We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“well... new taste!”
Review of Sammy's Wild Game

Sammy's Wild Game
Ranked #467 of 8,206 Restaurants in Houston
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
La Spezia
Level Contributor
254 reviews
168 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“well... new taste!”
Reviewed May 2, 2013

it was the first time i ate ELK burger, it was really good, as chili python (but too many chili..)
in any case, is very easy to find the place, the area is nice plenty of "americans" bar and restaraunts, not so chich, and i appreciate this.
the service is kind and fast. there are a lot of beer to be drunk (i've tried due to the car).
i really reccomend to go there and try...

last, if you are traveling and don't want to seat? no problem, there is the drive trough!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bibithesixt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    8
    3
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Missouri City, Texas
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice place with great food”
Reviewed October 10, 2012

We had tried the pheasant sausage at the Houston Hot Sauce Festival, and knew we had to try this place for real! I went for lunch. The place was clean and has free wi-fi. The service was good. We both ordered the sliders, which included elk, kangaroo, and venison. They each came with a sauce that was yummy. The sweet potato fries are good too! My only complaint would be that each slider had lettuce, tomato, and pickle. With all of the toppings back in the kitchen, I wish they would have chosen toppings that would specifically enhance each meat.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Kristin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
97 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Unusual meats, great taste”
Reviewed August 31, 2012

Sammy's has a wide selection of wild game meats for burgers and hot dogs. The buns and toppings are part of the delightful experience of enjoying unusual meats.
We went at lunchtime on a weekday and the place was about 60% full. There is limited parking so it is usually necessary to park on the street(s) nearby. The service was good. I ordered the pheasant dog and the sausage was medium spicy and delicious. The order was ready within five minutes and was brought to our table. I will definitely go back and to try some of the other offerings.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank acrami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
51 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Unique Dining Experience”
Reviewed June 6, 2012

First time to have selection of wild game for dinner. Small, full bar, unique selection of wild game burgers. I enjoyed the sliders (3) which included Elk, Antelope and Kangaroo. Each came with a dipping sauce that enhanced the delicious not gamey taste of each slider. Priced comparable to other burger joints but with a twist. 8 tables indoor with an 8 table patio on Washington Ave.
Fun time with the experience of something just a little different cuisine for dinner and drinks.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ATWwithScott2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
45 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Our Dinner Club Gives it an A+”
Reviewed February 27, 2012

Great things come in small packages as does this tiny restaurant. This is a gold mine of a restaurant waiting to be discovered. This was our dinner club's pick of the month and we gave it an A+ for service, value, and taste. For starters, it has a full bar. They had unique beers that you don't find in your regular old grocery store. I started off with a State Pen Porter Ale (with a picture of a penitentiary on the label). It gave me a small giggle. The beer was excellent.

We then ordered the Python Chili Cheese Fries for an appetizer and shared with the entire group. We all felt that it tasted just like good chili cheese fries except the meat was more tender.

I then ordered a pheasant sausage dog, which apparently is the chef's favorite. It says so on the menu. When you order your sausage dog, you get three toppings and any sauces you want. I ordered it topped with fresh jalapenos, saurkraut, crispy onions, and a habanero ketchup sauce all on a pretzel bun. It was awesome! It did not taste like a bird sausage at all. It was very flavorful and juicy.

Other wild game options are buffalo, kangaroo, elk, lamb, wild boar, antelope, llama, and more. Also available are burgers. One of our group members ordered the sliders (it came with three sliders each with a different type of meat). He said they were each unique in their own way but also similar to a regular burger as well. Every sausage and burger came with a tiny flag stuck in the bun naming the type of meat you were about to eat.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank PrincessLea20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sammy's Wild Game also viewed

Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Sammy's Wild Game? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing