We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Exquisite Guest Service & Cuisine”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Coppa Ristorante Italiano - CLOSED

Coppa Ristorante Italiano
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Washington Ave./ Memorial Park
Cross street: TC Jester
Transit: There is a Metro stop within a brief walk of the front door.
Description: it has been rebranded from "Catalan" by the same owners.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
“Exquisite Guest Service & Cuisine”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2012

This was our first visit to Coppa Ristorante Italiano. What a delight! The ambience is wonderful, the cuisine is exquisite and the guest service is outstanding. Due to its pricier menu, it is prime for celebrating special occasions or a romantic evening with your all-important significant other. I highly recommend this establishment for its all around wonderful experience.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Stephen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

42 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    10
    5
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Houston
Level Contributor
338 reviews
215 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
“Good, but...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2012

I'd probably rate this place higher, but I don't enjoy seeing servers with tattooed arms serving me. The night we ate there, there were two female servers who looked like a model of what NOT to do to one's body--enough to make one lose his/her appetite.

As to the food, though--generally, it was very good to excellent. The appetizers we had for a table of five were all excellent, with the exception of the octopus carpaccio, which had virtually no flavor (and this from a huge octopus fan!). Our mains included very good lasagne, mafalda with the lightest meatballs I've ever eaten, and a couple of other dishes I cannot recall, but all were well-received and got excellent reviews. Desserts were not the strong point of this restaurant, but were only okay.

Another negative was the fact that on a slow Sunday night, literally EVERY parking space had been commandeered by the valet, forcing guests to use the valet, even though the lot never came close to filling up. I find this offensive.

The night we were there was a relatively slow night (Sunday), so the restaurant was only moderately noisy, but I'd imagine on a busy night, it would be virtually impossible to carry on a conversation here, as all surfaces are hard, with nothing to absorb sound.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Gene T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“So so”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2012

Food was average. Service was great. Our waiter thankfully was not covered in tats from neck to foot, but many were. A weird, edgy restaurant, even for Washington Ave, with mediocre cuisine.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PiggingOut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Woodlands, Texas
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“We won't rush back”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2012

The first thing that was off putting was that although the parking lot was almost empty, all the parking was blocked off for valet. We had to use the valet, it is like charging for parking. Then we were shown to our table and the brown paper covering was dirty. We cleaned it ourselves and sat down. The manager came over when he saw us cleaning it and offered to move us, but the table next to us looked to be in the same shape.
My husband reported the meatballs and meat sauce were incredible! My dish was pasta with garlic and pulled chicken, was good, but not great. It is very difficult to eat here if you don't eat beef or cheese.
The wine list is wonderful with great prices.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank inthewoods94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2012

The restaurant is beautifully decorated! The staff is so friendly. The chef came by our table and several members if the staff came by to see if we enjoyed everything. Get the gnocchi! Its lovely!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Danielle_Balsamo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Coppa Ristorante Italiano also viewed

 
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing