We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Great Deal!!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Downtown Inn & Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Downtown Inn & Suites
Ranked #16 of 500 Hotels in Houston
Certificate of Excellence
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Deal!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2012

I must say I really enjoyed my stay here! Very close to downtown without the downtown prices. The staff was great as well. I enjoyed the free parking! Thank you to all of the staff for assuring my family and I had a great stay!

Room Tip: High as possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jamie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

387 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    256
    107
    17
    4
    3
See reviews for
79
65
24
170
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Green Bay, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2012

We stayed here for three nights for our oldest daughter's wedding at nearby Holy Rosary Chruch. The hotel is close to downtown, but far enough away to avoid the traffic and noise. They have free parking (though paid parking is only $2 a day around the hotel), a shuttle to downton during the week, and free snacks, wine and beer Monday through Thursday afternoons. The place is super clean, the staff helpful and the pool very nice. The only thing we would like to see is the availability of at least a few larger rooms. Their largest room has only two queen beds and they have no roll aways, so our family of six needed two rooms (which gets expensive).

Room Tip: The elevator is kind of slow, so pick a room downstairs if you don't like to wait or have troubl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank richdm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
560 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2012

This is a really nice hotel, a BW Plus, so it is closer to a higher priced chain than the normal BW. Our room was large and very clean, the bed was comfortable, and of course it comes with the usual complimentary breakfast (which was excellent) and parking. The location to downtown cannot be beat. Overall, this was a great experience and I would stay here again in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: Did not try the restaurant except for free breakfast.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank russkwtx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
121 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 317 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2012

A two-night stay here for work was a great experience. The hotel's location, less than five minutes' drive from downtown, but at half the cost, was great. Breakfast was decent. The room was spacious and convenient.

Overall, no complaints at all, and I'd certainly stay here again on a future trip to Houston.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank okazon69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisiana
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2012

I was looking for a hotel near downtown Houston to be near family. Usually we bypass Best Western but this hotel had wonderful reviews so I decided to give it a whirl. My husband and I stayed there for one night and it was good. Our King-bed room was roomy and pleasant. Sofa, chair, desk, mini-fridge, microwave etc. The bed was AWESOME (and I'm not easy to please). Our room was on the 4th floor, very quiet and cool. The flat screen TV was new. Helpful and friendly staff.

The breakfast was crazy good. Scrambled eggs, sausage, waffles (make yourself), cereal, bagels, biscuits, fruit, yogurt, 3 kinds of coffee if that's your thing, very tasty. The eggs were moist and flavorful, the real deal. Good job BW. I would suggest more rate discounts. Otherwise, this hotel is a very good property.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mpwdmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, TX
Level Contributor
29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2012

I stayed here because we needed a place in a pinch and so I went on Trip Advisor and saw this was ranked the #5 hotel in Houston.

Based on that we stayed here - and I have to say I wasn't super impressed.

The staff we VERY helpful and great but the hotel is just a little run down and eighties-ish.
Everything although clean just look kind of old and dinky.

It was fine for the one night I stayed there but next time I would probably keep looking around to find something more modern.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ronnizia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leiden
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2012

If you need to be in (or near) downtown Houston for a couple of days, don't look any further. The hotel is clean, the rooms are huge with huge TV's, every room has a fridge and a microwave, there's a complimentary breakfast and a "happy hour" during which you get free drinks and snacks.
That is all very well, but what really makes your stay at this hotel worth your money is the very personal approach of the staff. Of course you can go to hospitality monsters like the Double Tree which is actually IN downtown Houston and not NEAR it, but you'll feel like a number, like a soulless statistic out there.
So I'd say don't go to those horrible, huuuge hotels IN downtown Houston, just take this one. You'll love it.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Aryman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Houston hotels
Downtown
The Whitehall Houston
The Whitehall Houston
#3 of 500 in Houston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
Downtown
The Lancaster
The Lancaster
#1 of 500 in Houston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Embassy Suites by Hilton Houston Downtown
Downtown
Club Quarters Hotel in Houston
Downtown
Magnolia Hotel Houston
Magnolia Hotel Houston
#20 of 500 in Houston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,707 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Downtown Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Downtown Inn & Suites

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS Downtown Inn & Suites
Address: 915 W Dallas St, Houston, TX 77019-4739
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Houston
#12 Family Hotel in Houston
#15 Romantic Hotel in Houston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Downtown Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Downtown Hotel, close to Convention Center, Theaters, Ball Park, Restaurants, Museums, Parks and Medical Center. Free Onsite Parking, Free Full Breakfast, Large Rooms, Fast Wifi Included, Complimentary Weekday Happy Hour and Hotel Shuttle for a Drop off and Pickup around Downtown during the Weekdays. All rooms include Microwave and Refrigerator, Bottled Water and over 100 TV cable channel. Small Hotel so we can provide you the best service! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Downtown Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Downtown Inn And Suites Houston
Best Western Downtown Inn & Suites Houston Hotel Houston
Best Western Houston
Houston Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing