We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Pleasant Surprise”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Plus Downtown Inn & Suites
Ranked #3 of 511 Hotels in Houston
Certificate of Excellence
Nashville, Tennessee
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Very Pleasant Surprise”
Reviewed May 1, 2012

Honestly, Best Western isn't a chain I normally stay with when I travel for business which is very often. There was something going on in the area and this was very close to my last option. Now, I'm returning to Houston later this month and will definitely be staying there again. It was a wonderful surprise. The entire hotel was very nice AND clean. The rooms were amazing. I would never have expected a room that size. Extremely comfortable including the bed. The breakfast was also great although I would like to have had hot, already prepared oatmeal and other options in fresh fruit HOWEVER that sounds really picky when you consider the variety of options that were available. Good job to all who work there! Thanks for giving me an all new impression of this Best Westerns!! As a note, this is called "Downtown" and the location is quite convenient, however, you should know that it isn't a convenient location for walking to restaurants. On the other hand, it has great parking that you don't have to pay an arm and a leg for so that isn't so bad. I'll still be choosing it and making the short drive (long walk) to the many great restaurants nearby.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RetaginTN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

452 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    307
    118
    20
    4
    3
See reviews for
101
80
24
196
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Little Rock, AR
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2012

I stayed for 4 days, and the staff was amazing! I asked Jo at the front desk about the closest pharmacy, and she checked with me the next day to see if I got to one, or if I needed to still get some things. Sonny, the shuttle driver, would take me. He seemed to be a my beck and call, even though I know he drove everyone around. And Cynthia, the bar tender, laughed at all my jokes (which can be quite a feat)! Very cordial and a great host!

Oh, and the rooms where spacious, clean, and since I ate my cookies each day, on my last day, they left me two packs!

A really wonderful stay!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 28, 2012

This hotel is on the outskirts of the main downtown areas but within walking, cab or shuttle distance. It is my understanding the hotel shuttle is very accommodating though we did not use it. Staff was very friendly, warm and inviting. Our room was HUGE, a nice king bed, clean sheets, a/c very cold, big screen tv with cable, hbo and movie channels. The room also had a fridge, microwave, complimentary water, coffee and cookies. There is a pool outside, one downside is there is not access from the inside of the hotel making it a bit less user friendly, though it is very clean and well maintained. The have a complimentary breakfast with several choices including eggs, waffles, sausage, cereal, biscuits and gravy, fruit, raisins etc. I still think the price is much too high but compared to other hotels downtown I found it to be very reasonable. If you walk around at night watch out for the occasional beggar or two or three…

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Crytle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Rock
1 review
Reviewed March 27, 2012

I highly recommend a stay at this Best Western. The rooms were very clean and the staff went out of their way to take care of my group of business associates.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Rock, Arkansas
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed March 27, 2012

On a recent business trip to Houston I had the opportunity to stay at Best Western Plus Inns and Suites in downtown Houston. The rooms were clean, updated, and spacious. I have been in "big name" hotels that were not even close to being as nice as the room at Best Western Plus. The staff is over the top friendly and customer oriented. If you have business in downtown Houston you can't go wrong staying here!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelly E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cut Off, LA
2 reviews
Reviewed March 21, 2012

Great Friendly Staff, Clean Rooms, and great Service. They also provide shuttle service Downtown, which is a very short ride.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 12, 2012

My visit to Texas was not for pleasure. I was there to attend the murder trial for my brother. The staff was very helpful and caring. Our rooms and the hotel were very clean and comfortable. I can not find one thing bad too say. I would like to give a big shout out to Sonny. He drove the shuttle and dropped us off every day and picked us up from the courthouse when we were ready. This took so much stress off us. Houston traffic sticks and he was an awesome navigator:) The hotel went out of there way to help us. If I ever have to return to Houston this is where I will be staying.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sherry K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Houston hotels
Downtown
The Lancaster
The Lancaster
#1 of 511 in Houston
1,468 reviews
Downtown
The Whitehall Houston
The Whitehall Houston
#8 of 511 in Houston
427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
JW Marriott Houston Downtown
Downtown
Embassy Suites by Hilton Houston Downtown
Downtown
Hyatt Regency Houston
Hyatt Regency Houston
#36 of 511 in Houston
1,881 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Downtown Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Downtown Inn & Suites

Property: Best Western Plus Downtown Inn & Suites
Address: 915 W Dallas St, Houston, TX 77019-4739
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Houston
#12 Family Hotel in Houston
#15 Romantic Hotel in Houston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Downtown Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Downtown Hotel, close to Convention Center, Theaters, Ball Park, Restaurants, Museums, Parks and Medical Center. Free Onsite Parking, Free Full Breakfast, Large Rooms, Fast Wifi Included, Complimentary Weekday Happy Hour and Hotel Shuttle for a Drop off and Pickup around Downtown during the Weekdays. All rooms include Microwave and Refrigerator, Bottled Water and over 100 TV cable channel. Small Hotel so we can provide you the best service! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Best Western, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Downtown Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Downtown Inn & Suites Houston Hotel Houston
Best Western Downtown Inn And Suites Houston
Best Western Houston
Houston Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing