We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cool and Pleasant”

The Bird and the Bear
Ranked #4,136 of 8,183 Restaurants in Houston
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Kirby
Okotoks, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Cool and Pleasant”
Reviewed June 22, 2013

The service was friendly and the staff obviously well trained. The selection was mixed and interesting. The food was very good, well presented and in a reasonable portion. The wine list was well done and with affordable choices. We will be back.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank clarkems
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    11
    13
    9
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Anchorage, Alaska
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Creative and fresh”
Reviewed May 21, 2013

The service was friendly and atentive even late on a holiday after a busy, busy day. Ingredients fresh, lively menu, nice presentation. Even with endless choices for dining to choose from, this is worth a return visit.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank sfak907
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
168 reviews
128 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Mediocre and Over-Priced Food”
Reviewed April 30, 2013

We were looking for some place new to try and went to Bird and Bear. Basically, we thought it was disappointing. We had calamari and it was slathered in grease. For the main course, one of our group had chicken which was salty to the point of being inedible. One person had fish which was overcooked and dry. Another had a different fish dish which was actually pretty good. The meat paella dish was bland. For dessert, the passion fruit cheesecake was quite good. For this price point ($30+ per entrée), I expect MUCH better. Finally, the décor was odd, with different things hanging from the ceiling....I find it hard to believe that the chair and the bear hanging from the ceiling are cleaned adequately to keep dust from the food served directly below.

The only bright point was the service, which was very good. Overall, a definite miss.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Coralyn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
51 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Surprising”
Reviewed April 9, 2013

We had been to two other restaurants on a Monday and found them closed. Had not been to Bird and Bear so decided to try it. The menu is a down home wonder. Great choices, good pairings and very helpful wait staff. All were very attentive. Had a bacon wrapped beef tenderloin with a to die for port reduction sauce. My wife had a wonderful trout dish. Can't wait to go back and try something else. This could be the go to neighborhood restaurant. Mondays are good because crowds are down.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GaryKA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
34 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A wonderful evening out”
Reviewed March 24, 2013

My friend and I wanted to try some place new and happened upon The Bird and the Bear. The live music was an unexpected nice addition to a very relaxed and welcoming atmosphere. We were both very pleased with our food and the service. I highly recommend the expertly prepared Rainbow Trout! My only lightly negative comment would be that the music was slightly too loud, making conversation a bit more work (had to raise our voices a little) but it wasn't a huge issue. Next time we will request a table further in the back.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bevwen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Bird and the Bear also viewed

 
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to The Bird and the Bear? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing