We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great sushi!”

The Blue Fish on Washington
Reserve with OpenTable
The Blue Fish on Washington is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #687 of 8,183 Restaurants in Houston
Price range: $25 - $35
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Birdsall St
Description: ...The opposite of a quiet, intimate sushi bar, the Blue Fish is enormous, loud, stylish and good. Where else can you find a signature roll called El Cubano ($9.50)? It's spicy pork, jalapeno, cilantro, Jalapeno pepper and carrots, with a sweet and spicy sauce. What's most refreshing here is that the menu is all Japanese -- no Thai food to confuse the palate. And to be honest, sushi purists will find plenty to keep them interested. Live specials such as Spanish mackarel, Sea Urchin, Live Hottate(scallop), Black Bass, mirugai (giant clam) and much more.Order the Ahi Tower to see just how well the kitchen can plate. It's tuna tartar and sesame oil over snow crab and avocado salad on a bed of wasabi infused rice. It's almost tragic to watch the server destroy this architectural marvel table-side to make it easier to eat. The "cake" portion of spicy tuna on crispy rice cakes in uzu and garlic sauce. It's delicious...
Wall Township, New Jersey
Level Contributor
43 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great sushi!”
Reviewed March 18, 2013

When travelling, I like to find the better Japanese restaurants where I know I can get lowfat, sensible meals. They serve spring mix here, not just iceberg. The yellowtail carpaccio/jalepeno was wonderful. The music is loud and a bit much for me at dinner but it was quieter at lunch.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank MonCtyCate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    18
    5
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
145 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Not impressed at all”
Reviewed February 22, 2013

Too begin with, the service was fair at best. It was our first visit and the waiter offered no assistance with the menu. No explanation of the rolls, how to order, or recommendations.
The busboy kept trying to clear our plates before we were finished, despite the fact that we still had sushi on the plate.
The music playing was not conducive to a pleasant dining experience, either.
The rolls are nothing special-I have definitely had better sushi at Soma, Sage 400 and Kata Robata.
Definitely not going back.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mrpdxs_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
150 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Oriental inspired cuisine”
Reviewed February 14, 2013

In addition to sushi, the Blue Fish House serves a wide variety of California rolls, fish dishes and salads with a far eastern interpretation. The young lady who guided us to our table was not the friendliest of people but our waiter was very pleasant and the service was efficient. We ate before going to the theatre just across the road so didn't opt for any of the main courses and instead went for a selection of smaller dishes which we shared. Our appetiser (Ahi Tower) was very good with a nice combination of flavours. The fried calamari was okay (standard rubber rings). The crab potstickers however were very good and our seared tuna salad was excellent; the tuna in particular was delicious. Pretty good value for money. Will definitely return sometime.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“IMPECCABLE RESTAURANT”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

This place is a true gem! Food is fresh, environment is perfect, and service is outstanding! First time here and it was a date night for hubby and I! We got in right after happy hour so there was still a crowd at the bar and the restaurant was filled but we were seated immediately and continued to be amazed. Every single sushi roll and sashimi we ordered was fresh, tasty, and great presentation! We will definitely be back and this is one of our top 3 sushi spots in Houston!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KrysPhillips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
66 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Fun place to HH”
Reviewed November 16, 2012

The bar is lit with blue lights which is both hip and kinda old school. There is no valet before 6 and with a huge parking lot, take advantage of this! The bartenders, both Derek and Joe are super friendly and knowledgeable. We had the cold sake and WOW. That stuff is strong. Derek kept my water glass full without me ever asking. We shared 5 appetizers: calamari, sushi shot things, popcorn shrimp, tuna sashimi and pot stickers. All were tasty and inexpensive. The whole night cost us $40. The bartenders even gave me free sake when the conversation turned a little serious. The manager is nice and friendly as well and I cannot say enough good things about this place.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Angie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Blue Fish on Washington also viewed

Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to The Blue Fish on Washington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing