We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Third Stay - Felt at Home!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Carefree Inn Houston Medical Center
Ranked #334 of 508 Hotels in Houston
El Paso, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Third Stay - Felt at Home!”
Reviewed November 23, 2011

This was our third stay at Carefree Inn in 2011 due to the need to travel 750 miles from home to get treatment at Texas Medical Center. The entire staff tried to accommodate our needs and when we didn't have to stay as long as planned, we had no problem getting a refund for the days cancelled at the last minute. We will always stay at Carefree because of the location, price, and kind staff. They make you feel right at home.

Room Tip: We like the rooms on the back side away from traffic (top floor).
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank coyotecp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    47
    23
    17
    30
See reviews for
50
27
35
68
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
58 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2011

I chose the Carefree Inn medical center because it was on my route and because I was curious after seeing the photos on Tripadvisor. I am always looking for special unique hotels with good reviews and this seemed nice.
The decoration is awesome and it definitely makes you feel being in a one of kind motel.
The guy and girl at the front desk were very nice and asked if it was our first time in Houston.
After getting the room they came by to ask if everything was ok and to bring coffee, water and some candy. That was so nice ! The room had a laminated floor which I like because it's very hygienic, so bring your slippers. The pattern of the bed covers was also nice. The rooms are a bit old but clean and well maintained. I could see there once were pink tiles in the bathroom and I wish they would bring those back and restore it! The fact that there's a kitchen is very nice, you can bring your own food, store it in the fridge and prepare it. Breakfast was very basic, I had to look in the fridge for some gelly and I found some but I felt like eating someone's gelly, so if was yours I'm sorry ;)
Location is very good and close to the shopping centre and everything. Overall very good and it totally satisfied our needs !

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bosbes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brownsville, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2011

Staff is very friendly , convinience of kitchen is great. This is the BEST option FOR its PRICE RANGE , I have stayed in several hotels in the houston medical area, and this is the only one we have come back to beacuse of the service.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank acu644
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, India
Level Contributor
42 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2011

Front desk was helpful specifically Mr Huang.
Room was decent, can be improved better.
Free wifi, fridge and microwave oven at room are in good condition
Shuttle service was superb
Daily free breakfast was total letdown.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MMDSI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 3, 2011

I've realized that hotels under 70-80 per night are going to come with a fair share of issues. But when you're on a tight budget your willing to deal with a few of those. I will list those issues I experienced. The initial room I got (136) had an issue with the lights. The only light that worked was the bathroom light. Once I got light I noticed red stains in the comforter that immediately registered in my head as blood. Changed rooms. The second room was fine except for a few dark stains on the sheets and a loosely shutting door that had signs of forced entry. Both rooms had that strong hotel scented perfume, with no traces of cigarette smell. Included was a free small breakfast, not much to choose from but it was nice.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DavidLee81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Latehours, Customer Relation at Carefree Inn Houston Medical Center, responded to this review, November 4, 2011
Thank you very much for your review after your stay with us. We are so sorry about about the experience you had during your stay. We have already done the deep clean of room 136 and found out the red stain you saw actually was the red nail polish. We renovated some rooms last year and changed the lights switch to timer for being a "Green" hotel property. That's the reason why you might not find the way to open the lights in the room. We do apologize for all the issues that you had for your stay. We appreciate any of our guests' comments that is the key to drive our service to be better and better. We do hope you will give us another chance to welcome your next visiting in Houston, thank you again!

Carefree Inn Houston/Feeling of Houston, Feeling of Texas, Feeling of Home!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2011

I stayed here for almost a whole month. Never had any problems. Coffee was always ready for me very early in the morning. Friendly staff. The only complaint I have is they need to update their gym. They have one very loud treadmill and a bike that's probably from the 1970s. Other than that everything was great.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank honeybee109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed October 18, 2011

I can't begin too explain how excellent this hotel was! The location, the rooms, the staff, everything was GREAT! I usually don't do reviews but this hotel deserves one, if there was a problem or I needed anything the staff were there for me. The rooms were clean and the bed was nice and comfortable. Coffee was fresh and ready, fruits were nice and cold and there was also cake and watermelon! I will definitely be returning too Carefree Inn when I'm in town!

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelerGirllll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Houston hotels
0.1 mi away
Candlewood Suites Houston Medical Center
0.1 mi away
Palace Inn Medical Center
Palace Inn Medical Center
#294 of 508 in Houston
13 reviews
0.2 mi away
Motel 6 Houston Medical Center - Reliant Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Houston SW-Medical Ctr Area
0.8 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Reliant Park/Medical Center
2.1 mi away
Scottish Inn & Suites Reliant Park/Six Flags
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carefree Inn Houston Medical Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carefree Inn Houston Medical Center

Property: Carefree Inn Houston Medical Center
Address: 10015 Main St, 610 S. Loop and South Main, Houston, TX 77025-5209 (Formerly Carefree Inn Medical Center)
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #334 of 508 Hotels in Houston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Carefree Inn Houston Medical Center 2*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Houston Medical Center Lodging.CareFree Inn is the best kept secret in Houston, TX. Our staff and service is top of the line and we offer comfortable and affordable accommodations. Our hotel is uniquely designed to embody an exotic place with a magical concept that represents the State of Texas. CareFree Inn is one of the leading hotels near Reliant Stadium and offers a family rate, group booking rate, government rate, Corp rate, student rate, AAA rate, AARP rate and TMC Texas Medical Center rate.Medical Patient Rate Hotels.When seeking accommodations near the Houston Medical Center, CareFree Inn provides recovering guests with a number of valuable amenities and services not found at many hotels. In addition to comfortable accommodations featuring a full continental breakfast, our guests will find they have access to a number of shopping and recreational opportunities. CareFree Inn is central to Reliant Stadium, shopping, dining and entertainment in Houston, TX.Houston Medical Center Lodging.Whether traveling to Houston, TX for business, medical treatment or vacation, CareFree Inn offers a friendly team of employees who make certain our guests have an enjoyable visit. As one of the leading Houston Medical Center hotels, our pledge is to provide customers with comfortable and affordable lodging. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Travelocity, HotelPower, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Priceline and Cancelon so you can book your Carefree Inn Houston Medical Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carefree Inn Medical Hotel Houston
Carefree Hotel Houston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing