We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I like it but hard to enjoy”
Review of Sculpture Park

Sculpture Park
Ranked #106 of 298 things to do in Houston
Attraction details
Houston, TX
Level Contributor
183 reviews
62 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“I like it but hard to enjoy”
Reviewed April 6, 2014 via mobile

The directions given by trip advisor are incorrect. Type in Belfort and 288 and your GPS will get you there . The variety is wonderful and my favorite is the big fishing pole.

Helpful?
9 Thank kelley34HoustonTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    12
    5
    2
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Location”
Reviewed January 2, 2014

After seeing this other reviewer complain about not being able to find it easily I zoomed in with satellite view. Here is the exact GPS location: 29.667697,-95.384645

It is at the access road of 288 (S. Fwy) and West Bellfort Street.

FYI, have not seen it YET!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
7 Thank Senthil999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edgewood, New Mexico
Level Contributor
42 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“See it from the access road”
Reviewed December 14, 2013

We drive by this often as we use 288 as our way to get downtown. It's private property, so you aren't really supposed to go wandering around in it, but you can see it well enough from the access road.
If you're a geocacher, there's a virtual cache you can get by simply taking a photo, and there's also a traditional cache hidden just off the property line.
There is actually a no trespassing sign, but you aren't likely to see it until you've already wandered among the sculptures. But again, it isn't necessary to touch them to enjoy them.
To get here, enter this in your dash top GPS:
N 29° 39.978 W 095° 23.123
That's in decimal minutes. If you have one that uses the old style minutes and seconds (many built-ins do),
go with N 29° 40' 0'' W 095° 23' 6" and you'll be close enough to get there.
Essentially, you're going south on 288 and it's on your right. You can't miss it.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank Hold-the-Elevator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
150 reviews
80 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Do not miss these”
Reviewed November 25, 2013

We had a great time here. I read online that this is a private property but there is no fence or sign. My friend and I went there on Sunday morning. We are the only people there. We had a great time, took some good pictures. I saw a sign of Texas Piping Company. Maybe that is the owner of the property. Very interested in knowing who made these sculptures. We found a parking spot easily along the garden, but parking can be difficult if there are more than 3 or 4 cars there at the same time.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Lulu85715
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bogota, Colombia
Level Contributor
473 reviews
194 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
“its not your average stop”
Reviewed July 27, 2013

first, i will start by saying that yes, you should go! This is one of those places that makes houston unique!
Next, if you put in your gps bellfort and south freeway, you wont get there! At least not with our gps... The sculptures are on the sothwest corner of bellfort and 288 (i dont know if this is a freeway or highway or what, but one of those). I really wanted to see this place after seeing it on trip advisor, so after two failed attempts, i asked around and thats how i got to bellfort and 288.
Of course, it is the middle of the road, so you stop in one of those side shoulders, and you are ok.... Make sure your kids dont run off.... Since it is a highway!
Definately sonething unique to see.... Now that i have told you where it is, dont miss it!
Bellfort runs parallel to 610 loop, so you can also take that road and get off on 288 and you will see it as well.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
10 Thank Lia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sculpture Park also viewed

 
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Sculpture Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing