recommend this to travellers. hot tip...call the hotel for a better rate...i initially did my booking online only to realize you get better rates if you call.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms on the upper level
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank madhukrishnan_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Latehours, General Manager at Carefree Inn Houston Medical Center, responded to this reviewResponded June 2, 2012

Our Staff and management is thanking you for the acknowledge. It was very nice off you to take your time out and share your experience on one of our review channel, that delivers massage to other people.

Care is not just a word for Care Free Inn Staff and Management, we deliver to whom we can each to and through this hotel we are able to each to who needs Care. We don't see the wealth or shape. We just truly "CARE". We have the best team that works together, no one is above each other, we all do our best to make you happy as you enter our door.
God has blessed as with CARE FREE INN a blessing place to deliver to each and everyone who come here.
We put our hands together to serve our guest, make everyone feel happy and welcomed at our Home Away from Home.

Thank you once again for sharing your thoughts. Have a successful start in Houston Texas.

God Bless

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2012

Another pleasant stay at the Carefree Inn!! I am a cancer patient, from out of state, being treated at M.D.Anderson Cancer Center. I want to use care on how much I spend for the motel room, but, need to feel safe, and have a clean room. The cost is about the lowest in the area, I feel safe, the room has always been very clean and comfortable. Yes, it is an older building, but has freshly painted rooms, and new tile type flooring. The first thing I noticed when entering my room was the nice fresh, clean smell. The morning breakfast is fine, with a number of things to chose from. If you desire you may have use of the nice, clean kitchen for cooking meals. Their shuttle takes you to and from the hospitals, or for groceries. All the employes are friendly and helpful. Some people say, you get what you pay for...... I truly feel at the Carefree Inn you receive much better that what you would expect for a lower priced motel. Rachel A. OHIO

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rachel A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Latehours, Manager at Carefree Inn Houston Medical Center, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2012

Thank you very much indeed for such a warm and frank review ! The Carefree Inn prides itself on providing a warm , safe and homely environment to its many guests. The shuttle service enables many of our guests to have a relaxed drive to their hospitals.

The Carefree Inn believes in the motto " service with a Smile " . We are greatful for your patronage and support.

Warm regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Houston hotels
0.1 mi away
Palace Inn Medical Center
Palace Inn Medical Center
#306 of 517 in Houston
13 reviews
0.1 mi away
Candlewood Suites Houston Medical Center
0.2 mi away
Motel 6 Houston Medical Center - Reliant Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Reliant Park/Medical Center
2.1 mi away
Scottish Inn & Suites Reliant Park/Six Flags
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Houston SW-Medical Ctr Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carefree Inn Houston Medical Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carefree Inn Houston Medical Center

Address: 10015 Main St, 610 S. Loop and South Main, Houston, TX 77025-5209 (Formerly Carefree Inn Medical Center)
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #335 of 517 Hotels in Houston
Price Range: $51 - $99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Carefree Inn Houston Medical Center 2*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Houston Medical Center Lodging.CareFree Inn is the best kept secret in Houston, TX. Our staff and service is top of the line and we offer comfortable and affordable accommodations. Our hotel is uniquely designed to embody an exotic place with a magical concept that represents the State of Texas. CareFree Inn is one of the leading hotels near Reliant Stadium and offers a family rate, group booking rate, government rate, Corp rate, student rate, AAA rate, AARP rate and TMC Texas Medical Center rate.Medical Patient Rate Hotels.When seeking accommodations near the Houston Medical Center, CareFree Inn provides recovering guests with a number of valuable amenities and services not found at many hotels. In addition to comfortable accommodations featuring a full continental breakfast, our guests will find they have access to a number of shopping and recreational opportunities. CareFree Inn is central to Reliant Stadium, shopping, dining and entertainment in Houston, TX.Houston Medical Center Lodging.Whether traveling to Houston, TX for business, medical treatment or vacation, CareFree Inn offers a friendly team of employees who make certain our guests have an enjoyable visit. As one of the leading Houston Medical Center hotels, our pledge is to provide customers with comfortable and affordable lodging. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your Carefree Inn Houston Medical Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carefree Inn Medical Hotel Houston
Carefree Hotel Houston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing